Approaching Earthling Selection

in #writing2 years ago

earth-gf4c74af04_1280.png

A story about an Earthling in alien world. If you're just tuning in, consider starting with part 1

Part 34

Although Archie was naturally disinterested in politics and intrigue, he did occasionally have to show up for meetings. These meetings often took the form of sprawling conference calls, which Archie found confusing. On one of these calls, talking with Senior Politician Xalia and Senior Archivist Yurisa and twenty others he'd never met, Archie decided it was time to share a big idea he'd been thinking about. "What about an Earth immigration program, powered by the Brockton device?" he asked the group.

"Our planet really is much better than theirs," said someone Archie didn't know.

"Headed by the Faction?" asked Xalia.

"Yeah, or maybe we just take on a leadership role in a broader coalition of equals," said Archie.

"The archivists have safety concerns that can't be dismissed," said Yurisa.

"The archivists in the Midlands are prepared to approve if strict safety protocols are adopted," said someone else that Archie didn't know.

"And Mouse Island is undecided on the matter," said another voice on the line.

"So can we agree to form the Earth Immigration Coalition?" asked Archie. The question was out of turn and he knew it. But, being an Earthling, he could say pretty much anything at any time and everyone put up with it.

Two hours after the meeting, Archie was at the Moss Couches with Benko and Jili when all three of them got alerts from their handsets. Mayor Hank had died in a car crash that he caused. Warden Graffer was unharmed, but had been chasing the car on foot when it crashed. Archie felt a peculiar sadness upon hearing the news. It was like hearing that his favorite show had been canceled. Everyone had loved observing the antics of Mayor Hank. But no one was surprised by his accidental death.

While Archie was processing this, Nina Wells called. "I just observed your meeting today and I want to talk about your coalition," she said. "If we work together, that's all of the Earthlings on the same side."

"True enough," said Archie.

"The Mouse Island archives might be our biggest obstacle," said Nina.

"Okay," said Archie.

"But it was their guy that just died," said Nina. "That puts them in a weakened position. At least temporarily."

"I feel like maybe you want something specific from me," said Archie.

"I've been observing a girl and her mother," said Nina. "I want to bring them over. There are others. But those two first."

"Who are they to you?" asked Archie.

"Nobody, I just observe them," said Nina. "The husband owns a nail salon and forces the wife to work for her and her daughter's food. They're not poor. He does it to be cruel."

"That sucks," said Archie. "People can be terrible."

"Right, so imagine them coming here, to a paradise, where food is free and abundant," said Nina.

"And imagine all the homeless people coming here to find homes, all the refugees coming to find safety," said Archie.

"Just because we can't help everyone doesn't mean we shouldn't help anyone," said Nina. "How would you approach Earthling selection?"

"That depends on how many Earthlings we're talking about," said Archie. "Technically, from what I understand, it might be possible to bring hundreds of millions of over. Now, I don't favor intervention at this level, but I do think we can do better than a few dozen, or even hundreds."

"So thousands to millions, selected how and resettled where?" asked Nina.

"Every city on this planet will be happy to play host," said Archie. "And I have an idea for selection that no one seems to be taking seriously. What if we got people's permission before transporting them to an alien world? With the energy problem solved, there's no reason not to ask them."

"That makes sense," said Nina. "But however we do it, I want my people on the list."

"I'd like to see anyone able to submit candidates for consideration," said Archie. "Like, what if we made a netsite where anyone could submit candidates and also vote on which ones they want?"

"Not bad," said Nina. "By the way, while I have you on the line, I'm curious. Did you ever try to get a message to your friends and family after you got settled here?"

"I thought about it, but that takes a noticeable amount of energy, as I'm sure you're aware," said Archie. "So no messages, but sometimes I look in on them to see how they're doing. Why? Are you thinking about breaking the rules to send a message?"

"Now that the Brockton device is in play, maybe," said Nina. "But the truth is that I somewhat resent how quickly my loved ones moved on after my disappearance."

"Yeah," said Archie. "My family is still convinced that I'll turn up again somewhere."

"Maybe you will," said Nina. "With this new tech, it seems like it could be possible for people like us to travel back and forth. Maybe pop back to Earth for a visit at some point."

This is a thought that hadn't occurred to Archie. "No way," he said. "Why would I ever go back to that dystopia when I'm perfectly happy here?"

"I'd like to go back to tell off my old boss," said Nina. "Bloody bastard kept sabotaging me, diminishing my contributions at every turn. I'd like to go back and give him a piece of my mind and maybe hide a dead fish in his desk."

"That does sound fun," said Archie, chuckling. "But I'm pretty sure the archivists would have a problem with your plan."

"Right, but doesn't that get your mind working, about the real potential of the tech?" asked Nina.

"Maybe it does," said Archie. "But I'll be honest, that potential scares the hell out of me. I don't even know how to start thinking about its implications."

(Feature image from Pixabay)


Read my novels:

See my NFTs:

  • Small Gods of Time Travel is a 41 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt that goes with my book by the same name.
  • History and the Machine is a 20 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt based on my series of oil paintings of interesting people from history.
  • Artifacts of Mind Control is a 15 piece Tezos NFT collection on Objkt based on declassified CIA documents from the MKULTRA program.