Young Again ...Part 11 …Enthralling

in #writinglast year



She was dark honey, smooth and sweet, and controlled the room with a gesture, a toss of her hair, while remaining still as the centre of a hurricane, aware of her force of gravity.
― Patrick Süskind




pe_business_beat.jpg
Britni Hill



It was hard to believe she was fifty and harder to understand why she wanted to look younger. She had a mature, refined beauty that drew men like a magnet and intimidated women.

Henry was obviously infatuated and Eve clearly jealous and I...well, I was fascinated, intrigued by how she managed to project the illusion of youth.

For a moment I thought I had nothing to offer―she was at the pinnacle of her career and her apex of attractiveness and then I remembered. What I saw was the mystique she carefully managed. She knew what everyone of a certain age recognizes―nothing lasts.

She came to me seeking the fountain of youth and even if I could sustain it for a decade, she'd be satisfied. But she hadn't fully comprehended―I could sustain it indefinitely. And it was at that moment I realized, as if for the first time, that we had this inner yearning within us for eternity and I could fulfill it.



And it was peculiar the way she was drawn to me, as if she saw a little boy peering out of my eyes, shy and uncertain. I think it was irresistible mainly because she could have anyone but chose to desire this man-child over whom she could wield power.

I'm not usually perceptive and have faulty intuitions about women, but I understood her because of being with Sage. It was a familiar feeling of powerlessness and I could feel myself slipping under her spell.

Of course the questions she asked had all been covered in the brochure, but that was the pretext so I could tarry longer in the glamour of her allure. It took all my willpower to resist striking at her lure.



"We have the awards ceremony tonight at seven, Britni," her manager reminded her, "we have to leave."

"Well, it was fascinating talking with you Doctor Connors―I'm sure we'll be seeing each other in the coming weeks."

"I'm sure we will talk again, Ms. Hill," I smiled bleakly, well aware of how dangerous she could be for me. I could feel Henry and Eve's eyes upon me watching my every move.



When she was gone, Henry was in awe. "You made quite an impression on her, Professor. I'm jealous―she is drop-dead gorgeous."

Eve was no longer bemused by Henry's evident admiration of Britni's beauty―she actually looked annoyed. I wisely kept silent and gave her a wide berth. I didn't want to aggravate her any more than she already was, but I had to say something.

"Well, we've had our Hollywood moment, " I sighed, "and frankly I'm exhausted. I'm looking forward to getting back to work tomorrow. Thankfully, that part's over for now."

"I suppose," Henry said wistfully.

But I saw Eve had relaxed a bit and felt relieved. Last thing I wanted was for her to think I had succumbed to Britni's charm...

Even though I had, that was not the impression I wanted her to have of me.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo