Young Again ...Part 5 …Noxious

in #writinglast year



Everything in our past relationship gave me pain. Whatever her tone with me happened to be, I could put no trust in it, build no hope on it; and yet I went on against trust and against hope. So, why repeat it again now, or for a thousand more times?
― Charles Dickens




sequestered.png
Sequestered



I was at a candlelit table with Sage but the atmosphere was far from romantic. I felt sequestered with a toxic woman who had enmeshed me in her venomous ways.

I felt trapped, although I was free to walk out at any time, except for one ominous word that haunted my mind―yet. She knew about some flaw in our project but hadn't informed Dean Edwards...yet.

It was her way to always be playing some glass bead game in a sinister quid pro quo, but what did she want this time? I had the sinking sensation the answer was me.

But I had no intention of being lured back into her web.



I decided to forsake being passive-aggressive and confront her directly.

"What exactly did you discover about the project that has you so concerned?"

"It's come to my attention that several people have complained about being rejected as candidates for your trial because of psychological profiling."

I took a deep breath―this was Henry's part of the project and involved screening for suitable candidates.

"We conducted randomized clinical trials but when it became apparent certain subjects might not be emotionally stable we took precautions, recognizing sudden life changes could precipitate a crisis in their lives."

She frowned dismissively. "Some of these people are quite influential and possess large megaphones that could result in negative publicity for the university."



I had a sense of where this was going and decided to cut to the chase. "What do you suggest, Sage?"

"Allow me to deal with these people proactively. There's no need for them to initiate protests or speak to the press, or heaven forbid, initiate lawsuits against the university. You know Dean Edwards is concerned about maintaining excellent public relations and protecting the reputation of the Medical School."

"How many people are we talking about?" I asked.

"There are three at the moment, but there may be dozens. It's better to act quickly and take care of things before they get out of hand."

"To be honest, I need some time to consider my options. Let me think about this and I'll get back to you."

She appeared genuinely concerned. "I understand, Eli, but time is of the essence. I'll try to contain them and massage their concerns but if more disgruntled subjects appear, I may have to take action."



It was the most uncomfortable dinner meeting I ever had the displeasure to attend. Of course, Sage turned on the charm―after she intimidated me, but usually, it's the carrot first, then the stick, not the other way around...

But then that's the act I've known for all these years. Sage sees pain as pleasure―she's one seriously bent lady and it gives her a sense of power to leave people twisting in the wind, dreading her next move.

When she drove me back to the office, she actually inclined her head to the side as if expecting me to kiss her. I think she has no idea how I really feel about her. The woman's dangerous and has to be handled with care as if she were an explosive.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal