Downside of a Short Commute to Work...

in #work2 years ago

Corian_-Menai_Science_Park_low6.jpeg

These days I head into the office approx three days per week. I am lucky in that my commute to work is only roughly 9 minutes. All is good.

But there is one downside...

I miss having time to listen to podcasts and audiobooks. And having time to 'just think'. I used to do this during my previous (long) commutes.

When I was working in Manchester, I had a commute of roughly 1hr+ each way. Every day. So I used to get through tons of podcasts and audiobooks - education and entertainment 'on the go.' Back in Leeds, it was a 30min+ train journey. So a similar audio bonanza...

When I wasn't listening, I was reflecting and thinking.
Planning, strategising. Time out.

Today, a 9 min commute is about enough time to get through the intros and ads pitches on most podcasts 🙄!

I suppose there are bigger problems in the world. It's just a reminder that we need to make time for ourselves amongst the everyday hustle and bustle...

Sort:  

Hi @stevelivingston,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am