Making Wild Yeast Strawberry wine.

in #wine4 years ago

No I did not eat the heart of my enemies on hive. This is the color of high quality VERY RIPE strawberries crushed by hand. I am making my first ever batch of "yeast free" or wild yeast wine. Of course wild yeasts exist all around us in tiny particles in the air. If you study wine making: You learn early on that ancient wine makers didn't discover yeast for many centuries. In other words they figured out how to make wine many years before they understood the process. Only recently did scientists isolate yeast strains. Of course wild yeast works on any fruit: Not just grapes.
IMG_43731.JPG
Stay tuned as I continue the wine making process. The first step is to simply crush the {strawberries} and then cover it with a breathable cloth. If you find some berries: You could crush them into a bowl and cover them with cheesecloth or even an old tee shirt. Then you can follow along with me in real time! The more berries you can crush the better. Make sure to get ready by finding some clean empty wine bottles with no chips and also some plastic tubing. Don't worry it's an easy process.

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing. I will try it on strawberries.

Be careful it might go moldy if you dont have enough wild yeast
OR it could turn into vinegar.

Yes I will try it very carefully. Thank you for the information.