My Witness Application - holger80

in #witness-category6 years ago (edited)

You know me probably as developer of beem, an alternative python library for steem. I joined steem in 29.12.2017. In the first two months, I learned the fundamentals of steem and I was searching my niche.

I always wanted to write a huge python library and after studying the source code of python-steem, I knew that I will create an alternative python library for steem. Since the 14. Februar, I worked every free hour on beem, the alternative python library. I took the source code from python-bitshares and added 12944 lines of code. In total, I pushed 450 commits in which I added 70796 lines and in which I removed 49246 lines of python code and documentation.


image.png
(holgern is my github account name)

I discovered utopian-io and published regularly new post about newly added features there.

Currently, I'm working on the 36. release of beem and I've started a new project in which a pushed every hour updates about the full-node state to the account @fullnodeupdate. The full node state can be obtained by reading the json_metadata of this account. I will post in more detail about this project soon.

My commitment to steem

In the last 5 month, I invested a huge amount of my saving into steem. Until now, I never powered down. I'm trying to support all developer who posts for utopian-io by upvoting their content.
As I mentioned, I develop beem and I'm trying to help all steemit user, who want to use my library.

You can see my latest post about beem developement here: https://hive.blog/utopian-io/@holger80/update-for-beem-steemconnect-integration-and-bug-fixes.

I'm also visiting often the official steem github. I wrote Current state of hardfork 0.20.0 development - 30.05.2018 and found a bug in the steem source code (#1764) which leads to #2515.

I published a complete appbase-api call reference in this post: https://hive.blog/appbase/@holger80/api-methods-list-for-appbase.

My witness server setup

I rented a server with the following specification:

  • 64 GB DDR4 RAM
  • Intel® Core™ i7-6700 Quad-Core
  • 1 GBit/s
  • 2 x 240 GB SATA 6 Gb/s SSD

I installed Ubuntu 16.04 and I'm using the stable branch of the steem github. I did the following steps to assure that everything will run smoothly:

  • ssh port is changed
  • root login is disabled
  • fail2ban is installed
  • 4 GB swap partition is created
  • zram compression is active
  • I created a 131GB ram partition (2*RAM + SWAB - 1 GB)
  • I compiled and installed steemd and cli_wallet (LOW_MEMORY_NODE=ON, CLEAR_VOTES=ON, SKIP_BY_TX_ID=ON and CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release)
  • I checked and added seed-nodes to the config file
  • I replayed the blockchain and installed a systemd service for steemd
  • Created a python pricefeed script which is started by crontab

Everything is running now and 40 GB RAM are used at the moment.

Vote

If you want to support me, you can vote for me as one of your witnesses by entering my name in the voting field for lower ranked witnesses in https://steemit.com/~witnesses


image.png

You can also vote via steemconnect: https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account_witness_vote?witness=holger80&approve=1

Sort:  

You got my vote

You got my vote too.

Gern gevotet.
Aber bitte nimm das : beim Witness-Link raus. ;)

Hi @holger80, I'll check your python library as I'm interested to learn more about extracting information from the Steemit Blockchain.
Thanks for all the effort.

Welcome to the dark side.

hey @holger80 i think what you're doing is very important, the current library has it's limits, and we need a way better one, you have my vote.....come join us in @comedyopenmic i would like to get the word out to bring you up to top 100 Witness ASAP so you cost to run your server is covered (power & internet should be free for you to focus on dev)

COM Discord: https://discord.gg/uy8KTds

Thank you for your support!

I am going to vote for you too.

Welcome in the "Witness Club" @holger80

Thank you, I have a long way to go. My rank is 246 and I will produce my first block in about 51 days...

Really good application, I just set up a Witness server myself and got my first block today. I'm going to give you a vote to help you move up the list a little - good luck.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

done
btw. witness-Link fails. The colon is part of the URL in this posting

Hat er bis jetzt nicht geändert. kopfschüttel

Your steemconnect link does not work...
Anyway, my vote for you!

Fortunately, I've got a couple of votes to spare, so you've got one of them. Going to the voting page right now. Good luck!!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 35.17% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Low memory mode and it uses 40 GB.