You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “This IS Going To Devastate The Industry” Owner Of Gusto Unfairly Targeted By Circuit Breaker Lockdown!!! (Whoever is downvoting...WHY???Please Stop!)

in #whales3 years ago

I think you're making it sound more difficult than it really needs to be. People just need to know they can earn as a consumer here. Read my most recent post. I have plenty more like that blasting this industry and its reckless ways. It seems society is so used to having their devices and centralized media do the thinking for them that they forgot how.

Talking about Hive is pointless. No need to sell Hive, just need to sell the consumer perks and show these content creators this new revolutionary business model. Then use social media to spread the content, just like the centralized media players do.

I get so frustrated watching folks around here not even know the difference between a decentralized media platform like Hive and a social media platform like Facebook or Twitter. One is the paper, the other is the paperboy. We don't want to be the paperboy. That's just not how this works.

https://peakd.com/decentralized-media/@nonameslefttouse/its-post-time-on-decentralized-media

And then eventually if there was a decentralized twitter like social media platform, people could shift to that but I don't see it happening. Moving a market of billions from one place to another is damn near impossible. Read that post if you haven't already.

Sort:  

Well i think different people, will be receptive to different things, and in some cases some people will always just be followers. The key is to walk the walk, and talk the talk.
Personally I have had success spreading Hive by semi using it to sponsor social media creators I see, then suck them in with the money, and teach them how to do it by themselves. One such member is putting on a longboard race, and we're giving away Hive as the prize. He's going to teach others in his community in the Philippines, and I expect to get a large amount of new members from that.
Honestly the bit in your article about the bot upvoting of some short no effort post, upsets me. I thought we had gottin rid of most of that abuse with the downvotes.

Those followers can also earn by leaving comments, then they're votes get bigger...

Attracting more 'social media' personalities but no consumers means we have a big stage full of performers and no butts in the seats. Attracting only creators for the past five years is why posts go unnoticed and comment sections remain barren. There's also business happening here if people expect to get paid. Creators are potential money out the door, consumers are potential money in the door. You need more consumers than creators. That helps create demand for the token so the value rises. All of these factors need to be in play and balanced all at once.

The bot upvoting part of that post was about Press for truth here. Does it still upset you? I thought we got rid of it too but it's been happening, people are lazy and taking advantage of this place. So I'll be stepping in, and making myself look like an asshole, and putting a stop to it anywhere I can.

Well who set up the bots? Was is Dan himself, or people trying to support a independent journalist? Either way, maybe decline rewards on short, effortless posts. But if he made a video, no matter where he posted it originally, then he made plenty of effort in doing both the journalism, and the making of the video.
That being said, we can all work together to help bring his viewers to Hive to actually interact. We also should assume Dan knows everything about Hive and how it works, since his focus is more on journalism. But i do see that you are trying to help him out, which I respect. Honestly I've been here since 2017, and I still have things to learn because I focused mostly on Skatehive, but now I'm diving in deeper to be able to teach others, and explain the inner workings a bit better.

Dan didn't, but when it comes to autovotes, and knowing they're coming in with every post, the one publishing the content needs to cherish that and not take advantage of it. The 'curators' setting up auto votes need to be more responsible as well. Paying people to direct traffic away is the exact opposite of doing business. It's a ripoff. Bringing value to Hive means gathering attention, maintaining it, and hopefully encouraging more new potential stakeholders to sign up. Consumers become the investors Hive has always been looking for.

Most people have no idea about the potential here. It's treated just like Facebook and they expect everyone to hold their hand and do all the hard work things like algorithms and echo chambers did.

K I get what you’re saying a lot better now. That makes sense.
I wonder if we should do some kinda of ambassador like program, that both supports people like Dan, while also educating them so as to help everyone involved.
I feel starting off as a minnow has got to be a bit of a deterrent for bigger celebrities, so offering them a powered up account in exchange for bringing traffic to us, I think would be very beneficial.

I think that whole minnow and dolphin and whatever stuff is nonsense.

Independent minds doing their own thing, creating independent businesses, on Hive.

I don't know about offering handouts. And any 'big name brand' that ever shows up never brings people. They just post, get support from existing stakeholders, then sit here earning with no comments under their posts.

Blah. I don't think anyone will ever take this place seriously or be able to see how to make a future here. I do but that's just me I guess.

On a side note. I was reluctant once I noticed, but I became your 666th follower.... LOL!

Well I really hope this is not the final form of Hive, we have a lot of ways we could improve. But I guess that is both the pro and the con of decentralization, everyone is going to do it their own way, and sometimes some comes of it, or sometimes it goes nowhere.
Welcome my 666th follower! Now that I have reached the correct number of followers, I will begin my Hive based religion. So, how much Hive Power do you think the average person would sell their first born for?