Oh To Be Alone!

Being a solo mother of three kids, I rarely have time just for myself. Usually a half hour here or there, if I am lucky. My life is full to the brim each day and I can sometimes go the whole day, without getting the chance to chill out.

img_20160531_181340.jpg

I do know how important it is though and I am trying to be more proactive on that front. Just last night, I went out to listen to some music for a few hours, whilst my girls were at home. I returned after almost three hours and they commented, about how long I was away. But three hours is that not long really, they are just not used to be not being there.

But oh how I crave some Solitude, though.

I love being a mum, getting to watch my girls blossom, brings me so much joy. But sometimes I just want silence, some peace, so that that I can process some stuff and not have to be doing it last thing at night.

So, when I read the selection of questions from the latest Weekend Engagement concept, I knew straight away which one I would be answering.

image.png

Weekend of solitude

You're spending the weekend totally alone between Friday night and Sunday night. What do you do, where do you go, if anywhere, and why? Explain your answers.

I have had this longing to go up the mountain with Freya our dog, a tent and some supplies and just camp out by myself. I'm not sure how alone, I am meant to be, but I would hope to take Freya, because it is always good to have a canine companion with you, in cause you come across some wild boar.

I am so yearning for some time alone, just me and the wilderness. Where I can spend my time setting up camp, and enjoying the sounds of nature, that would surround me.

image.png

I would find somewhere near water, so that I can bathe during the day and where I could also wash my dishes as well. I would only carry what I really need, because I imagine, I would need to walk for a few hours to ensure that I really go into the wilderness.

I would have a small portal water filter with me, so that I don't have to carry so much water with me. I would also chose to eat only fruits and nuts for the 3 days, giving my body the opportunity to detox also.

I would sleep when the sun goes down and rise up with it. I would start my day, with a dip in the river and then have some fruit for breakfast. I would revel in the fact that I have no one needing my time or attention and just do whatever took my fancy.

image.png

From just relaxing, to exploring the mountainside or climbing some trees. Then it would be time to forage, to see what herbs I could find, to eat alongside my fruit and nuts. I sometimes think we are too spoilt with the selection of foods that we have.

When we have too much to choose from, we can easily get overwhelmed and even lose the desire to actually prepare food. So we end up making whatever is the easiest or most convenient. I tend to create the best meals, when I have the least amount of food.

Perhaps because I am more adventurous then and anyways, Simple always wins out in the end.

I would roll out my sleeping bag at the end of each day, under the stars and be lulled to sleep by the sounds of nature. After those couple of nights away, I am sure I would return to my girls, feeling reborn.

image.png

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Oh no...You didn't post this in the community. 😔

Oh you know what happen, my internet was down last night when I wanted to post it, so I had to wait till this morning to do so. Then the page refreshed and when it does that on Peakd you need to re enter the community you wish to post it in and I forgot. Damn, it was all set up last night to be posted in the community. Too late now. Thanks for the inspiration, maybe I will pick another question and this time do it right xxx

Bummer, but yes do another question, please. 😊

While I wouldn't be in the same environment, (I'd choose to be alone with a piano and violin), I sure would share this sentiment

I would revel in the fact that I have no one needing my time or attention and just do whatever took my fancy.

Mothers have precious little time to do this. No more than a snippet here and there, as you said. Being constantly needed is very exhausting! Even if you do nothing at all for someone else, you have to be on call at all times.

I hope you get this trip for yourself.

Thank you @owasco, I am hoping for one night up the mountain in the next few weeks, either that or on the beach. One night would be bliss right now.
Piano and Violin two of my favourite instruments xxx

Wow nice. I can only imagine it. Being a mom of 3 as well - although not single - I am always busy. No-one seems to want me to be alone. I have no idea what it feels like and what I would do with myslef.

I know ah, us mothers need time to ourselves, I hope you get to take it soon @momogrow xxxx