Long - Short goodbye

in #writing2 years ago

Standard image (4).png

The moment one gives close attention to any thing, even a blade of grass it becomes a mysterious, awesome, indescribably magnificent world in itself.

- Henry Miller -



I've been running a little concept for the last seventy seven weeks which gained a lot of engagement in the form of comments weekly. It was fun and I enjoyed the by-play and often very funny comment-threads a great deal.

A couple weeks ago I changed it into a post-prompt initiative to give people posting ideas for the weekend. I felt that a person posting something great, and adding some engagement on other people's posts in answer to my topics, would help people build their profiles and accounts much more effectively. You can see this week's post topics here.

It seems to be going ok but I noticed something today and felt inclined to bring it up in a short post.

Forty one word titles?

I saw several users had simply taken the text from my topic-prompts and used it as their post title. I'm not sure where this practice of long-worded titles began but have noticed it right across hive, especially with the bilingual posts. When it started happening on my #weekend-engagement and in my community THE WEEKEND I felt inclined to mention it.

The users have simply copied the topic question I wrote on the announcement post and pasted it into their title. It's a person's prerogative to do as they please of course, just as it is for me to have my opinions...And what is that opinion?

Well, I don't find titles like that very interesting or engaging. It's just way too much text. I find it a bit of a turn-off to be quite frank.

I speak only for myself here, this is my personal opinion only, and I don't intend my comments to be taken on-board by others as they are free to choose for themselves. My strategy on titles, in case anyone cares, is to try and make them engaging, a very short hook to capture attention and make people wonder what might come next. I'm not a writer though so I have no real clue I suppose. I just like my titles to be short, and accompanied with a reasonable image.

Five or six words maximum

A short punchy title, gives one the ability to get creative also as one must find something that relates to the text, a few words that sets the tone or theme of the post to come. It should draw interest, make people curious...You know, something interesting, not a paragraph of words that, for me, makes me want to move on without even clicking into the post.

Again, I want to stress the fact that this is just my personal opinion only - I am not a writer or media professional. Of course, one only needs to take a look at just about every title ever and one will see that shorter titles are the way to go. Less is more.

Long title - Short goodbye

If I see long titles, especially those long dual-language ones, I tend to move elsewhere without opening the post - again, that's just me - and when coupled with a poor image, blurry, dark, uninteresting, there's no hesitation to scroll onward and seek something more engaging. I really think people misunderstand what the title and main image is there for...It's there to capture interest and if it does not do that it matters not how good the post may be. Making up interesting titles is not rocket science - Present as best as you can. It seems logical.

Anyway, that's about it...A short post about long titles. I know many won't ready this, and probably not the people who really should but I feel a little better having written it.

I hope y'all have a good weekend and if you are looking for a post topic this weekend take a look at this week's post topics announcement - You have all weekend to get your entry in and a good chance at some additional curation and some hive in prizes.


Today's tips:

  1. Shorter and more creative post titles
  2. In-focus and interesting images

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

The image is mine, not yours

Sort:  

You know, something interesting, not a paragraph of words that, for me, makes me want to move on without even clicking into the post.

Sheesh! thank goodness I've not been the only one who have noticed. But the worse comes when you finally dares to click on these unpromising titles and confirm what you already suspected beforehand.

In any case, lately here, I am no longer relying on either the short titles or the long ones as guarantee of a good and inspiring reading. Too mediocre uniformity focused exclusively on finding easy upvotes from the usual suspects without an authentic soul behind the author to sustain the interest and curiosity of the dared thru the content that has been written.

For me it is already very clear that nowadays they do not care much if their content is read or not as long as they have secured the automated votes of their cronies and fortuitous maecenas. This has already gotten too boring. And trying to find quality content that you can really learn something new from, that instructs you, inspires you or entertains you is becoming truly useless. Holy crap!

I speak only for myself here, this is my personal opinion only, and I don't intend my comments to be taken on-board by others as they are free to choose for themselves.

Again, I want to stress the fact that this is just my personal opinion only

Yeah, in my opinion I think you have been too benevolent and diplomatic in your observation. };)

But the worse comes when you finally dares to click on these unpromising titles and confirm what you already suspected beforehand.

Indeed...Makes want to beat myself to a pulp for being so stupid.

I am no longer relying on either the short titles or the long ones as guarantee of a good and inspiring reading.

I don't think titles should ever be relied upon as a means to determine whether a post is good.

they do not care much if their content is read or not as long as they have secured the automated votes of their cronies and fortuitous maecenas.

Yep, exactly.

Yeah, in my opinion I think you have been too benevolent and diplomatic in your observation.

I try to be respectful because if I'm not I tend to go in the completely opposite direction and I can be...Umm...Well, I can be quite brutal.

I swear I will love to see you going brutal once in a while hahahaha. ;o)

Haha, I was afraid you'd say that...Back in the day I did a couple of posts and really let loose...I've mellowed since then. (Not really). 🤣

Oops, then it seems that I have finally found a lot of homework to entertain myself for a while during this weekend on the blockchain.

Don't worry, I promise I will find those couple of posts from before the mellowness for a good laugh as I've been wishing. LoL :)

Haha, ok well good luck, only a few thousand to go through. You'll need some snacks to keep you sustained.

Oh snacks! Yeah, that's a good idea. But since I am one with a sweet tooth, I think I will include a tray full of bombs so that with the extra sugar it will fuel better the stamina of my curiosity to finally find the treasure chest of laughter.

You can bet these sweet snacks will keep me fully sustained until I get back here reporting my new findings on Cyber Monday. ;)

Yeah dude I'm with you lol. The crazy long titles are annoying and my post for tonight was a longer title but it was hard to concisely put what I wanted.

I find it sad that there's just a lot of copy and paste for something. It's probably also the same with translate. They translate what you have to their language, figure it out and write it all in their language to just plop it in the translator to try and post it. I don't mind multiple languages but the execution of it is a bit much sometimes. Then there's the "nice post, love the place" type comments and it's amusing, got one today that had nothing to do with my post last night lol

I spend a good amount of time trying to come up with witty titles. I find it fun! Maybe I need another hobby lol

I knew you would be. Although each of us are individuals and there's no rules really, everyone can do as they please which is why I can totally ignore long-title posts and move on to vote something else.

Then there's the "nice post, love the place" type comments and it's amusing, got one today that had nothing to do with my post last night

There's one of those on this very post. A serial offender. Lol.

I've just read what titled that you mentioned here. And I couldn't agree more. For someone who has an experience in writing, title is hook up element that make people to read more of the content. I always try to make a catchy title for whole my writing instead of using the theme as a title.

So, I agree with your opinion. But, yeah, finally it's just personal opinion without to blame other people. Anyway, thanks @galenkp for the insight. Happy weekend!

Catchy titles are the best! You get it obviously. 😊

You're right, there's no blame on my part, I'm just pointing it out. I curate a lot and there's loads of people who miss out because of long and uncreative titles and poor images. They'll do what they do, as will I.

Thanks for your comment, it's very appreciated.

Totally agree man, short and snappy. A bit of thought can draw a person in. Giant titles put people off.

Yeah, it makes sense right? Then what's with all the long-aas titles. I don't get it. Blurry images too...Dafuq.

That's like a perfect storm!!! Funk dat shonk!

This is my next post title:

Funk dat shonk!

Actually not...Got me a click-bait title and image coming up in a few minutes. 🤪

I love a good click bait title, when you are drawn in and think aaaahh cheeky!! It's an art!

Lol...Stay tuned.

Writing rules are good. There are times to break them, but master them first so you know why they exist, and only then will you also know when they need to be set aside. Short and punchy titles are solid advice.

Short and punchy, now why didn't I use that phrase. No matter, it's here now thanks to you.

I don't want to single anyone out but a skim through the recent entries in my community will show it pretty clearly...And they're still coming in like that!

I don't get it...A bit of follow the leader going on in particular parts of the world.

Well, I haven't felt the muses inspiring me of late, but maybe I will give your prompts a try soon anyway?

That would be cool, I'd like you to as more variety of entrants would be most welcome.

I have a title for you:

Hey here's my first go at the weekend-engagement post topic for the weekend in the weekend community for the weekend, on the weekend so here it is, this weekend - I like the weekend on the weekend because it's not the weekend unless it's the weekend.

Maybe not exactly that, but something similar would fit right in.

😕

This is my entry in @galenkp's weekend writing prompt in #theweekend for this weekend, and I was inspired to this weekend on inspiration because this weekend in The Weekend the prompt is #inspiration so this is how I was inspired....

How's that?

You won already and I haven't even read the post!

Ten points for creativity for tagging me too - Everyone knows that a simple tag like that is worth a 100% upvote. Now I mention it, maybe tag all the whales too, I'm sure they'll be pleased.

#winner

For anyone, other than Jacob, reading this comment - It's called sarcasm.

Well, I don't find titles like that very interesting or engaging. It's just way too much text. I find it a bit of a turn-off to be quite frank

I totally agree with this, been encountering posts with long titles. I personally would want it short yet crispy and something that's interesting enough for readers to be curious of what the whole article is all about. It could be difficult but it's something one can learn through time. 👌

Short and sweet is how a title should be. Catchy, and interesting, creative. Clearly you understand. 😉

I do get it but still struggling with keeping it short, 5-6 words as you mentioned. I hope my skills get better in time tho. Practice and more practice.

I guess to make it shorter you'll need to let go of the whole telling a story in the title thing. Pick out the core theme and add two or three words about it, similar to what I've done in this post. Practice will get it to where you want it.

Will keep this advice in mind. Thank you!

Hello @galenkp! Nice to 'meet' you. I agree, the extensive, wordy titles have become way too common. They often add information that drives away the attention of the readers, instead of hooking them. For example, the languages present in the post, or the contest/prompt they got the idea from. Elements that could be tacitly noticed or added in the body of the post, ideally. In some cases, this could be useful, but more often than not they are excessive.

I put special attention to the titles of my posts because I know from personal experience that I wouldn't read something that doesn't catch my eye. Lately, I've been developing a series and I've had to quote it on every post that belongs to it. Even though I'm not entirely happy with that, I still try to make the title as interesting and appropriate as possible, regarding the subject. Choosing the right cover image plays a lot into making readers want to read the content too, so it's something we can rely on when our titles must be wordy.

I hadn't heard about your weekly prompts initiative, will definitely look into it. It's great that you seek to help Hive bloggers improve their profiles and accounts. You say you are not a writer, but I really enjoyed your style, clarity, and conciseness.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this matter. See you soon!

P.S. I apologize for any possible error in my writing. English is not my first language and I still have a lot to learn.

Nice to meet you BW - A lovely user name by the way. ✅

Thanks for your comment, input and nice remarks about my writing. My post feed is full of all sorts of things including fiction so clearly I'm not afraid to dabble - I'm always happy to challenge myself as that's how I progress.

Anyway, you're right about the titles and I've nothing to add really, just my agreement. 😊

I took a look at your posts and will follow you as I like your style, it feels comfortable for lack of a better word.

I also invite you to the weekend topics any time. You can see the link to the latest one for this weekend in this post and there'll be another each Friday...Been that way for 77 weeks now. I'm actually looking forwaed to next week's topic as I think it'll be very cool. But I'm getting ahead of myself.

Thanks for your kind words and thoughts on long titles. Also, your text reads fine, no apology for your language needed.

I look forward to bumping into you some more. Happy weekend.

Sometimes the title seems the most difficult to me when making a publication. Of course, it's not always the case, some posts have a title before writing them. But I agree, long titles aren't compelling. I can do my posts in two languages, but sometimes I refrain from doing it, to don't have those huge titles that seem like a paragraph.

Titles can be tricky, that's true. If I get stuck I just use one or two words, keeps it simple, because I'm a simple man. 😊

Those long ones though, grind my gears. I ignore them mostly.

Still, each to their own; my little post here won't make any difference to those who do those long and annoying titles.

It may not make a difference, but some things that annoy us must be said just for our peace of mind ;)

Yes, indeed...And for me this one one such thing.

Great post boss, I guess in freeing our mind we must to say what's in our mind

Yes maybe, but that's not really what this post is about.

Baltasar Gracián is a Spanish writer from the XVII century, who wrote "Lo bueno, si breve, dos veces bueno" which can be translated by "anything good, if short, twice as good".
I guess your thinking about post titles could be resumed with that :)

Yes, that's a ni E way to put it. I mean, I know I wrote a lot of body-text in my posts but those long titles are just out of control. Imagine what the newspapers and media articles would look like it they did it. There would be no room for the body-text.

I know, the first rule of a title or headline is short and interesting enough to make you want to jump into the content, those long ones are doing just the opposite, plus, they look awful on peadk frontend, jajajaja

Correct on both counts...It's not a good look for the platform when people look externally...I know none of us are professional writers, but it's not hard to do a little research and determine a few key methods to write a better blog. I guess all we can do is not vote them though.

I think this is a great point Galen.

There are hundreds of posts and interesting content across the blockchain (and sadly, extreme opposites); Long titles, and low quality posts leaves everyone with the quick decision to skip and move on to a more interesting one.
Readability of title is the first important point to observe.

So your points are valid!

It's not a good look externally I guess. I'll be ignoring low quality posts and long titles on my community moving forward.

Ignoring low quality posts sounds approciate to me.
It's like the right method to the madness; If you should continue to respond to such posts, it would kind of indicate that madness is your method, something which I don't believe to be so :)

Indeed it does, I don't have time for them even when I have loads of time on my hands.

✊👍💯%

Multilingual titles being long at least make sense XP

I suspect the copying of the question in the title is twofold: firstly if you remember writing essays in school that's usually what ended up happening, and secondly on here if you're doing some of the contests and stuff that used to be popular you had to include either the topic or specific keywords in the title to make it easier to find or something.

make it easier to find or something.

Makes it easier to ignore.