You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Davinci Translation Report #31

in #witness-update5 years ago

I didn't want to accuse anyone of cheating, I was referring to the payouts and reward distribution!
I'm not concerned about the quality of anyone's translations, however, I still believe that the language managers should not be able to post contributions because they already get rewards from reviews! By doing this we could also allow more translators to join teams and the language moderators would earn more by reviewing more contributions.

Sort:  

I understand what you mean @silbiu93, and I agree to a certain extend. There are teams with 5 team members, in which case the LM would probably not even have the time to translate as well. The process of proofreading can be very time consuming and one always has to keep their head with it. When I first started out as LM for the Dutch team, there were two members of the team very active, with (at the time) 4 or more contributions each week each, and one translator who did a translation once a month or less. Now, I have one active translator, and the not so active translator is our second LM. So I am also translating now. For me, it is a welcome change, and I feel that I need it to stay focused on the work, as well as 'stay in the game'. It's important to train that translator's brain constantly. I've worked as a translator and editor/proofreader for a long time, and I truly feel that if one is only proofreading that they can lose touch with what's going on around them and in the work of translations as a whole. Now the material stays fresh, for me at least.

And then there is also the fact that it is easier to find translators for some languages, like Spanish for instance, while for other languages it can be much harder. At least at the moment. We're lucky to have three members on the team who are as active as they are! I sure hope our numbers will change in the near future, but there just aren't as many Dutch speaking people on the platform as there are Spanish speaking ones.

Hello! I'm waiting for some papers in Serbia, I'm bored to death and I'm translating like a madman. In an Open Letter, I've presented some of the examples why I gave relatively high scores to my translators

https://steemit.com/davinci/@alexs1320/open-letter-why-i-give-high-scores-to-my-translators

There is only 5 of us, handpicked:

I don't know what to tell you - they are working well.
Very smart, devoted and responsible people

Well, same here. We have one psychologist, one soon to be a teacher, one MA in Multilingual communications and Media, and one (not active at the moment) with none of these but who did surprisingly well when it came to Dutch translations. At the same time, I've met Doctors who couldn't spell right even if their life depended on it 😂.

<3 and, what should we do if we have good people in our teams?

Hire 10 bad "tras-ley-toas" to make our average score lower?
Punish them for doing a good job?

I simply - trust you.
If you were responsible and if you made the team filled with good translators - I have no problem with that, encontrer, it will make our project stronger.

If you can find 5 professional linguists and bring them to Steemit - give them the highest possible score every time, I will be more than happy.

Quality is what we need <3