Weekly Spins: What I'm Listening To Today

in #weeklyspins3 years ago

Old School/New School

Is there such a thing as New School? Here's my problem: I'm going to start with some serious old school blues and go to some more current music. Not that old school is EVER out of fashion in the blues.

This on was sent to me as a present on Christmas Day. My friend was working and knew darn well that I'd be up and listening to music so he sent this. Muddy Waters, Johnny Winter and James Cotton with one of the most covered songs in the genre. Black Cat Bone

Direct Link

Another put together trio. Albert Collins, Robert Cray, Johnny Copeland. Three really incredible blues guitarists doing an old, old school blues song: Black Cat Bone.

Direct Link

Samantha Fish is a really current blues player (as in the case of most of the earlier players, she isn't dead) who plays as a solo AND with other people quite a little. In this particular video she's doing a classic blues tune: Black Cat Bone.

Direct Link

Yes. I did that. 3 versions of the same song that really don't sound much the same.

Thanks to @bozz for the relentless pursuit of music. I appreciate it. #weeklyspins

Thanks for reading this all the way to the end. Anything can happen and often does.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@bozz: Good stuff every day.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All.

@sultnpapper Truth Teller and Poker Player.

@jangle Because Jangle A great writer and serious hustler.

@tarazkp Great writing and lots of it!

@galenkp Most engaging guy on Hive.

Sort:  

I didn't get to do a music post this week because of the holidays. I am actually surprised that I am doing a post on the weekend. I guess I can push the posts I would have done the past two days in to these days. I really like Samantha Fish. I first heard about her through a vinyl group I am part of. Great stuff!

Yeah. Samantha Fish gets at it pretty well. Really good guitarist and nice vocals, too.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Again, more excellent music to add to the ever-growing list. It is impossible not feeling like dancing to this tunes!

Some really good guitarists in this mix. The first two were 'pushed together' groups just to try to sell some records, and Samantha Fish can get with the guitar really well.

I just love three renditions of the same song.

It's always nice to have more arrangements of the same piece. That way one can truly see the creativity of musicians.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.