I Went Full Minds Pro

in #writing3 years ago

That alternative account that I was thinking of reviving on Minds last night is now a full Minds Pro account. I gave it some thought and decided that I would never really know if it could work unless I tried it. So, I paid for a full year of Minds Pro. I spent some time posting some items to flesh out the account. Unlike Hive, where posting frequently is frowned upon, Minds is relatively indifferent to somebody posting frequently, unless it gets to the point of abuse. So that you know what alter ego I am using, you can visit rgvmedia.minds.com.

I spent some time trying to figure out the ins and outs of the platform. I can't seem to make the domain forwarding work, especially with Brave browser. I am going to have to settle for a subdomain until their help desk fields my request for a domain. It works fine with Safari and Edge. There are some features that you can't make work with the Canary version, which is the beta version. It took me a while to figure that out.

This makes me think that I'll be glad when LeoFinance comes out with their ProjectBlank. It bothers me that Hive has a taboo against frequent posting. It's stupid. We have all these resource credits that we can never use because users get bent out of shape and start downvoting. ProjectBlank has supposedly figured out a workaround to the problem. I suspect that it will be one daily hidden post, making all user posts simply comments on that master daily post. Of course, this is a contortion to try to appease the Hive police, that bunch of Karens.

Returning to the subject, I have time somewhat on my side. I have to learn how to drive enough traffic to my Minds page to earn $1.37 daily in order to break even by next February. I can do this by traffic rewards or by memberships. I'm a bit iffy on the memberships. But, the traffic goal seems doable. Even if I fail to drive enough traffic to the account, I can always write off the difference between my profit and the Minds Pro subsription from my taxes. That reminds me, I need to start a journal of my business activities for RGV.Media. This way doing my taxes will be easier. I have ideas for driving traffic, which will have to wait until I have a baseline. No point paying for additional traffic without knowing if the cost is making much of a difference.

The major disadvantage of the RGV.media property on Minds is that there is no multi-author option. The only possibility is to "remind" posts done by others so that they appear on the page. That could work. I could pay contributors by CashApp or some other means. Or, if they are pushing a story, they could pay me to repost. I think this could work. I'll spend the weekend thinking through this.


Originally posted on Shaine Mata. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.