Follow Me Down the River to a Sunset by the Lake

in #wednesdaywalk2 years ago



Damn, I was in a mood yesterday!

PXL_20220920_201757621.jpg



Sitting here at this beautiful spot, feeling grouchy about the silliest things.

PXL_20220920_200659042.jpg



Like, "Why is this person invading my space? How dare he!"

PXL_20220920_195850304.jpg



And

"Aww, isn't that cute? Can't you go be cute somewhere else?"

PXL_20220920_200011443-01.jpeg



Actually that second one is a lie, as soon as I saw the baby some of my grumps toward people faded.

PXL_20220920_202107113.jpg



No, that's a lie too...they didn't fade so much as change direction.


PXL_20220920_202117374.jpg



"How dare I be so cranky in the face of such magnificence?"

PXL_20220920_202130795.jpg



I couldn't even tell you exactly why I was out of sorts... hormones? Perhaps. But these feelings aren't just conjured by an imminent visit from that Bitch, Aunt Flo.


PXL_20220920_202238419.jpg



Exacerbated by her grumblings? Probably. Shoved up to the surface to get my attention? Definitely.

PXL_20220920_202133698.jpg



So, what is the underlying cause then? I don't like this new "treat the symptoms" approach that's gained popularity, I'm a "Hack it off at the root" kinda girl.


PXL_20220920_231054604-01.jpeg



Thoughts spin through my head. People suck And So much to do, so little time and What do I really want out of this life?...

What do I really want? Can I boil it down to one thing?

PXL_20220920_231220960.jpg



I don't care much for material shit. I love people- but in doses. I Love nature as my surroundings. I LOVE writing....


PXL_20220920_231328565.jpg



...But I really haven't been writing what I love.

PXL_20220920_231312030.jpg



Hm. Feeling closer to an epiphany.

Carving out time surrounded by nature? Check.

Bringing a notebook or laptop with me instead of this handheld distraction?...

...?

PXL_20220920_231247930.jpg



Leave phone in car
Bring instruments of writing instead
Spend a few minutes in quiet meditation

Annihilate that crabby bitch with creativity!


PXL_20220920_231334990.jpg



Feeling better already! :0) Thanks @tattoodjay for this Wednesdaywalk inspiration!

Check out his initiative here!


Sort:  

I'm glad you found a way to defeat the C.A.S. (crabby @ss syndrome)! Lol. I get this way sometimes when I'm in a creative slump but it's more often surfaces as mild despair or feeling like I'm stagnant instead of crabbiness. The Daily Stoic email from Ryan Holiday has really lit a fire underneath me recently. I had this idea a few months ago that I was going to "ease into retirement" but I found out quickly after that I'm not made that way.

If it's a creative slump and hormones aren't a factor, then my feelings mirror yours...butttt haha, that added monthly bonus can manifest in weeping for no apparent reason or just a general irritation at everything, especially myself 😆 Irritate and annoy are two of the most spot on words in American English, I don't even like using them let alone feeling them lol!

I will definitely check out the Daily Stoic, thanks for the recommendation!

Oh, I see. I don't fully understand how that would feel but it probably exacerbates the misery of it tenfold! You're welcome for the recommendation. It's really helped to guide me through this next phase of life. I hope you're feeling better!

Awwn, this is a really fun and exciting read for me, that fourth sentence got me cracking up so hard, I too wonder why they did not go somewhere else to be all that cute, hehehe or I think you should have gone somewhere else, lolz.

It's a good thing you were in a good mood yesterday, what about today?

Hee hee, well I'm definitely in a better mood today, and it's really unlike me to be in a bad one, but sometimes it's necessary to force self reflection :)

Oh, that's perfect! I'm happy you are always happy except some glitches though but I think that is okay, hehehe.

Leave phone in car
Bring instruments of writing instead
Spend a few minutes in quiet meditation

Annihilate that crabby bitch with creativity!

That sounds like a great plan

What a lovely walk and that being out in this spot enjoying nature helped you change your mood and make plans for enjoying the moment more

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

That's the list I need to drill into my thick head, haha!

and me in mine from time to time

plays the jingle
Sometimes you feel like a grump, sometimes you don't!

Ironically our first interaction was a bit grumpy lol.

Haha! I would go into the same grump mode for you if needed :)

Are you going to post about your travels this summer? I've been checking:0)

I dunno, I've been thinking about it and I'm just not feeling it at the moment. If it feels like a story that needs telling at some point I will. Who knows, perhaps I'm still just processing everything... I was already planning out where to go next at the end of that trip and I suppose on some level I'm just caught in the flow right now and more focused on experiencing and manifesting than "talking about it." It feels weird describing it that way, but it is what it is and that's what comes to mind. It feels like I finally have a good idea of who I am and what I want and at some point it became clear to me that instead of focusing my attention on "what isn't there" and instead putting all of that energy into releasing any resistance I have keeping me from "being there" I find more peace in the moment and just let life unfold. Hopefully that makes sense lol. Whenever I get into this mindset it's all flow of consciousness writing, which while fun for mental health journaling, it doesn't always make for the best storytelling. We'll see how it goes. Much love lady.