Witness Update - @themarkymark

in #witness6 years ago


Hi Steemit!

Critical Patches

Been a lot of witness related activity since my last update. We have had two critical patches 0.19.11 and now 0.19.12 both of which I have updated to within 20 minutes and 10 minutes. Both updates, fortunately, did not require a replay (4-8 hours+).

Account Creation Fee

I have changed my Steem account creation fee from 0.100 STEEM to 0.200. Keep in mind this fee is multiplied by 30 when Steem is used to create an account. At 0.100 Steem the fee would be 3 Steem (current fee) and is the consensus decides 0.200 is best it would be 6 Steem to create a new account. This puts the account creation fee around $5.22, which I feel is a reasonable number.

SBD Peg

SBD is now around $1, I say around $1 not pegged to $1. I believe SBD is still free from its peg and is only around $1 due to the decline in price for Steem. If Steem raises over $1 I believe SBD will follow a ways behind until something is done about the peg.

SBD Print Rate

You may have noticed SBD print rate is now 0%, meaning you will receive 100% Steem for your SBD liquid portion of post rewards. I wrote a detailed post about this you may find interesting to read if you want to know more.

Blacklist

I have released the first iteration of the Global Blacklist API which currently supports @buildawhale, SteemCleaners, and MinnowBooster blacklist all from one call. You can find out more about the project and how to use it here. This will allow projects and services to easily query multiple blacklists to minimize spam and abuse across all Steem related services.

Witness Participation

I am still extremely active and passionate about Steem and the community. I devote a lot of time talking with witnesses and helping out other community members. I am active in multiple witness channels and maintain three witness servers in three countries despite the fact I am far from a top 20 witness.

AppBase

My witness nodes are running Appbase 0.19.1x branch, which I believe is important as the future is Appbase and the more witnesses running it the more issues we can work out before we are 100% Appbase. Appbase branch also gives the community unlimited post/comment editing instead of just 7 days. As of right now half of the top 20 witnesses run 0.19.1x, not enough to enable the change to unlimited comment editing. There still needs to be an update to the condenser (Steemit.com front-end interface) to support this change in the UI, which I do not believe has been rolled out yet. Out of the top 20 witnesses, 32 run the Appbase branch (0.19.1x) for their producing witnesses.

I have also updated one of our full nodes to Appbase which is available immediately.

Live Curation

If you have not participated, I have been doing a weekly live curation where I give away $2-6 votes to viewers who join my Live Curation Dlive sessions. I typically have around 30-45 visitors and curate around 20+ posts live. I also spend a lot of time talking about Steem and answering questions. My latest session I got a bit emotional about the current state of the community, and suggest watching the relay to find out why. I have another one coming up really soon (tomorrow?).

Steemit Inc Faucet Abuse

I have been frequently submitting abusers to the Redeemer-Irredemables project. This project removes Steemit Inc delegation from users who break the Terms of Service (TOS) rules. The #1 offender is @camillesteemer with his Steemit Defense League. There are currently 129 accounts I have had their delegation removed and a few more in the queue for pending removal. I plan to submit a new pull request on a weekly basis to remove new accounts as they come up. While 15 SP is only enough to flag 1/10th of a cent, it has caused a lot of confusion and frustration among lower SP users.

Abuse and Anti-Spam

A large portion of my time is spent combating abuse and fraud. The recent blacklist API should allow more projects to benefit from these efforts with less effort.

Price

The current price of Steem is around $0.87. While this is discouraging, remember the entire market is in the tank and Steem is following the downward trend of Bitcoin like all alt-coins. I am confident we will see a day where we have $5 Steem and potentially even $10 Steem, it will take time though and will not happen overnight. There is a good chance Steem will go even lower, potentially to $0.80 or even lower, but there is even a better chance Steem will be much higher within the next 6 - 12 months. If you think long term, this is nothing to worry about and if you continue as if the price hasn't and continue to produce quality content and engage with the community to build new relationships, you will come out ahead in the end.

And now for something completely different

I always like to end my witness updates with something completely off the rails.

