Eggs and mushy thoughts

in #weekend4 years ago

I'm having today off folks; I think I deserve it after the week I've had. Not bad, just really full on! It was productive though, hence my executive decision to take the day off. So, what's better than a Friday? Yep, you know it, a self-proclaimed Friday off!

I headed to the cafe I frequent a lot and grabbed some breakfast and to finalise the #weekend-engagement post for later today. That's my breakfast in the image; A couple poached eggs and sauteed mushrooms on some dark rye toast. And coffee of course...Life cannot exist without coffee, everyone knows that.

You can see there's only one other patron here at the moment. That's because it's early; I wanted to get an early start to the day so as not to waste any of it.

I've answered all my hive-replies from overnight and finished breakfast so now it's time to write.

I'm going to complete the #weekend-engagement post which will go live later tonight then start work on a travel post for next week.

The weekend-engagement topic is a drawing topic this week so I'm hoping for a few entries. I have 90 hive to give away so someone has to win it. Don't worry, the worse you draw the better I like it, so there's no real excuse not to have a go. You'll see my own drawing on the post...It's terrible. So, join in y'all - It's a good way to engage with others and have some fun.

I'm shooting a handgun competition tomorrow, the first since things shutdown for the flu-shenanigans. It'll be interesting as none of us have shot much at all in almost six months. There'll be a lot of fumbling and bumbling I think. Ok, that's an exaggeration really; We'll all be a bit rusty and dusty though. It'll still be fun and I won't be there looking to win; My goal is to re-familiarise and then to build from there. I'm looking forward to seeing some bro's and bro-ette's I haven't seen for a while.

Saturday night Faith and I are having a two-person BBQ. She's pescetarian (vegetarian but eats seafood) so I'm doing some smoked salmon for her and I'm having tofu. Haha, got ya! Did you really think old G-dog would commit such a heinous crime as letting tofu touch his grill? Steak for the G-dog. We will also watch the F1 qualifying session live from Spain.

Sunday we're heading over to my mother in-laws to do some jobs. She's away on a houseboat getaway on the Murray River until Monday so we're going to sneak over and get some bits and pieces done. I have to change an internal door handle, install a new door handle and lock on her garage, and fix a gate that's difficult for her to operate. Faith will work in the garden doing trimming and weeding. We will also raid her biscuit tin and coffee when there. And...When I say we I really mean me! I can't pass up biscuits.

From there it's home for dinner Sunday night, something easy that is undetermined at the moment, and then the F1 race live from Spain.

That's the weekend ahead for me. How about you? I know you'll all be entering the #weekend-engagement and engaging with everyone else there of course, but what else have you got planned? Don't be shy, I won't bite...Tell me below what's up over the weekend for you!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

#weekend-engagement topic post dropping in eight hours! Keep an eye on my feed for it!

Sort:  

Nice I love small little fix jobs! Those are a lot of fun to do. Weeding and trimming has also been fun too. I’ve decided that pulling the weeds up isn’t sufficient, I’ve been digging the little shits up right down beyond the roots!

I’m glad that you got to take a day off. We all need some of those every now and then!

Good luck on the pistol tournament, I’m sure you’re looking forward to seeing your mates as much as you’re looking forward to doing some fun shooting.

I heard a bunch of gunshots going off when we were fishing earlier. I don’t know if there’s a range nearby but I’m going to find out!

I'm always doing some sort of job around the place, here at home or at my mother in-laws. Her house is quite new though, so there's not a huge amount there; Gardening mainly. I should do some posts on it sometime I guess but I always forget to get pictures. I have to change another pop-up sprinkler head at my place soon so might do a post about it.

So, those gunshots...As long as they weren't aimed at you it's all good! Worth investigating though...Could be a range you can shoot at.

Have a good weekend, and I hope to see you around on the #weekend-engagement topic.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

There's something extra wholesome about your mother-in-law's biscuits.
She's only a few minute's drive from the kids' school; so every pickup is a chorus of 'Can we go to grandma's please, Dad'?

Yeah, I have to agree. The good thing for me is that we don't have kids so my mother in-law gets to spoil me! A cunning plan, but effective.

