Young Again ...Part 14 …Flowers of Evil

in #writinglast year (edited)



The malicious have a dark happiness.
―Victor Hugo




obsidian-bouquet-of-black-roses-184964.webp
Dark Rage



The ice was broken with Eve. We spent a pleasant evening at The Wheat Sheaf, only cutting it short because it was a weekday night with an early start in the morning

When I got home though I was too keyed up to sleep, so I made a rum hot chocolate and curled up on the couch with a blanket, staring into the flames. It's amazing what thoughts come while relaxing in the comfort of food, fire and shelter―and it helps when rain ticks against the windows and a train horn sounds mournfully, somewhere off in the mist.

For some reason I thought of my parents and the nostalgia for home seeped into my bones. I was tired of living alone and wanted something more.



It's ironic―here I am, in the 21st century but may as well be back in ancient times holed up in a cave before a fire needing more than just physical warmth...

I'm longing for the presence of someone else. I wonder who that someone could be.

As I close my eyes and try to picture her my mind is filled with images of Eve and they linger all through the night and continue in dreams until the morning.

I actually oversleep and have to grab a takeout coffee and a bagel with cream cheese to eat on my drive to work. I wonder how it will be working with Eve today and if we'll be shy around each other.

We'll both probably be aware of Henry and try not to act differently around him.



Ironically, it turns out Eve has an early morning dental appointment and won't be in until eleven. So, It's just Henry and me working on compiling the latest Clinical Trial results to present to the University Council to keep them abreast of our progress.

I don't know if it's the compiling of statistics or the absence of Eve, but the morning seems interminable, About ten a.m. I need a break and inform Henry I'm going out to bring back coffee and donuts for both of us. His eyes light up.

"Thanks Prof," he smiles, "I especially like the chocolate yeast donuts if they have them."

"Already noted, my friend, and you like your coffee double-double. I pay attention to these details."

The truth was I was looking forward to seeing Eve and had to do something to distract myself.



When I returned, the first thing I noticed was the sombre look on Henry's normally cheery face.

"What's wrong?" I asked alarmed. "Did something happen while I was gone?"

Henry nodded soberly. "There was a florist delivery, but I knew right away, something was off. Valentine's Day is two weeks away and the girl delivering the flowers was dressed as a Goth, entirely in black."

I shook my head. "That's weird."

"The flowers were sent to you, Prof, but I've seen this delivery service before and it's not good news."

I stared at him, confused.

"I don't understand."

"You will when you open the box."



The box was a normal, white cardboard florist box but tied with a black ribbon. I tore it off and opened the lid to see a dozen black roses with a card affixed to them. The message on the card was short and simple.

Wish you were dead.

I couldn't believe it. I just stared at note expecting more but there was nothing.

"I'm sorry, Prof―I knew was it was, but it was sent to you and I had no right to refuse it. Obviously you pissed someone off."

"It's okay, Henry―I think I know who sent them. Just toss them in the garbage and if you don't mind, and don't say anything to Eve-―t would just upset her."

"Sure thing, Prof."

"I need to take a walk and clear my head."



I was shaking with rage and wanted to smash everything.

There was no doubt who sent the flowers―this was a new low even for Sage Meadows. She had always been an alpha bitch, but had never stooped to such cruel tactics.

My hands were balled into a fist and I was glad neither Eve nor I were present when the flowers arrived. I don't think I could have controlled my rage.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Thank you!