I have been watching a new show (which is strictly on YouTube) with my son that he loves. It is called Brave Wilderness and it is really good. The host has the charisma of Steve Irwin and even more fearless. He has sought out the most painful stinging creatures and purposely taken a sting from them to show people how it affects the human body and rate which are the worst. At the top of the Insect Pain Sting Index as he calls it is the Bullet Ant. You can watch the episode below, and I highly suggest you do.




X48EJ

Why you should vote me as witness

Witness & Administrator of four full nodes

Active, Present, Passionate

My recent popular posts

STEEM, STEEM Power, Vests, and Steem Dollars. wtf is this shit?
The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  

Thanks for the update! I'm still optimistic on Steemit's future, especially with the announcement of HF20 in September and SMTs early next year. The crypto market will eventually recover and continue to become more and more vital in the global economy. In the meantime, it's good to have an outlet for creativity/productivity so that we're not just twiddling our thumbs but participating actively in building the future of blockchain.

Great update, you are a busy witness.

You are not that far from the top 20 witnesses, you got one more vote.

I must check out that show it sounds good.

Thanks :)

Awesome Mark. Keep doing what you're doing man.

awesome

Great

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Dude, I don't know why you are not higher up on the witness list, to be honest. I guess I don't know what else those others do. What I do know is you seem to always be doing something good for steem (oh, and playing fortnight), so thanks for that!
On the different, I want to click that video but I don't think I could actually watch it happen!!!!!

@freedom uses @pumpkin as a witness voting proxy. @pumpkin is not currently voting for @themarkymark. Most of the top 20 have the @pumpkin vote. There are a few exceptions such as @blocktrades and @clayop.

##Congrats here for a new update
We are grateful to you for giving new updates.We want to get all the new updates.We congratulate you for all your work

Milestone.keep it on

What is the Blacklist API? I need it!

It is for services using the Steem blockchain to identify bad actors.

Good information you shared, Its a great knowledge updates for the steemians.

This is the best information about steemit. How to create , how to use, and how we blacklisted. Thanks @themarkymark

Posted using Partiko Android

great work Mark!!! the blacklist API is super ninja... i had no idea you were working such a thing, but awesome...

"Steemit Defense League. There are currently 129 accounts I have had their delegation removed and a few more in the queue for pending removal. "

Sounds about right from what I've seen on Microworkers of people buying accounts. There are several people buying accounts it looks like, but the others are smarter.

As for other things youve mentioned, I noticed the lack of SBD payouts quite quickly, and it's interesting to see how people respond. I know some of the giveaway games I participate in have switched to sending rewards out in Steem rather than SBD, which in some ways is better. The platform seems pretty usable without SBD really.

Wonderful post.

thanks for good information which helps out in some sort to get into steem

Great job man. Always on top of changes ;)

So who was asleep at the wheel early in the a.m. yesterday? I kept getting these messages off and on for like two hours when I tried to post or vote. I looked up what it meant and it said something to the effect that the signature couldn't be verified because part of the transaction was on one block chain while the other part on another.

A completely different thing:
Why do you look like Richard Castle from the TV series "Castle "?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for sharing Mark, I appreciate it. This is what I was talking about in my previous post. Witnesses who actually cares enough to provide users with updates.

great article and video is nice

End of payouts in SBD, that's great news. I'm hoping that it will be easier to peg now that it's supply is stable. I disagree with SBD being used for payouts. It was just a matter of time before the supply was going to get this high anyway.

Another problem was that people were paying for bid-bot upvotes. That meant the SBD was landing in the hands of those delegating to bots. @freedom has 950k in SBD; if SBD is not pegged he is not selling.

Another thing, 100% payout in Steem Power should be the same as the 50/50 split.

My kids have been watching this guy also. Quite a quirky fella, always leaves you wondering what will he get bitten by next lol.

Wow great update @themarkymark ,glad to be following you and will be looking out for your next DLive curation post,sounds really good I had a spot recently open up for witness so I added you as my 30 th. Keep up the great work👌😊✌️👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

news here and still learning and thank you

Ha, smashing. Brave Wilderness for me!

Appbase branch also gives the community unlimited post/comment editing instead of just 7 days.

Very cool, I have been occasionally frustrated by the inability to do that. How do I access your account creation tool?