I'm curious with that #weekend-topic? Is that making a post or just engaging?

By the way, did you go to have breakfast alone? Yes, coffee, the strong one is what I love. You have so many things to do. A gunshot competition, a barbecue date with Faith? But that's important in our lives. Enjoying it while still we can and not just focus on working. Of course, you deserve an off.

Good luck with your #weekend-engagement.

Take a look at the post that will come out later, in about 5 hours. It explains it all. You need to comment on the topic I set, in this case it's a drawing. It's designed to promote engagement. If you like you can scroll back on my feed and take a look at the other 9 weeks of topics which will give you an idea. They all came out on a Friday, so just scroll back 7 days from today.

I ate breakfast alone, although I'm never truly alone as I have multiple personalities...All within my head. Lol.

Lol, so it's only in your head.
Sure, I'll be waiting for your post later that it will gives me an idea.

Lol, so it's only in your head.

The eggs were real...The other personalities are in my head though. Sometimes they take over, but rarely do they do anything evil.

(This is, of course, a joke. I guess you'd need to know me to understand.)

Haha yeah, I understand you. Maybe we just have a different understanding because I'm not a native english speaker. I'm not serious though and I totally get it that you're joking.

Sorry just a misunderstanding I think into words.

Language barrier, that's probably it. I sometimes forget about that. And being Australian, can be a bit strange at times, as far as humour goes at least. Some don't get it. All good though, we cleared it up.

Yeah, supposed to be that was my explanation that I understand your joke. It's just that it's hard to say an exact word to use in answering it with a joke.

Anyway, thanks..

mmmmm coffee. Now don't be shooting yourself in the foot later.

Lol...It's always an option.

would certainly make for an interesting post but I wouldn't go to such extremes if you can avoid it

Yeah, I know a few who have done it...Didn't really end well. I usually try to avoid it.

yup this would indeed be for the best. Closest we have here is Archery which is quite fun

I've done a little, but not much. I wouldn't say I know how to do it, although can draw and shoot I guess. I'd like to learn a bit more about it. My mates used to hunt with bows...I just never got into it back then. I've been playing around attempting to make one...Been failures so far.

as a left hander who shoots a rifle leftie and plays pool left but racket sports right I wasn't sure about archery. Found out I can shoot both left and right. Was pretty interesting. I am a bit weird though

A foot shooting for me would be deadly... As one or the other is usually in my mouth.

haha yup me too usually

This looks so good! I'm happy to hear about your friday off, you surely deserve it. I think the handgun competition will be such a relaxing thing, especially after the lockdown and all the stuff associated with it.
As usual, I prefer my week-end in nature, away from urban noise

I always deserve a day off! Even when I don't. Shooting isn't urban noise, but it's not quiet of course, so maybe don't go shooting this weekend yourself. 😉 I'll be going though, because it's fun.

Have a good weekend.

Yes, you are deserving. I am sure the gun stuff time will be awesome. Have a lovely week-end too😊💪

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 53500 replies. Your next target is to reach 54000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Never without coffee!

I am dead before coffee...Like, a corpse. Add coffee and boom, I come to life!

Hahha me too! :)

Very little "planned," Pulled pork Sunday, steaks on the grill Saturday. Crawling around underneath the prime mover like a spider monkey to grease and give it a look Over under... I might even decide to do my job and look at the freight boards?

Nahhh... Fuck that Freight. Worry about that on Moanday. (not misspelled)

s4bwc5.jpg

Sounds like a decent weekend, all except the working under the truck part, although I suppose it needs to be done. Hopefully you don't find anything wrong under there as that will probably cost money...But not finding it and it going wrong later could be even more costly right? Pulled pork Sunday sounds like a winner.

What's wrong with grilled tofu? XD

I would have to go with Faith on this one, I like salmon more than steak XP

Sounds like today was pretty busy for you then, taking it easy tomorrow seems like a good idea :)

Tofu is heinous. 'Nuff said.

Busy day today, was good though. Nice time tonight with Faith at our BBQ and around the fire pit. 💜💙

Now just watching F1 qualifying from Spain...Then bed time. Chores day tomorrow, odd-jobs day.