Replay ...Part 18 ...Hard Lessons

in #writing2 years ago



He knew women liked him, just as many actors
find their most ardent vein when they sense that
they have cast their spell over the audience
― Stefan Zweig




Sarah M.png
Teacher



It had been a long day. I hadn't slept at all the night before because I felt vulnerable after the break-in. Then, my lunch conversation with Paige made me think she was shielding me from some painful incident that happened around the time of my skiing accident.

I had gone back to my office intending to work but kept obsessing about what she might be hiding from me about my past. When I wasn't musing about it I was checking my phone each time I got a push notice from the software Simon installed.

It turned out the notices were simply an Amazon delivery and the postman delivering mail. Of course, I then had to check out each corner of my property and eavesdrop on every area inside my house ti reassure myself there were no intruders.

I didn't know what was more upsetting―fearing intruders or compulsively checking my property every time I got a notice from my apps. I'd have to ask Simon for some advice on how to handle this new angst.



Strangely, I didn't see much of Sylvia and my so-called freshman cheerleaders and to be honest, I found my day to be rather boring. It's a bad sign when you are trapped in an approach-avoidance situation where you want to avoid personal complications with students but end up missing being the centre of attention, or in Sylvia's case, the object of her flirtation.

Come to think of it, I should amend that latter point, because Sylvia's behaviour borders more on seduction.

Regardless, I didn't want to have another embarrassing conversation with Sarah about how I allowed the girl to blur the line between a student-teacher relationship to something that was too familiar and even romantic.



I Arrived home earlier than usual― just past five. I was feeling drained from the day and decided to order in. I settled on Lasagna, salad and toasted garlic bread from my local Italian restaurant.

I settled down in my den with a glass of wine only to realize I hadn't armed my security system. It automatically arms at eleven pm but Simon suggested I arm it whenever I'm home alone. I complied and felt an immediate sense of relief as the system indicated I was fully protected.

Strange how happiness suddenly becomes a warm hug from my security system. How did I ever live without this?



I lie back on the couch pillows and soon fall into a deep sleep. I immediately dream of Sylvia―she's in my office crying and I'm trying to comfort her. Next thing I know, Sarah is there and interrogating me about inappropriate behaviour and blurring across boundaries.

Alarm bells go off and I abruptly give a huge gasp as if surfacing from being submerged. I'm confused and panicked before I realize the delivery man is at the door and my alarm is sounding.

I squelch the alarm and make apologies to the young fellow startled by the unexpected wail of the siren. But all is well when I give him a generous tip.

I really have to get control of these devices, I reprimand myself as I plate my food. I switch from wine to ginger ale deciding I don't need intoxication, but the fact my mind automatically defaults to Sylvia is certainly not encouraging.



After eating, I actually feel more energized. I realize I hadn't really eaten much at lunch and my blood sugar must have been low.

I phone Simon to ask for advice about how to avoid being overwhelmed with notifications and he walks me through various settings and how to adjust the sensors.

"Just remember, Prof," he reassures me, "your property and devices are now fully protected but never answer a caller without first checking the cameras and use the speaker to converse without opening the door."

It was all good advice, but didn't do much to allay my one fear―finding myself alone with Sylvia. No security system with state of the art programming could guard against that―it was my responsibility.



I tried marking a few papers but the sleepless night before was taking its toll on me. I glanced at the clock―only nine pm, but I was bushed and decided to call it a night and turn in early.

Just as I was getting ready to arm the system, there was a knock on the door. I remembered to check the cameras and saw it was Sarah Morris. Be right there, the programmed quick reply message responded.

She was smirking as I answered the door. "Very fancy," she quipped, "almost as good as a maid."

"Yeah," I muttered, "as if I need another woman in my life."

"But you seem to make room for them," she parried, as she entered.



"Very funny," I sulked. "Want a coffee?"

"Sure," she smiled, "and a danish if you have one."

"Turns out I do―lucky you. Ross went to town eating the last batch, so I went out and bought more."

"Bet you figured I'd drop by and you'd be prepared."

"Something like that," I mumbled.

"You're such a player," she laughed.



Her remark stung and caught me off guard and I coloured with embarrassment.

She saw my discomfort and softened a little. "Look, I was a bit hard on you the other night, but I only said those things to protect you. A girl like Sylvia can wrap you around her little finger."

I could take being called a player, but not a wuss. "Don't worry, I can handle myself around women."

She was standing beside me and leaned in close, so close I could inhale her perfume. "That's what I was telling you," she drawled in a mock little girl voice, "you like women paying attention to you."



She was incredibly beautiful, especially up close when I could look directly into her huge dark eyes and detect the berry scent of her lipstick.

For a moment, I was intoxicated by her. She brushed a light kiss across my cheek and whispered, "See, players get played so easily, because their weakness is women."

I was gagged. I stared at her like a slack-jawed idiot and couldn't think of a come-back.

"I told you to keep Sylvia at arms length―maybe you need to avoid women altogether."

"Maybe I do," I conceded, feeling totally defeated.

"Naw, you're okay. I just wanted to show you how easy it was to manipulate you. At least with your security system no one will be stealing your secrets―unless of course, they charm them out of you,"



She sat down opposite me on the sofa chair and her eyes were dancing. She was enjoying herself and either I was too exhausted for repartee or I was no match for her...

Probably the latter, I mused, falling into self pity.

"So, where's my coffee?" she laughed.

"You know you're taking advantage of my exhaustion―I'm not usually this slow."

"I know, but I'm really taking full advantage of this teaching moment to show you how Sylvia will try to outwit you. Don't worry, Prof―you can use your charm to catch her off guard―it works both ways, you know,"

I grind my teeth in frustration. "It's not my first trip to the prom," I hiss.

"I know―I'm just playing with you, but showing you your weakness. I like you, Prof. I don't want you to get hurt."

The look in her eye was so sincere it disarmed me. Maybe I needed lessons in self-defence against women, or maybe I just liked her working hard to charm me.

Truth was, I was still vulnerable despite my state of the art security system...

But if she was willing to teach me, I was willing to learn.



To be continued…


© 2021, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Beautiful story, beautiful picture.