Consistent Hobby

in #writing4 years ago

         When the stay home directive happened in Utah, I found myself spending more time around the house. Most of it was cleaning. I was fortunate enough that my employment was not affected. Around the same time, I decided to spend more time writing posts on Hive. I attempted to write a post a day, though not with perfection. That was back in mid-March.

         Several months later, I found myself continuing that habit. The rewards were great! Well, not bad for a hobby. The more important thing was that there were actually some engagement. It feels bad to be on a social platform and no one is interacting with each other.

         The quarantine many faced might have contributed to more interactions. Nevertheless, I appreciate everyone who come and drop off a comment or two on each of my posts! Having peeps like @bozz drop by on a consistent basis makes posting seem worthwhile.

         While on the subject of writing, I've become impressed with how some people could write daily. Not only that, but with consistency and not shitposting all over. When I look at folks like @tarazkp, @themarkymark, or @taskmaster4450, I see dedication.

         Throughout this recent journey, I never lacked ideas to what to write about. Most of my writer's block came from articulating my thoughts, as well as time constraints. I'm generally not a fan of long content, so I avoid writing long posts about anything. I've found content around 300-500 words easiest to consume and digest. Photos and videos aren't subject to my lack of attention span compared to text.

         Of course, after several months, I'm starting to feel a bit of a burn out. Lucky for me, it's not like Hive would disappear tomorrow. I could also find ways to be more efficient with my time here. You know what would be a great way to start? Actually using the schedule function on @peakd. That way, I could consolidate my time and have days where I could dedicate to writing and put it on semi-auto.

         One more step to become more immersed in the ecosystem, am I right?

Sort:  

You're absolutely right about this @enforcer48! i wish i could also be as consistent with my articles as you guys!. I've Been occupied with a few things though! But with this i am definitely motivated to give consistent writing a shot! And i feel your suggested step will definitely go a long way to make sure your time is efficiently spent!

Just don’t force yourself too hard.

lol!. i definitely will have that in mind. thanks

Mhmhmh @kingscrown seems to disagree

Meh. His opinion is irrelevant.

I was thinking of using that option too, lately I don't really have time to write articles as I would like, and being able to prepare them beforehand and program them could be an excellent solution.
(nice curation reward)

My curation isn't that great. I hover around 10% APR, but I'm not optimising.

Articulating

Thats my biggest problem. Since english isn't my native language, I sometimes get lost and lose my train of thought xD

I post actifit daily tho :D

Does Actifit even count as a post?

I guess some people do go into details with them.

Well. Some actifit does.
Mine doesn't.
I dont do anything interesting currently, I have vacation and cant really travel, so I do nothing, so no my actifit posts is not interesting xD

I thought I was going to spend more time on Hive with the stay at home order. It turned out that wasn't the case. I try my best to do what I can to engage with others. I feel like that has fallen off across the board though.

We can only do what we can. Kinda do wish we had more users.

I've tried three, four times to get the seven day author badge, somehow it never works out and something falls out of line. Last time I was so sure as the days followed in order until the seventh day then day three disappeared...lol, I give up then as I get discouraged. If I can't make it seven thirty seems like impossible. lol.

I don’t even try to get those. Seems like too much commitment.

It really is too, lol. I do get a lot of ideas to write about then for whatever reason I put them aside....that whatever really though is that blogging habit I have, I go online to write something but get distracted and next thing you know I am off blogging somewhere. Those ideas and pics I take to go with them start stacking up which sort of prompts or inspires me to give myself the challenge. The only end result so far is getting rid of stuff on my computer or making a permanent file to tuck some of the stuff away out of my way.

That sounds like a lot of work if you ever want to transcribe all the stacked up stuff into posts.

I posted on around 300 days last year and most of the time I liked it. It's a simple task to keep up with.
This year I'm going with 3~4 times a week and I like it, too. It gives me more time to focus on quality or the better ideas. It also gives me more time to focus on other things in life. For example 30min every day exercising is going to have a lot nore benefits for me than posting once a day. I only did take 3~4 times a week last year and swapped the two...

I'm still in the process of developing the discipline.

I enjoyed it, but there were a few days it felt like a routine chore or work. Avoid that at all costs by knowing when you need a break or switching things up. For me it helped to remind myself that I could get paid way more by taking up a part time job. Or I could just keep myself wntertained by focusing on another hobby.
Even now I help another blog post that is completely unrelated to mine and I find this refreshing.

Some good advices there.

unnamed.jpg

Shitpost is life.

Yeah that post scheduler would be an amazing way of staying on track, I may look at using that myself, thanks for the tip :)

I worked right through lockdown too but also decided to revisit my blockchain goals and have now found some consistency and as you say the rewards that come now have increased significantly. I go where the engagement is, if that makes sense. I have a sense around the community that I haven't felt in a long, long time right now.

I think that we, the people should take charge of the engagement and interaction side of things this time and not allow the same things that we have witnessed before begin to take hold.
Have an awesome weekend, great to see you finding your stride. Onwards and upwards :D

Thanks for stopping by! You have a good one as well.

It takes me around an hour to do one of mine; good use of my time? Not really..., I know I get a decent haul but I could get more by sticking MTG cards on sale, I still have thousands to jettison.

I find writing quite therapeutic, it needs to be done for more than the rewards.

Oh yeah, if we are going by strictly rewards, it’s not worth my hourly rate either.

I think that’s only a thing for us folks in “first world” though.

I got in time for Hive whenever I can. I found out when I forced myself to post daily I want too happy with what I put out. @splattts account is for those slam-bam throw together posts that I just want people to see. Either because it is funny or informative or just plain stupid. Lol

Welp back to the pool with the kids and their friends... better have a cold one first 😜

Yeah, when it becomes a chore, things tend to feel ugh even when reading it out loud to myself.

Enjoy your summer!

The temp is just getting into the 90’s so... let’s the sunburns begin. HAHAHA.

Got a fishing trip this weekend. Doing some salmon fishing with 2 axle f my brothers and my dad. The guide put it off for a week because the salmon weren’t running yet. It should be some good fishing.

Pics. We expect pics.

Damn those expectations....

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 comments. Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment