You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: witness roadmap (potentially) for @jesta in 2018

in #witness-update6 years ago (edited)

This seems like a great plan to me!

If you considered VueJS instead of ReactJS for SteemDB, I'd like to help ;) I use Flask/Python APIs for everything I can.

Regardless, thanks for the huge effort you put into work on Steem, and being one of the most approachable/helpful 'senior' developers as far as us newer devs are concerned as well.

Sort:  

I haven't really looked at VueJS too much, one of the reasons I was drawn into ReactJS in the first place was because the CSS framework I've become accustomed to (semantic-ui) had native bindings for React. I also worry about changing tech stacks and learning a new technology when time is at a premium :)

Regardless, thanks for the huge effort you put into work on Steem, and being one of the most approachable/helpful 'senior' developers as far as us newer devs are concerned as well.

You're welcome, and thanks for the kind words. I definitely try when I have time, fostering a healthy community of devs is an important part of keeping this train rolling!

I totally understand. Whilst it seems like a noble aim to keep learning new technologies, we also have to try and be proficient with what we use. I sometimes forget that, and spend too much time changing stacks. Perhaps similarly though, I like Bootstrap, and am now using Bootstrap Vue.

I'd never come across semantic-ui, but I see it does have a Vue Integration, but think it's very immature.

Perhaps I can help with back-end anyway, if it's Python :)

Oh yup, had no idea that existed! Looks pretty similar, just slightly different syntax using <sui-header ...> instead of <Header ...> for example.

The backends themselves will definitely be in python. I also want the API itself to be portable/modular enough that others will be able to use it for other project needs as well. SDBS I feel was trying to go that route, but it wasn't customizable enough for my needs in building a DB.