Witness Update from @c0ff33a and @derangedvisions - just two people trying to make a difference on the Blockchain

in #witness4 years ago

Screenshot 20200813 at 19.07.08.png

Currently @c0ff33a Witness is at rank 52, we have been through a period over the last few months of slipping down - not because we lost Witness votes but because others below us gained them and were promoted above us.

Screenshot 20200813 at 20.34.13.png

I was sad to see @c-squared have ended their curation work and shut down their Witness, but the reasons are understandable - manual curation is incredible draining and the awesome accounts that run it already do more then their own share themselves.

A massive thank you to @xeldal for voting our Witness this week, it's totally refreshing to see big investors remove votes from the top 30 - which is totally unattainable to anyone below it right now - and support the smaller back up Witnesses. And also thank you to @utopiaeducators for giving @c0ff33a your Witness vote - We really appreciate every single Witness Vote, and I was personally becoming very demoralised to see our rank head backwards after putting in an incredible amount of work to the Hive Blockchain, running now four Servers dedicated to Hive which include the Witness Server @c0ff33a, the backup Witness Server which is also Witness @whiterosecoffee (After HF24 there will be enough capacity to run both Witnesses and have a backup server either can use if needed) - and we now run a full API Node

Hive Nodes

Hivemind instance https://hivemind.c0ff33a.uk/
FAT Full information server https://hivefat.c0ff33a.uk/
Account history server https://hiveaccounthistory.c0ff33a.uk/
Individually they supply access to specific information and services on the Hive Blockchain - but they are at their best when they work together.
FULL API Node https://api.c0ff33a.uk/

Putting all these together represents an incredible amount of my time spent setting up each server and learning new skills including nginx and certbot to provided the correct routing to each server and secure routing. I entirely managed it without bothering anyone who knows how to set this up, mainly thanks to the on chain guides by @pharesim and @drakos right now it's not the fastest API Node out there and would struggle with a big volume of users, but again HF24 will allow for major adjustments and now I understand each server and how it works - setting this up over and over will be much easier.

To make the best use of my API Node, aside from all the services I already on Hive I also have my own Condenser set up which uses my node https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk/

Hive UK Meet Up

I have organised a Hive UK Meet Up for 19th September 2020, given the Coronavirus situation it's a difficult time to organise events but as I can host the event in my own Warehouse, there is no worry about renting space somewhere and it being shut down due to a localised lockdown. We have around ten people confirmed so far, and presuming there will be no transport issues or shutdown of hotels for the few that are staying over it will happen whatever the Coronavirus situation is. The event is open to anyone that can get there, totally free, I'm covering food and drink refreshments and during the day we will look to discuss Hive Onboarding, increasing the value of Hive, promoting the existing work of great Hive creators including our musicians, Roasting Brazillian coffee which will be packed into Hive branded bags for attendees to take home - and the whole event will be live streamed for anyone that wishes to watch in on.

Three funny facts about me

@father2b came up with this awesome Three Funny Facts About Me and I loved the concept, few people will argue 2020 has been a miserable year, and any excuse to smile is a good one. And this post really cheered me up, I thought the tag was perfect for a challenge post and so kicked it off with my own post offering a total 175 Hive in prizes for the best posts Three funny facts about me are you upto the challenge entries are open until the 19th August so there is loads of time to enter, just use #threefunnyfactsaboutme as one of your tags, share your post in my post comments above or even in this post comments - if you do a post do everything you can to make sure I know about it! When the contest ends winners will be decided by the members of the #brits discord - it will be impartial so everyone wherever you are is welcome to join - the winners of Hive will be based on post quality alone.

Hive Gaming

I'm a big fan of @splinterlands , and have progressed really well in the last few seasons - I made Champion 3 in the last one best ever! I have also got more active in @holybread progress is relatively slow for me at least, but I do like how they upvote your posts if you have been active in the arena. I am totally obsessed with @dcity right now though, it is very addictive once your start building your community, if you have not tried it out yet head over to https://dcity.io/info to learn more, you do need to invest a little Hive to get going but it is super fun watching your city grow and adding to it.

@c0ff33a and @derangedvisions the worker bee's of Hive

Like myself @derangedvisions (Wes) has had an incredibly tough year, you can keep current on what has been happening on his blog but despite everything 2020 has thrown at us, together we put in 150% to support Hive, it's communities and users. Between delegations to community accounts, individual accounts, onboarding accounts, competitions to win Hive, running our Witness Servers and Full API Node - I'm not sure what more we could be doing right now to show our support for Hive and deserve a Witness vote.

