WednesdayWalk: down by the river

in #wednesdaywalk2 years ago

As requested by @dreemit who assures me that WednesdayWalk just has to be posted on Wednesday and doesn't necessarily have to occur on Wednesday. As luck would have it, we actually went on a nice walkies on the correct day.

And I'm a day late for me because shenanigans happened but I have the advantage of being on the side of the world where a day late makes it on time for the other side of the world? Aargh shenanigans.

It didn't start out that way. I had taken Little Miss Puppy to my aunty's place (having not been to see my aunty and grandmother for a couple of months because covid and colds and grandmother gets pneumonia so we don't go there if anyone is sick just in case) and she had played forever with my aunty's dog and been pretty knackered when we got back, so J had decided maybe we should just take her for a short stroll around the block (he also wanted his walkies).

Unlike our last two dogs, The Puppy is absolutely not the kind of dog that is content going for an on-leash stroll taking in the neighbourhood scents. After a few "tantrums" (where she was laying on the grass on rolling around and biting on her leash) and her generally looking miserable, J suggested we take her for a walk down near the river (which had also been a favoured walk of the last three dogs) so she could get off leash and run and run and run which is her favourite.

And so down to the river we went, even though we hadn't originally been intending to walk that far as we thought she'd be too tired.

J warned me that the water was quite high and the last time he had come down this way with her, he had had to scramble around the flooded areas of the path and he had been wearing hiking boots at the time. Today he was wearing skate shoes and was hoping it was less flooded.

I don't think I've seen the water this high ever in the entire time we've been in the area.

The little swamp dog was having awesome fun times and was so much happier running around off-lead and through puddles and mud and foliage.

I remembered how beautiful it is down here. I haven't actually been on this walk for a few years, we didn't end up coming down as much as the dogs got older.

We emerged from the bushwalk into a meadow type area bordered by the river that we were still following on one side and houses on the other. I was still not getting over how much water there was in the river and how different it looked when it was using higher banks.

It was a little bit squelchy along this path.

And some of the track was a little bit flooded but not as bad as the last time J was down this way. Puppy thought it was amazing.

The scrub thins out a bit after a while.

Then we hit the bridge that's been undergoing works. It was really muddy and squelchy and probably slippery here (we were walking very carefully).

And I still couldn't get over how high the river was.

We eventually emerged out into a park that connects to the bushwalk by a couple of nice paths. We decided to take the wetlands boardwalk. The bog was a proper swamp.

Part of it was underwater.

About here we met someone else walking a dog and the two of them were having so much fun chasing each other through the muddy water that the yells to them to knock it off were extremely half-hearted. They got a couple of minutes before we all went on our merry ways.

Did I mention I can't get over how high the water is?

After this bit we ended up in the park proper and it was time to hurry home as there was food to cook and children to get to activities.

If the weather is nice on the weekend maybe I'll try posting one of the hikes next week or so.

Ahh this reminds me of when I used to blog more about random stuff back when I thought I had time.

This post also appears on my blog.

Want a cameo character? If you interact frequently with me here (either on my posts or your posts or better yet both!) or on one of the linked Discord channels, all you have to do is let me know and tell me what you'd like :) Everything you need to know is (probably) here and if it isn't just ask (sorry the link goes offsite to my blog where the layout is how I want rather than the one here which is only here because the original one was).

Thanks for looking! ^_^

Fun Discord servers:

Hive Australia | Be Awesome | artbees | OnChainArt

-={ commission info | ko-fi }=-

Ask me nicely if you want an upgoat/cute critter footer.

Sort:  

Sounds and looks like puppy paradise to me :^)
Did you, by any chance, encounter Swamp Thing?

She loves these types of walks almost as much as she loves the dog park where she can play with all her puppy friends XD

No Swamp Thing. I don't know how deep the swamps have to be for Swamp Thing but these ones are not that deep (but also deeper than expected lately, today we were at our favourite dog park and some water had flooded over the path and the dogs were pretty much up to their bellies in it and these were all medium-large dogs).

What a beautiful area!

It is a really lovely area. Some of the bush area is big enough that when you're walking through you can temporarily forget that you're actually in the suburbs :) (and just ignore the fact you're walking on this nice clear path XD)

What a beautiful area! Down there early morning with a bit of mist would harvest some absolutely gorgeous shots!

It most definitely would! However the chances of me catching it are non-existant as I am really not an early morning person and The Puppy is really not an early morning dog XD (too cold for her with her very little fur though she is valiantly trying to put on a winter coat, J has tried walking her in the early morning like he did with our last dogs and she refused XD)

Perhaps I'll see if J feels inspired to go and take one and blow the dust off his hive account (I'm pretty sure he's forgotten about it, he's really not a social media person, but he is an early morning person).

Yay! This was awesome, and wow those trees are incredibly cool! So glad you did this, a small glimpse into the life of ryivhnn :0) I'm a huge fan of walking bridges,and of course rivers and woods <3

It's a beautiful little trail, and one of those odd ones where you know it sees a lot of use as the track is well worn and I guess the council probably maintains it, but your chances of bumping into someone are surprisingly low given it's in the middle of a residential area.

Rivers and woods do make for nice walks :D

wow, lekker nature on your doorstep.... should be a daily constitution !! i really appreciate reading a post of yours i can understand (not a reflection of your blogs.... just my dense cranium for that design stuff you do)

LoL it's not your fault that the thing I most frequently write about is overly technical ^_^;

I'll try to do the walks ones more often (as long as they're not repetitive), there is quite a bit of pretty scenery to walk through around here.