Lightning Round Write-Up - VINACEOUS - a 99 word story

in #writing4 years ago

The Lightning Round Write-Up is a daily writing challenge that uses the Merriam-Webster word of the day. Here is my submission for the 15th of February, 2020 #ninetyninewords story.

Frustration!

I am so mad at myself for missing yesterday's word of the day challenge. I had every intention of submitting a little story and write something every day. In the time I've been on Steemit, I've never earned the Monthly Badge -- and I missed it again. UGH.

Unfortunately, I sat on the couch with my chromebook and immediately passed out. I very nearly did the same thing today but I am determined to stay consistent. Ah well! As the saying goes, time to get back on the horse.

Meredith Loughran blogs on Whaleshares and Steemit, Writing community, WOTD, flash fiction
image source

VINACEOUS

If there was ever such a thing as love at first sight, Ethan felt that he must have been struck by Cupid's arrow the moment he saw her.

She stood regally across the room, her posture straight, her dress elegant, and her vinaceous lips puckered in a little moue before breaking into a wide smile. It was ridiculous to feel a pang of jealousy because her smile was directed at anyone but him.

"Who is that lovely creature?" he murmured.

His friend glanced and guffawed, "Way out of your league, Eth."

"She's going to be the next Mrs. Barrington."

word count: 99


To participate in the daily challenge, visit this post for details on Feb 15 WOTD

divider - Join a community of content creators on Whaleshares

Meredith Loughran merej99 blogs on Whaleshares and Steemit
created by @kookyan

💥 Cast your witness votes!

You have 30 votes. Make them count.

💥 Follow me on Social Media

Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn | Facebook | YouTube | LBRY | SnapChat | Medium | Flipboard | Whaleshares | Steemit | Keybase | 📝Geek Insider | 📝Crypto, Trader, News.

Sort:  

Such an old school thing to say "She will be the next..." It works though and I know that sense of jealousy described. !tip 2

🎁 Hi @merej99! You have received 2.0 STEEM tip from @penderis!

Check out @penderis blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.