Wednesday Walk - Feathered Friends by the Lake

Here's a few shots of a new goose family I got for this #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay. As all the pictures are of the baby geese this is also for the #featheredfriends group by @melinda010100

P4276717.jpg
I've been watching this goose family as they are nesting by a lake I walk by every day as I've been working from home these past few months.
P4276715.jpg
The father is in back keeping watch of the family as they begin grazing on the gross looking algae goop floating in the lake.
P4276698.jpg
Here are the baby geese swimming through the algae goop. Plenty of food here, what a feast.
P4276720.jpg
Now they are on the move again. They have to follow the parents wherever they go, if they don't an evil great blue heron will easily eat them in one bite lol.
P4276699.jpg
Follow the leader into clearer waters.
P4276700.jpg
Now they are in clearer waters and their yellow looks a bit better against the blue water.
P4276706.jpg
Here the mom is hissing at other geese that were making noise nearby. Keep away from my kids you roudy geese!!!
P4276721.jpg
On the move again, they kept swimming away from me as I would approach from different sides of the lake. I was trying to get some good shots of their faces but mostly just got side shots.
P4276713.jpg
This was the only distant face shot I got of the babies. Perhaps on my next walk they'll be a bit more used to me and my zoom lens for better shots.
P4206587.jpg
Meanwhile on the other side of the lake this mallard pair were feasting on some super gross looking goop. What a breakfast lol.

Happy #wednesdaywalk and #featheredfriends :-)

Sort:  

awww it´s cute.

Little puffs floating around.

What a lovely family! I'm always amazed by how quickly they go from being cute little balls of fluff and becoming awkward teenagers! Thanks for sharing these with Feathered Friends. !Tip

I bet by next week they'll be close to awkward teenagers, they grow up fast. Hopefully all six will survive...

I hope so, too! There are lots of dangers in the world for those little ones.

Even bullfrogs can be a danger to them.

Ewww! I didn't know that. I knew about Herons and big fish, but even frogs? Yuck.

Yeah a bullfrog will eat anything it can fit in it's mouth. It would take a really big one but I actually once witnessed a duckling get eaten by a bullfrog. The gosling is probably too large, maybe a snapping turtle is more of a threat.

I once saw one disappear in a splash to what I assumed was a northern pike. Poor things.

🎁 Hi @sketch.and.jam! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Today'S Quarantine Photos Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Too Cute 😊

If only I could get more close up shots of their fluff faces.

Keep working on it 😊

Poor things are getting rained on all day today, maybe tomorrow they'll be reasy for a photoshoot again.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

How cute pictures of that babies duck😍

They are definitely cute, I hope they all survive so I can get closer up shots of them.

what sweet shots, and a family outing those babies look so cute

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I hope they stick around so I can get growing up shots of them over the next month or so.

I hope they do for you as well, that would make for a cool series of posts

Loading...

Wow, nice new goose family photography.

Holy Sh*t, your camera is the BOMB!! I also saw 2 Canada geese today in our little cove, and I was asking them when they'd be having their babies, and if they would pleaaaase bring them by after so I could see them 😋 Looks like you were first! They are soooooooooo cute! Ermahgerd *dying

Yeah I brought the zoom lens this time. I've been watching the mom sitting on the nest for a while then yesterday I saw a little head peep out from under her. Finally today she brought them out for a swim.

Keep an eye on them, they probably already have a nest somewhere.

I certainly will be looking for them. Not sure if they were just here having a snack, but their nest is far away, because I don't usually see Canada geese in our little cove, mostly ducks.

Probably any lake right now could potentially have some swimming around... I've been trying to get some shots of baby wood ducks but they are so shy and reclusive.

You have a lot of patience, don't you? I have none lol 😃

There is a tiny petting zoo nearby with tame wood ducks if I had no patience or can't get any good wild duck shots. Then I'll just claim I found them in the wild lol.

The ducklings look so cute following their parents. Great shots!

I hope they stick around so I can get their growing process.

Very beautiful photos!
Ducklings are so sweet, I want to hold them in my hands :-)))
I don’t know that the blue heron is dangerous for them ....
Fight for survival...

The herons will eat anything that they can get ahold of. The goose parents seems very protective so the babies should be ok.

Agree.
Geese protect their children well, and they pinch very painfully - it was checked by me in childhood
:-)))

hahah ouch goose bite probably left a mark.

Do not doubt! :-)))