My Hive witness node crashed

in #witness4 years ago

Copy of witness update 13.png

Just to let everyone know that I have temporarily disabled my Hive witness as my hived has crashed due to some unexpected errors. Here is what it threw up in my logs:

Screenshot 2020-03-30 at 10.12.04 PM.png

I don't understand exactly what happened but it seems that some get_account_history API call triggered a segmentation fault. Tried to restart hived, turns out that I have to replay.

Screenshot 2020-03-30 at 10.11.41 PM.png

This could also be the reason why many Hive API nodes crashed a few hours ago, so I could not get this post out on time. From here, it will take another 4 days to replay to get the witness back up. I currently do not have a backup block producer node, given my current ranking I could not justify paying for one sadly.