Private Lies ...Part 15 ...Labyrinth of Longings

in #writing2 years ago



A rat in a maze is free to go anywhere,
as long as it stays inside the maze.
― Margaret Atwood




Camille_pissarro-the_cote_des_boeurs_at_l_hermitage_near_pontoise.jpg
Safe Haven



What Tom Turner told me about Haven really upset me. I had no reason to doubt him and to be honest, a lot of what he said made sense.

The school did seem to be enormously wealthy and the salary they were paying me was more than twice what I'd earn in a public high school.

But more than that, something intangible had pervaded the fundraiser at the Park Hotel―something dark and secretive hovering at the edge of my awareness but I was distracted by Lorraine and the subsequent falling out with Sylvia.

And now that I look back I can see there were clandestine conversations and a lot of high-placed government officials. It made me wonder what kinds of deals Dean Stirling was negotiating.



I had to put the whole business out of my mind so I could concentrate on teaching my first period class. I'd see Lorraine at lunch, I told myself, and would see what I could work out with her.

"You're taking me out to dinner again?" she smiled, "You seem to be enjoying the perks of your new salary."

"Actually, that's part of what I wanted to talk to you about, but I think it best we do that in private, away from school property."

Her eyes grew huge. "I don't get off until five―is that okay?"

I patted her hand reassuringly, "I've got lots to occupy me until then. But it's probably best we leave in separate cars and I'll follow you back to your place. Don't worry, I know it seems cloak and dagger, but it's necessary."



If my first day seemed to fly by in a flurry of activity, my second day seemed to be more akin to watching wallpaper peel. The hours and minutes dragged by until five, so much so, that I actually left early and spent the time sitting in the parking lot of Lorraine's apartment building.

But just past 530 pm, she parked in the space beside me. I motioned for her to go with me in my car.

I chose the outdoor patio at Turtle Jack's knowing the tables were spaced far apart and our conversation would be more private. On the way, I filled her in on what Tom Turner had told me and she wasn't at all surprised.

"I'm only a junior secretary but Evelyn, Dean Stirling's Admin Assistant, has shared some interesting things with me including details of Haven's financial statements. They were really shocking."



We broke off all discussion while waiting to be seated but once the waiter brought our drinks we resumed the conversation.

Lorraine leaned in close and whispered, "Evelyn worked for a big public school board ―she told me Haven's annual budget exceeded it by several million. The property, buildings and equipment are all paid for, and the property taxes are minimal because of its classification as a school."

I shook my head, "That's incredible!"

"Dean Stirling's more than the CEO―he's a partner along with the Headmaster, the Co-ordinators and Laird Fisher. Their wealth is staggering and they run the school year round, ostensibly to accommodate wealthy parents' schedules, but in reality so they can double the enrolment and rake in more money."



"Well, it's a gold mine for the partners," I told her, "but that doesn't make it illegal."

She nodded, "I agree, but there are other secret things going on. Evelyn and I both picked up on those vibes but we're out of the loop so we have no idea what the hidden operation involves. Tom Turner is right thoug―The Unholy Trinity as he calls them, rarely meet and when they do it's to put out some kind of fire."

"What does Evelyn think the 'fire' is?"

Lorraine glanced warily around the room to make sure we weren't being observed. "She says it involves lawsuits and big settlements. She can tell by the steady parade of lawyers and various briefs presented and papers served."



"Hmm, something scandalous no doubt―something that would involve a non-disclosure agreement to protect the school's reputation."

"But how would you go about finding information on that?" she asked.

I shrugged and leaned back in my chair, "I have no idea."

I had reached a dead end in the labyrinth and to tell the truth, I was scared. I longed to go home to my real safe Haven―my townhouse near the Bruce Trail where I could lose myself in its wilderness.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo