Intermission

in #witness-category4 years ago

Preamble

I thought it's about time to take a short break from the social break.

No, I didn't disappear. You should know by now, I never do. Until I do, but that's either out of my hands then or you'll see it in my wallet.
Steem just has this tendency to drag me to places I don't wanna be in. My bubble/safe space is so different from what people on social media care about, or is it people in general?

Whatever. I love the world and the people in it, as long as I am able to filter out the fucktards and brainless turtles, which unfortunately isn't possible here. Which is why I need to stop being available for anyone from time to time (except those who are willing to go an extra step to reach me).

Curangel downvotes

@curangel downvotes had to be stopped because managing them became a full-time job. And not a fun one, so that there hasn't been any kind of recompensation (on the contrary - I lost positions in the witness ranking due to pissing off some well off people by reallocating a few dollars they were looking forward to have soon towards the broader community) wasn't the main driving factor.
I'm sick of telling people to read the whitepaper, and I generally don't plan to invest any more time into people who don't get what the word 'potential' means.

That said - I want to keep providing my downvote power to a group of "curators", so I changed the code of the downvote script a while ago to be able to hopefully work with less maintenance. If you're interested in beta testing that with me just submit a suggestion in the place where it used to be done, and I'll run them. Don't expect me on Discord anytime soon, except if the testing really requires it.

Power down period

If I were in the position to do so, I would not support a HF which does nothing but changing the period to another arbitrary number. I like the more elaborate ideas of @therealwolf, but don't consider a change to that part of the system a priority in the first place.

Steeminvite

Did you know about https://steeminvite.com ? I'm not great with advertising, but things just need to be plugged from time to time I guess. Go and make a steemian, now!

What else?

No idea. You tell me. I'm in the mood for answering questions. Or discussing your ideas. Get at me!

Sort:  

Wow! You are back!

I will be incoherent... so apology first for being incoherent!

Give us the DV tool back. Yes please!

Then, most important.... forget everything and just be here a little bit. We miss the leadership, we miss the friendship.

I even publicly wrote 10s of comments, to improve engagement. To show I care for this blockchain. Lets forget the negativity and lets built something together. Got to go to a meeting. Talk real soon.

DV tool is accessible, if you start using it I promise I'll polish.
Looking forward to our own meeting! As friends, leaders are so last millenium :P

I am getting error

Same.

Works now!! @pharesim

It least it is taking it. Will see and test.

There was a miscalculation for the limits. Please re-add your posts

Of course you do. Part of why I wrote this post. Thanks for playing along and pushing me to start testing :D
That issue is fixed now!

Thank you! Yes, I have been using steeminvite too.

All using steeminvite. I have no idea what I will do with them. But I think someone mentioned they might be useful or tradable someday..

So whenever I remember, I claim a few

Just like I am doing right now...

It does its thing .... and then viola!

https://steeminvite.com/

It is an excellent tool :)

There! Gave a full demo! I now have claimed 218 accounts, thanks to you!

Back directly from the Enoch era I guess =)

Welcome back from the break you didn't have :)

Taraz posted some decent ideas on the powerdown period and use of wallet, piggy-backing on the locked stake idea a while back.

I also feel that changes here aren't a priority, although some larger stakeholders disagree. Invest and be a part of the network, or hold your STEEM in your wallet and trade at will. I see an increased opportunity for abusers to arrive, power a load up, vote on alts and see if they can get away with it, and be out before the end of the day.

I'm actually having two breaks right in this moment!

Yeah, having a stake is different when that means commitment for a longer time. We need more long-term oriented people imo, not cater more to the pump and dumpers. That may be an option when we have a strong and growing userbase some day.

Lucky you!

The current setup gives less opportunity for people to have their cake and eat it. People speak of 13 weeks like it's a prison sentence, but in the grand scheme of things it's no time at all.

Absolutely. When this break ends, the other persists. Permabreak!

They also keep bringing up the inflation rate, without acknowledging that BTC had a similar and higher one most of its lifetime.

please rest, it is necessary to get out and take fresh air from the real world, and one of our best friends has done it, after spending like your months without sleeping many times, to push forward a small group of talents, I know that you have done a lot to this great Network many do not thank, nor will they thank but well, I know that many undesirable will be happy to see you withdraw,That is not our case, as someone who has spent so much time so much of his life, to grow others will feel the emptiness.Well please, since you're leaving, I know you've spent hundreds of days sitting behind the monitor, it's time to go and detox, take a plane, a train, whatever you walk, go to the mountain, the ocean, the lake, to a river to fish, start cooking a good recipe and if you do not want, go to the best restaurant in the city and give yourself a good and deserved delicacy, go to be with Mother Nature, take off your shoes walk without them feeling the freshness of soil, look for a forest that offers fruits so you can eat them directly from the plant, go to a zoo, admire the animals, it is good sometimes to disconnect everything.I hope you come back here, for friends, for not-so-friends and for those who like me as we go through here,Best regardSorry for the mistakes this is not pure English is a google translation, from my Spanish.

Muchas gracias!
Estoy disfrutando todo eso ya, no te preocupes :) @jukatravels dejó de blogear, pero no de viajar!

Genial señor, la vida es muy corta así que hay que gozar, me alegra saber que lo hace, nunca deje de hacerlo, igual nosotros seguimos con el foraging aunque no se publique de ello.
Un ultimo favor cuando hallé Niscalos o un buen plato de Percebes o Jamón ibérico degustelo por mi, que espero hacerlo un buen día, tambien.

Saludos.

Hey @pharesim, welcome back; I hope the break was good and you feel better as that's what life is all about. 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi
I just sent you a bonus to motivate you to work better
If you had liked this donation don't hesitate to subscribe on @senorita01 for more donations
Follow me: @senorita01
@tipu

At SteemInvite, Label is a required field. In that context, what’s the meaning of “label”?

That's just an identifier for yourself

Steem just has this tendency to drag me to places I don't wanna be in.

I came back yesterday after a 2 month break.
It says more about the animal called social media, that anything else, doesn't it?

The question then arises - if it's so toxic, then why do we choose to 'poison' ourselves with it?

Since I left, I have been more productive, more profitable, and waaaaaaay more positive.
(I'm back here now for different reasons than just blogging and arguing).

I wonder if the 'social media obsession' phenomenon, is just that.
A blip in the timeline of 'computer development'.

$trdo

Congratulations @goldcoin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @pharesim!
@pharesim will receive 4.34966963 TRDO & @goldcoin will get 2.89977975 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

If I were in the position to do so, I would not support a HF which does nothing but changing the period to another arbitrary number

That's pretty different from what was proposed, which was changing the number in a fork which is going to happen anyway.

My personal opinion is that the power down period should be shorter and I would support the change, but I also certainly wouldn't support the costs and risks of a hard fork just to make that one change.

That's pretty different from what was proposed, which was changing the number in a fork which is going to happen anyway.

Yes, I simplified a bit too much maybe. Of course the HF would also bring SMT. What I don't want is to add this "simple" change to this fork, but (if at all) a seperate HF with a more elaborate concept.

In erster Linie bin ich dankbar für alles, was du für diese Blockchain gemacht hast und machst. Darüber hinaus freue ich mich, von dir etwas zu lesen.

Congratulations @pharesim, your post successfully recieved 4.34966963 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@goldcoin earned : 2.89977975 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site