jamzed witness update 9/30/18

in #witness-category6 years ago

jwu_20180930.png

The last weeks were crazy for all witnesses. Bugs, crashes, blockchain issues, steemd upgrades in the middle of the night and never ending replays, but finally... HF20 is live.

I'm not going to comment the way of implementation of HF20, bugs happen, this is a part of development cycle. We can have a bunch of fancy tests, but the real world is full of corner cases and unforeseen situations in which software starts to live its own life, but if something goes wrong I expect someone to say it out loud.

Of course there were moments I was really pisse^H^H^H^H^Hsurprised and frustrated, like when I tried to push my backup signing key to switch active node to failover and couldn't because of not enough MANA, but instead of yelling and looking for someone to blame I tried to look for solution.

For someone like me who don't write C++ code in daily basis, reading and reviewing steemd is tough. Even if I can understand single functions probably I will never see a full picture. I'm really happy I could see developers in action, this motivated me to spend more time on learning C++ ;-) I know it sounds like a bullshit, but hopefully I'll be able to do more when it comes to the next HF.

My current witness position is #164, 0 missed blocks, primary consensus node v0.20.5 is up and running, failover is still replaying, seed node will be up soon.


If you want to vote for me as witness, please click here, or use SteemConnect.

Thank you for all your votes, for those I got, lost, and will get. ;-)

Sort:  

You got my vote already but I still expect you to somehow more active in the community. Because that's what makes people climb that ladder, there are guys with almost no knowledge about the code or the blockchain has higher ranks :|

"if something goes wrong I expect someone to say it out loud." :thumbsup:

In jamzed we trust!

How could I stop a man who wants to develop so much?
I just could not!
What's more, I want to support you @jamzed. You have my voice :)
Best wishes and I keep my fingers crossed.

Congratulations @jamzed! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jamzed! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for following me!

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Congratulations @jamzed! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @jamzed! This is a friendly reminder that a Partiko user has just followed you! Congratulations!

To get realtime push notification on your phone about new followers in the future, download and login Partiko using the link below. You will also get 3000 Partiko Points for free, and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko