When you say yes to something, it’s imperative that you understand what you’re saying no to. (Gary Keller)

in #yes2 years ago

I am the kind of person that does everything to make everyone happy. I always try to make people feel welcome and I try to not say things that will hurt people's feelings. This can be a positive thing, but it can also be negative because it makes it easy to speak about the wind and the weather, but harder to speak about important aspects of life (in which feelings are involved).

With my lifestyle, it is easy to say yes whenever people ask me, simply because it feels more convenient and it means that I do not hurt them. But, let me stop there at once. Why? Because saying yes to someone else, means that I am saying no to something as well. What do I mean?

yes.png

Can you help me clean the garage?

Let us imagine that someone asks me for help with cleaning their garage. I might say yes, simply because I want to help and give them a hand. That is nice, isn't it? But, in the moment I say yes to that task, I have also said no to several other tasks like watching out for the kids, shopping groceries at the store, going for a run, doing my work, and much more. What is the result?

I have to do my work later, maybe at a time when I should have helped out at home with the kids. My "kind" yes to someone else is starting to carry waves that suddenly impact many more people than just myself.

This is just a tiny example, but I feel like it is important for me (and maybe also for you) to think about this a little bit before you answer the requests coming at you. It might help you make wise decisions and it might be that you have to ask yourself several questions before you actually share your answer with the person asking.

This is also important in your job (as you speak to your boss or other employees) and when you speak with your spouse or with your kids. It is better to say no and do it, than to promise something and not do it!

Sort:  

The word 'yes' can actually go a long way or in other words can also be used to neglect somethings or questions sometimes. There are people who love asking questions a lot and in such case you may not be in the mood to answer but for you not to hurt such person's feeling, you just have to satisfy the person by saying yes that moment, by saying yes to avoid more questions regardless of what he or she may want at that moment.