I just had the most epic battle in XCOM Long War of the Chosen and I feel like I need to share it

in #xcom4 years ago (edited)

Poster_239.png

I am doing pretty well in my current campaign, with 4 regions out of 16 liberated from the Alien Advent Administration. However this mission was the worst I've experienced so far in terms of casualties, with 2 soldiers, 5 resistance personnel and many civilians killed. Yet it was the most epic and fun battle at the same time.

20200831115039_1.jpg

The two soldiers below formed a suicide team of spotters, to enable my snipers to complete the objective in the first 3 turns, preventing the situation from being completely unstoppable. I knew going in that it was very unlikely they would survive. They were low rank, but they had excellent stats for their role.

Poster_240.png

Poster_241.png

In the latter half of the mission the battle was largely over, but it felt like Aliens (the movie). Chryssalids were everywhere, burrowed underground. A fire team of 5 remaining soldiers had to hunt them down carefully. Every time someone took a wound they had to be rushed to the evac because I had run out of medkits. In the end only 3 soldiers were together hunting down the last Chryssalids. If you don't know what Chryssalids are, they are like the bugs in Starship Troopers, but they quickly multiply by poisoning your soldiers and other civilians, until they die and form cocoons, from which up to three new Chryssalids are born.

Nightmare fuel.

This is why I love XCOM. Moments like having to get one of my snipers to pick up and quickly evacuate their comrade, both of whom have been with me through this campaign, for medical care off the battlefield or they will die, you just don't get moments like this in other games I feel.

Sort:  

I remember trying to play the first XCOM games as a kid and getting frustrated by the difficulty quite quickly. Then in the past decade or so, I found the newer versions and gave them a try. The experience is still difficult, but it's also unique and deeply engaging.

I miss playing computer games. During lockdown I fired up Halflife 2 and played with my son, I explained how good the sniper crossbow was so good for social distancing, he was excellent with headshots, until he started getting nightmares. I really think one day he could turn professional

Posted using Dapplr

You said the Chryssalids multiply by poisoning your soldier and civilian? Now does this mean that the Chryssalids arises from the dead bodies of the soldier? Totally becoming new Chryssalids again?

That's totally pulsating, Is there a way to increase from 5 team of soldiers to more?

In Long War you can have teams of up to 10. In fact there were 11 here, with an extra soldier who is assigned to protect this region.

Yes, if a Chyssalid kills one of your soldiers, you can expect to see 3 more of them. That's why they're so terrifying. Oh, also because they hide underground and pounce on you when you get close.

Oh Lord! Wow that's totally insane ahh, those Chryssalid can be totally devastating.

They look somewhat like the Starship Troopers Alien, seen that movie? I love pulsating adventure games like this but my BP is fragile right now, I'll love to give it a go when I'm much better and on a better large screen.

Yes, Ctrl+F my post, I mentioned Starship Troopers ;-)

It's so silly that I missed that, dang.

This is serious, is this ps 5, because the graphics are dem too tech, wow, it been a long time i see this, you must be a genius.
Nice one