Take me to the BAR

in #weekend-engagement2 years ago (edited)

Merriam-Webster defines a hobby as "a pursuit outside one's regular occupation engaged in especially for relaxation."
img_0.7243891865184322.jpg
I pursue many things outside of my regular "occupation," but the one that immediately came to my mind is my hobby of Olympic Weightlifting.


It can be a constant struggle as a woman to accept your body, the number on the scale, and the way you look in the mirror. Something that weightlifting specifically has gifted me is the relief of those pressures. Do I still want to look a certain way or still check the scale? Yes, but it is for measuring my fitness and not measuring my worth. Weightlifting makes me feel powerful.

I revel in what I can do and my ability, and that gives me confidence that I have been able to share with my daughters. When you are taking care of your body, everything else falls into place. For me, weightlifting has been a stress reliever from my busy occupation of motherhood. I love being a mom, but mom's need outlets and personal time to take care of themselves. That is what weightlifting has given me.

I mainly do my Olympic weightlifting at the crossfit gym or in my garage. I need to have a 35kg bar, free weights, squat rack, and a level space in order to do my lifting. My garage unfortunately has a slight slope, but it is usually overcome if I can set up my barbell in just the right spot. If I don't, I end up chasing the barbell when it lands because it will roll a little. When I do a lifting session it is normally 60-120minutes. Olympic Weightlifting is composed of two lifts even though I train in other lifts to gain strength overall. The two lifts in Olympic Weightlifting are the Snatch and the Clean and Jerk.

Someday, I will do an in-person competition. My top lifts are 165# for Snatch and 200# for Clean and Jerk. Off the rack, I have jerked 235#.
230# Split Jerk


So far, I have only done a couple online because of pandemic problems, but I hope to remedy that when my homeschooling responsibilities lighten up somewhat and I can ramp up my training.

This is my favorite hobby, and I hope you enjoyed hearing a little bit about it. Let me know if you have any questions.

Weekend Engagement Hobby Challenge, Option #1. Here ya go @galenkp!

Sort:  

Congratulations @liftslikealady! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello! Wow, I don't think I've seen a female powerlifter as a content creator on Hive on the many years I've been coming and going. I would like to see more of this!

Are you familiar with the communities feature? You can post to a certain community directly, like THE WEEKEND. I think your post may have passed unnoticed since you might have missed that important step of the rules haha

Let me know if there's anything I can help you with, I know HIVE can be a lot to handle at first. But I'm sure you're up to the task!

Huh? I thought I did post to the weekend, and the rules said the first tag needed to be weekend-getaway. Maybe I messed it all up!
Lol, c'est la vie! Not much to do about it now.
I will try to posture about my lifting. I love to do it. I trying to find my way around. It is a slow process it seems learning the ins amd outs, but I plan on sticking around! I need to figure out tags- order and which ones and when to post on community and when to just out on my blog. :)

The first one is the most important one because that's the main one linked to the post. The rest are for searching/categorizing.

So, I looked at your post and then I looked at my post. I misunderstood @galenkp directions. Doh! I thought when it said to post weekend-engagement as the first tag, that you needed that first and then post in The Weekend Community. So, I should have done The Weekend first for the community post, and then tagged weekend-getaway, right?
Great thing about mistakes is learning from them. I'll get there. :P

Hahaha English is not my first language so I'll do my best to answer your doubts.

The community in which you want to post can be selected on the upper part of the editing window. Above the title. There will be a list to display of all the communities you're subscribed to. You can also select there the option of posting also in your blog, which means the post will appear both in the community and in your blog feed. I always select it.

Then, at the bottom of the editing window, you can put the tags: Galen asks for two, I think. First the #weekend-engagement and then #weekendlifestyle. You can put up to 10 tags (this is different than the communities). I'd choose things related to the content, i.e. weightlifting, girl power, etc.

When you have all set, including the text of the post of course, you can click publish, and it should redirect you to the community feed.

Oh, I forgot to ask, do you use hive.blog? Or peakd.com? Everything I explained applies for Peakd.com, it's the easiest front-end to use for bloggers (written content), in my opinion.

Let me know if you have further questions and I'll do my best to answer them!

I am posting on ecency now, and my brother says that also posts on hive. He was trying to keep things easy for me. Your explanation helps. :)

Yes, you can look at hive.blog, peakd.com and ecency.com as different doors that lead to the same room, the Hive Blockchain. You can access either of them with the same keys and the posts/transactions are the same.

Ah! That makes sense. Thank you! The door into the Hive analogy is perfect.

I know right? I read that somewhere and it stuck with me. Kudos to the one who said it first!

Especially with the idea that you get all these "keys" when you start... I like it, too!