Saturday - It must be Coconut Cream Pie Day

in #weekend3 years ago (edited)

September 18th, 2021

A Nice Change of Taste

So all week I put short post up for the work week. Well work week is gone and done, and they have been gone and done for me for quite some time now. I used to make a lot of my own desserts. Lemon Meringue pie is one of my favorites of all time, but I also learned how to make a nice Coconut Cream Pie. The problem with only the two of us, home made desserts have pretty much gone by the wayside.

Speaking of waysides, on the way to Homer Alaska is a small community called Kasilof. They have a mercantile store. meaning they have a little bit of a lot of things but mostly catering toward the summer fishermen and the seasonal hunters.

Kasilof mercantile
They do cater to the community also, the important thing here is if you want a real milkshake, you know the kind made with ice cream and milk and no powder or liquid flavorings, you can get one here.

Not only real milkshakes but real french fries also. Not the kind dumped out of a plastic bag into a vat of to hot oil, but real potatoes, peeled and pushed through a french fry press, then dipped into the oil to cook. Hot and no excessive oil or grease, just fries cooked and done right. You might want to ask for a couple of salt packets because they also do not over salt the fries.

Ah now the reason for the short outing today. Pie. Not just any pie but Coconut Cream Pie. It has been years since I have had one and for the past three months or so I have really been wanting to have one.

Pre-Bite Pie

Yes it is in a to-go box, I wanted to have it at home where I could enjoy it in semi peace. Here is Proof of Bite:

proof of bite

It was good. Almost as good as what I once made. The advantage over buying verse making, I only have one piece, and not one piece for today, tomorrow or the next day. Just one fat pill at a time.

So next time you want something real to eat on you way to Homer, make sure to stop by and grab a fat pill or two from Rocky's Cafe in Kasilof Alaska.


That's it, hope you all have a nice weekend.