The Three Rules of Wizardry - Essay 1 of #WizardSchoolWork

Today, I'm happy to be sharing with you the first full essay for my classes at the Grey School of Wizardry! This is for my Wizardry 100 class (one of the first prerequisites for unlocking the full course catalog), which is obviously on the basics of becoming a wizard. The class is called Becoming an Apprentice, and this essay is on the Three Rules of Wizardry, as laid out by Oberon Zell Ravenheart and the Grey Council, in the Grimoire for the Apprentice Wizard.



Rule #1 - A Wizard Takes Responsibility And Credit For Their Actions.

Rule #2 - A Wizard Understands That Reputation is Power.

Rule #3 - A Wizard Knows That With Great Responsibility Comes Great Power, And With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility.



This lesson on what it is to be a Wizard, and specifically the 3 rules of Wizardry, has felt the most exciting & connecting of the things I’ve done since joining the GSW. The focus on a Wizard’s role in finding, activating, empowering heroes out in the world feels so resonant with how I’ve lived my life for years.

I had this long time vision of myself not so much as one of the heroes out on the front line, but as Alfred, as the sage, the vizier… The Wizard. The one holding space, tracking the big picture and all the moving parts, offering support, reflection & insight to all of these heroes going out and doing battle in the world. In this story, the heroes carry microphones & guitars, they wield shovels & rakes, they write books & make videos.

And what has been the key to my “power” over these years? Why have I been able to connect with many of the greatest minds, voices, farmers, and healers of our time? Because I walk the world practicing Radical Transparency, sharing my story with the world, constantly taking responsibility and credit for my journey. From addiction & depression, through the corporate world, out the other side to life as a Free-Range Sovereign Being, healing myself and others through acceptance, forgiveness, and Total Responsibility, as I would roughly translate the Hawaiian concept Ho'oponopono to mean.

I’ve been able to easily manifest this life of total freedom, abundance, connection, and magical experiences by acknowledging my role as the co-creator of my whole experience, everything out in the world around me, and understanding that my “power,” my ability to create change outside of myself, lies almost exclusively in my ability to change myself. To change my actions, words, and thoughts; by changing my own frequency. By taking responsibility for my life at the most foundational levels - I have been able to completely re-write the story being told, and live a life that is as exciting as the fiction I grew up on.

To hear the focus on a Wizard’s role in finding heroes, in empowering their community to walk their Personal Legends, left a powerful feeling of alignment, of right place at the right time.

The first rule: “A Wizard Takes Responsibility And Credit For Their Actions,” is so foundational, regardless of whether one is a Wizard, or not. As soon as we make the choice to take responsibility for our Being, and its impact on the world around us (whether judged to be negative, positive, or something else), we take back our personal AUTHORity. We begin writing our own story, and can give up any victimhood stories we may have been following until that point. As powerful as taking responsibility for our life is personally, it only becomes moreso as we share that journey with others, letting them see our growth, healing, and improvement, our consistency and our willingness to change and learn from our experiences. This builds our reputation, which offers a perfect segue to the second rule of Wizardry.

“A Wizard Understands That Reputation is Power.” Because of my reputation, because of the trust, the faith, and the respect I have built with people, they listen to my advice. They heed my warnings, they follow my inspiration & excitement about new projects, they trust me when I share my thoughts on their current situations in life. They reach out to me when they have a difficult moral decision, or when they are stuck on some challenge, be it mental or physical. So much of the impact I’ve been able to have on the world has been due to the fact that my word carries some power with them because of the stories about me that they know, whether firsthand or through word of mouth.

If the stories that preceded me were about someone who doesn’t follow through, who offers poor advice, who decreases the energy of those around him, then I would not have so many doorways open to me all the time. Instead of floating as I desire between gatherings, communities, and the households of humans making great change in the world… I would not be having nearly as enjoyable a time… and I probably never would have found my way into a school of Wizardry.

The third rule of Wizardry states that “A Wizard Knows That With Great Responsibility Comes Great Power, And With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility.” Taking responsibility is necessary to align ourselves with Truth and the present moment. Stories about things “happening to me” and not having agency in my own life are guaranteed to leave me feeling powerless, and we each show up in the world as the character that we believe we are.

The fact that each action we take can have so much power to ripple out into the universe and affect others, this realizing the power behind a smile or a snarl, carries with it a great weight of responsibility. Realizing that this power to affect change is so inherent in us as human beings, it becomes so clear that the biggest issue facing our societies is the lack of personal responsibility, the spell of authority that has been cast over most people. Each of us who remembers our inherent power to influence reality have an even higher calling to take responsibility for our lives & impacts - and share that with the world. Empowering those in our communities to take back their own power & responsibility.

It is so interesting that what makes “fictional” Wizards like Gandalf, Elminster, Sparrowhawk, Belgarath, Elric, and others so powerful is all in the telling of their stories. In their reputation. Their power is also a selfless power. As characters in the written form, they offer endless inspiration, joy, and connection to others, while expecting nothing in return.

The 3 rules of Wizardry. But are they truly “rules?” A wizard “takes responsibility…,” “understands reputation…,” “knows that…'' It seems to me that these could be taken more as 3 definitions of a Wizard. Three ways of being, that show themselves in Wizards.

One who lives by these three rules, I would say is living a most Wizardly life.

Works Cited:

Coelho, Paulo. The Alchemist. HarperSanFrancisco, 1998.
Kingsley, Nicholas. "Wizardry 100: Becoming an Apprentice."
Vitale, Joe, and Ihaleakala Hew Len. Zero Limits: The Secret Hawaiian System for Wealth, Health, Peace, and More. Wiley, 2008
Zell-Ravenheart, Oberon. Grimoire for the Apprentice Wizard. New Page Books, 2009.



The Response & Input

I'm leaving this here as a placeholder, and once the paper is graded & I get feedback, I will make notes here, and perhaps tweak the original post. Thanks for reading!



My Social Medias

Blog: https://peakd.com/@kennyskitchen
Videos: https://odysee.com/@kennyskitchen:9
Telegram Channel: https://t.me/kennysfeed

My Referral Link for LBRY/Odysee

https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@kennyskitchen:9



bipcot.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this. It's interesting to share the experience of wizard school, and also uplifting to see this truth affirmed: we are the creators. And taking responsibility for our creation, leaves no one to hate, no one to fear, no one to fight. This is a message of empowerment and peace. I think to see the world as our creation removes all boundaries and allows love to encompass the world; in other words, it allows us to love the world. I suppose it would be possible to practice a kind of self-loathing, to hate the world we have created. But to truly know our power to create, makes the present manifestation kind of irrelevant. Why waste time or energy hating what is, when we have limitless power to create anew? Why struggle with others over what they are up to, when I am the creator? ... I still haven't figured out how collective consciousness and individual consciousness works when it comes to creating the world. Is the world I see solely my creation? Or a product of the collective consciousness? Perhaps to love means to be aligned with, to be one with, the collective consciousness, so that there is no difference between my consciousness and our consciousness. Yet somehow I am still a filter of the whole, a unique prism of the divine light. We blend to oneness, and at the same time, it is impossible for any one consciousness to be outside of collective consciousness. And so every single human act -- originating in collective consciousness, filtering through individual thought/belief/understanding to choice and moving out to the world -- is a part of collective consciousness, is a part of God. And my responsibility, as a part that is one with the whole?


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io