The first sentence

in #work2 years ago

pexels-pixabay-268349.jpg

Trying to write the first sentence.

Ironically, that was both the first sentence that I actually made myself write and also the main idea of this short article.

You see, lately I've been talking about the fact that I got a bit lazy and I decided to choose present pleasure to the detriment of the future. I just made it sound way worse than it actually is, but the short version is this: I chose to write and post every single day, instead of writing multiple articles when I have enough free time so that I don't have to spend 20-30 minutes every day on this activity in my very limited free time.

This made things quite chaotic for me. This choice made things "fun" temporarily, and quite annoying every single day when I had to choose to work on these articles rather than enjoy my breaks with a bit of music, reading, or just another type of work.

With that in mind I decided to try to change back to the way I used to do things and to sacrifice the "now", or at least part of it, for the future. I will try, like I did in the past, to write multiple articles a day, or, specifically, on Mondays since that's my only free day of the week, so that my only task regarding my daily posting revolves around just that - posting - and nothing else.

This can be a bit difficult for a number of reasons.

First, writing 6 or 7 articles in a single day requires quite a lot of ideas. If I am unprepared, uninspired or in a creative block, I might end up spending hours trying to think of a decent topic to write.

Second, I am and will not always be in the mood to write. Making the decision to sacrifice 2 hours of my free time to write a bunch of articles will not be very pleasant, especially if I'm tired or annoyed. That will require discipline and a few changes in the way I do things.

In order to solve these two problems I will try to do exactly what I did here: to write a single sentence and see where that gets me.

That sentence might or might not be related to an idea. It can simply be something random. But its presence should, in theory, make it easier for me to write. Will this work? I have no idea. What I do know is that I need to change the way I write and post content, if I want to be able to make it to November. Aside from my limited time I have a few things that I want to do once the season ends, and those things will require planning, something I simply don't have the time or energy for.

So, I must go back to my former strategy - writing multiple articles in advance and posting them throughout the week. To help me with that, I'll try to force myself, and my creativity, by writing once sentence and then beginning to build an article from there.

I'll let you know how this turns out!