You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Witness Campaign] Agoric Systems kindly asks you for your vote to become Witness

in #witness-category7 years ago

Just curious, how does Detroit work into this? As a Michigander, I'm all for the revival of Detroit regaining it's status as one of the top 5 cities in the country. I love all of your other tenants, but Detroit seemed to be dropped in there. How will crypto help the city ? Are the efforts more educational, more spreading the word to people who may not completely understand it or will you be looking to help neighborhoods directly?

Sorry for so many questions, but I want to see my hometown get back to where my parents remember it, in all it's glory. I think it's possible and I sure do hope you guys can help. Speaking of, how can i lend a hand? I actually work geographically close to @rahulyadav and would really love to help where i can. Let me know and keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Hey Tony,

We want to go into communities and teach them how to take advantage of these awesome tools in order to empower themselves. This means doing things such as advocating for digital and financial literacy, running blogging workshops for newcomers to Steem, and explaining how digital assets work from a high level. We'd also like to translate digital value into physical works in order to showcase the fact that it's real money we're talking about, similar to the Steem Park initiative.

At the end of the day, it's like you said on Telegram, a "teach them to fish" approach that will hopefully spread like wildfire. :)