I do not have an account creation tool. You can use SteemConnect

my bad, is "Account Creation Fee" a witness thing?

The Steem blockchain has an adjustable parameter (set by witness consensus) on what the new account creation fee should be. It is currently set to 0.100 Steem, which is then multiplied by 30 to come with the pure Steem account creation option (3 Steem currently).

I propose to set it to 0.200 which would set the Steem purchase option to be 6 Steem (closer to $5 target).

theoretically that should result in half as many puppets, trolls and bots right?

Nah, not likely. They manage to find a way.

If you think long term, this is nothing to worry about and if you continue as if the price hasn't and continue to produce quality content and engage with the community to build new relationships, you will come out ahead in the end.

preach-it-steem

Appbase branch also gives the community unlimited post/comment editing instead of just 7 days.

Great news if not a year or two too late!

Will it also sort out the awful state of tags? It would be nice if somebody could search a tag and get content over 7 days old, or not to be told that there is no such tag just because the content put on there was over a week ago.

SBD is now around $1, I say around $1 not pegged to $1. I believe SBD is still free from its peg and is only around $1 due to the decline in price for Steem. If Steem raises over $1 I believe SBD will follow a ways behind until something is done about the peg.

So I'm guessing the whole 'witness-crashing-SBD-price-to-get-back-to-peg-price' was a complete and utter waste of time, and detrimental to the currency.

Well that's a surprise;

not.

Thanks for the update man, still rootin' for ya :-)

Cg

I am looking forward to be proven wrong in seeing SBD remain at the peg when Steem turns around. I think there are those who prefer pegged currencies for commerce. I have a new app in mind but using Steem Dollars is not my first option for a pegged asset. I plan to support up to five fixed currencies.

I agree SBD should be pegged or it becomes useless, I just don't think it is.

Solid witness update. Thanks @themarkymark

@themarkymark.
Thanks for keeping us abreast with your post as to whats happening in steemit. There is still a lot of value in the blockchain technology and I have full faith in the Steemit blockchain and it is only a matter of time when we will witness consolidation in the price of these currencies and the eventual up move towards the earlier tops made by these currencies.
Till then be patient and start investing for the long term.

@themarkymark Thank you for the update.

Surely steem will be on moon soon. There are so many projects running on steemit and many more to come. Still I don't see any project got sucess like steemit. So I am sure $5 is not far.

Posted using Partiko Android

@themarkymark Great info! Looking forward to checking out your live curation :) Steem on

cooooooooool

Good Job! Man!

If you are truly part of this platform, you might see the value in this post:

https://steemit.com/steem/@intelliguy/timcliff-asked-what-would-you-say-to-a-potential-investor-of-steem

I await your decision on how to handle it.

Congratulations @themarkymark!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 4 with $ 200,34

Go mark! Voting for you and following. Happy Friday.

Thanks ;)

we are @newschannel428 ok and we have learned our lesson and we will never attack any robot or person again and we will never , never, again down vote any robot or person every again , and also for everyone else to know we share our youtube videos from our youtube channel to steem we are on many platforms and under every video we upload to our youtube channel is a link to our steem channel please remove our channel from the black list

great work, i'm sure that you will do the best for steemit communities

I juat noticed coinmarketcap has STEEM at $1.02. Was that an illusion?

Todays #steemmonsters card:
Screenshot_20180817-211625.png

one of the Korean exchange pairing steem to won but donno why its seem being counted into the aveg steem price in usd

(Posted with Vapor, available for iOS and Android)

learned more knowledge points about steemit today from your post especially related to the comment's editing limitation which I didn't aware of it at all. bravo and will go to vote u as witness now :-)

(Posted with Vapor, available for iOS and Android)

I love your hustle mate! How much content you put out is amazing. Keep going. Love from Germany! PS Just upvoted and started following you :D

So are you associated with @blacklist-a ? Is this the blacklist I'm now on this global blacklist?

No, it is something that was created in the early days of Steemit. It's kind of shrouded in mystery but have some theories.

Welcome partner to the steemit community, I hope you grow up and best wishes.

If you are voting for themarkymark you need to stop immediately!!! THis man is single handledly trying to destroy our community!!!!