Reminder about the Cold Wallet

Two months ago I posted Power Down Started which I am sure most people missed/ignored. It's pretty easy to look at @c0ff33a and see my account is powering down and think - why support a Witness who is powering down? As stated in that post - I'm actually just moving my staked Hive to an account that I will only use to delegate that staked Hive back. Since 2017 my keys for @c0ff33a have been added to so many dapps, services, into servers for my Witness and price feed - they are all over and that's a huge security risk. Once I went past Orca and over 60,000 Hive the real world value of my stake became a big investment - and it is way too easy on an active account where you are constantly logging into many services to make an mistake with your keys. Moving the majority of my staked Hive into an account I do not use ensures if the worst happens and someone get's the keys to my main account - they will not be able to gain my full stake, or even part of it until I can recover the account. Nobody wants to think about the worst happening, but I think it is far better to act now and lock the stable door before the Horse Bolts.

Screenshot 20200813 at 22.40.37.png

As you can see I'm still holding Orca despite Powering Down because once the Hive is received to my cold wallet I'm delegating it back to @c0ff33a

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

We run four Hive servers, two Witness Servers, Hivemind Instance, Full Account History Node, FAT Node
https://api.c0ff33a.uk our full API server to use with your dapps and front end
https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk Our own condenser front end, exclusively using our own API server to access the Hive Blockchain.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @brosino , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Brosino Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain.

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

The Coffee Break Discord Voice Chat Show, in @thealliance Mondays 10pm UTC hosted by @c0ff33a and @enginewitty

Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Vote for my Witness

Sort:  

I can re-HIVE this for you mate, you need some big lads to move you up some spaces. You know you have had vote forever. Thanks for organising the meetup, whoever comes and what numbers.. it will be fun.

Thank you so much, it has been slow and steady progress for me since 2017 but much of what we do is not for the immediate gain - it's to grown the concept and then the rewards will follow. Whatever happens September 19th will be a legendary day - for the few of us that are there!

Even though I have a small stake I'm actually tempted to put my HP into a cold wallet as £700 is actually a lot of money for me. :D

Now I just need to get another account. Guess I can do hiveonboard and then reset keys straight away or something.

£700 is a lot of money to me too! Ideally if you have enough RC to create accounts yourself that is the best, otherwise I agree with with hiveonboard and then reset the keys before you start moving funds into the account.

Unfortunately I've already made an account on hiveonboard so can't get past the phone verification anymore.

I'm still a fair ways from being able to make account tokens.

Tough for me to judge on the status of the witnesses as I don’t know majority of who they are and what they are about but what I can safely say is that in my short time here I have been welcomed by yourself.

You have managed to do what a lot of witnesses could only dream of and arrange a meet-up.

You have taking your time and took an idea #threefunnyfactsaboutme then injected that back to the community with reward.

You have created a community with #hiveuk and reward members for being apart of it.

AND!!

You did all that through the tough times of 2020.

Let us the community now do something for you. Let’s brainstorm together and see what ideas people have to give back to helping you out.
Something we could look at during the meet-up.

Keep on moving forward and the votes will come.

04AA1148-072D-48B2-B824-0C1DB9B96ABF.png

Thank you so much for your kind words, I've been enjoying this hobby since 2017 and it has pretty much become on obsession...although with all the struggle Coronavirus has brought I have no time left now to comment as I used to - but priority has to be the business as that pays the bills - I can't be everywhere at once much as I would like to.

I'm sure that September 19th will be a great day for all of you that attend - mostly you will get the benefit of being all together to come up with new ideas - I'm just providing the venue and some drinks and snacks.

It would be great to see a bit of a return on what I have invested in the blockchain - but I'm also well aware you don't invest in something unless you can comfortably loose what you put in - it's been a fun adventure and I enjoy the community side, meeting new people from around the world and just hanging out and having fun and a good time - that's priceless.

You've got my vote. I'd love to see you in the top 20. I really like that, as a witness, you use a real profile pic, you make vlogs, and basically you are you.

Not many witness actually "use Hive" for blogging, but you are an exception to the the rule. I must say I feel a lot more comfortable voting for you as a witness because of your accountability and genuine interactions on this blockchain.

Thank you for your kind words, I have always thought the social blogging side of Hive should be sharing ourselves. But as a Blockchain we have so many options to use and enjoy Hive, from simply buying and holding the Token as an investment, to enjoying the dapps and games whether you collect @splinterlands cards, build a city in @dcity or battle in @holybread

It’s the versatility of the Hive blockchain that makes it so enjoyable, and of course part of that is the amazing people we meet through it.

True words, I know nothing about the gaming side of Hive, but know enough to be aware how much value that side of the chain brings. Versatility, like you said.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Well thank you very much, I keep an eye on all my votes and although it's impractical to thank everyone I try to keep track and follow my voters - it works both ways and every vote I receive to me is a show of appreciation of the effort I put in to support and grown the Hive Blockchain.