Stop in the Now - Lotus for Yogis

in #yoga3 years ago
Authored by @karmadorje

LOTUS LOVE.png

Well, this week the edition of Lotus for Yogis was delayed a day, and it's been a busy week, but here we go!

It seems that with the arrival of the month, many activities came back to life, and with it, the dizzying vortex of life takes us through the middle and many times we do not know how to anchor ourselves to the present moment.

Let's use the practice of Yoga as an anchor, as an island, as a refuge.

Yogash citta vrtti nirodah - I.2s. YogaSutras of Patanjali

Yoga is the cessation of the disturbances of the mind.

In the YogaSutras, the author rarely refers to Yoga postures, making it clear that these are NOT the Yoga (but is a part of it), but he does speak of the state of mind of Yoga, which is that state of calmness, clarity of vision and presence.

Today, due to the excessive movement caused by the stimuli of life, it is necessary to find that safe island, that wonderful refuge from the storm, which is Yoga.

Due to the state of calm and clarity of vision it is possible to stop in the Now.

It is the attention that arises from the act of being in touch with our own body through the posture that gives us the precious opportunity to touch the present.

The postures allow us to be in contact with the body, which is where the root consciousness resides. Breathing is fundamental, because it is through the flow of air through our interior that draws a map of our internal reality. It is to look at ourselves from within, and in this way, we learn to adjust and regulate ourselves.

The practice of postures (although Patanjali speaks very little of them), done in a proper way, allows us to make contact with the calm, thus releasing the rigidities, opening emotionally and expanding our action of the spirit, which is nothing more than the breath.

eka pada.jpg
@karmadorje in Eka Pada Sirsasana



And so, in celebration of yogis on HIVE this week! This Yogi get a 5 percent beneficiary this week - @miriannalis. I found your post very interesting, because it reminds us of a very important aspect cultivated in the heart chakra. The aspect of compassion -Karuna-.
Thank you for sharing!

In this post, @miriannalis talks about what compassion is for her and how it is related to the heart chakra. Explaining that is because the heart chakra's main function is Love (Compassion is one of the aspects of universal love). She tells us:

Compassion is the capacity we have to be empathetic with the other, to abandon any judgment or "prejudice" we may harbor regarding others, and look at them as an "equal", placing yourself in their shoes, observing their needs, understanding their processes and beyond all, respecting them as the Being of light that they are, from their true essence or nature, regardless of their circumstances.

If you want to read her full post, here you have it.



Interesting in meeting more yogis on HIVE?

Every week we are getting to know more and more and we will be adding them to this list of Active Yogis in the #Hive and #Naturalmedicine community.

The community is getting stronger! Here's a few: @constgaladriel, @iliyan90, @lizbetcontreras, @riverflows, @yogajill, @moonyoga, @daltono, @yanirauseche, @flowerbaby, @vicnzia, @millycf1976, @karmadorje, @omarrojas, @yusmi, @joebrochin, @iliyan90, @alicewonderyoga, @howtobelight, @wolfofnostreet, @madefrance and @mar343
Are you a yogi? Drop us your favourite thing about the practice below for a chance to win a tip from Natural Medicine!

Natural Medicine is supportive of yoga posts on HIVE, so keep using the #yoga and #naturalmedicine tags and we will award excellent content where we can. We plan to publish at least once a fortnight and set beneficiaries for bloggers who post excellent #yoga content. Drop the link below to guarantee I'll see it!


My name is @karmadorje, I am a practitioner and teacher of Ashtanga Yoga and Meditation from Venezuela, I currently reside in the city of Buenos Aires Argentina, and if you want to know more about my classes you can write me here
See you next week!


BWdivider.png

Earn Instantly For Writing Natural Health Content

Earn LOTUS and HIVE rewards for sharing your natural health content on www.naturalmedicine.io. If you don't already have a HIVE account, you can sign up for FREE here. We support writers sharing about herbalism, TCM, yoga, meditation, vegan and other healthy diets, as well as earth centred practices such as foraging, permaculture and biodynamics - read more about us on our Welcome Page!

↘️ Don't Have a HIVE Account? Click Here To Start Earning LOTUS ↙️
12.png
Delegate II Community II Discord

image.pngimage.png

Sort:  

Breathing is fundamental, because it is through the flow of air through our interior that draws a map of our internal reality.

You write so beautifully and simply about yoga - I really love this idea of 'mapping'.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thank you so much! It makes me happy to know that you liked it and that this vision I have of the practice can be shared with everyone.

You write so beautifully and simply about yoga

I second this. Still have to find a way to make yoga work for me though :<)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

It's hard without instruction, especially if you are new. I think you'd love it if you had some good instruction.

I totally agree. Proper guidance is important, because when we do yoga we are not only working on the body, but also on the mind.

Doing yoga from video or photos just doesn't seem to work for me.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I'm agree with you. Try to know some teacher in your city.

Or some online class of yoga, for beginners

True that. I realized though that one of my twin sister's friends is a yoga teacher. Will check out if she's still teaching classes these days and hope to join in, one day soon.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

There is always a way. We can all do Yoga.

If you can breathe, you can do yoga.

I loved the post, it's super refreshing and a clear reminder of how important it is to stay connected to the present moment, for me doing mindfulness in the breath is an instant call to that present awareness, and being in the body.

I'm glad you liked my post on compassion. I am honored that you mentioned me in your post, and very grateful to be a beneficiary. Thank you for this gesture that I receive with gratitude and love.

A big hug,

Pd: what a level of flexibility you have : )

I am 68 years old, and I feel with a very satisfactory level of flexibility. Mefito and I develop yoga daily, thank God #fermionico advised me to do yoga. Being two years undergoing surgery for a tumor in the cerebellum with Gamma Rays, thanks to yoga I feel very good, this discipline has taught me to meditate and breathe essential processes in yoga, logically arriving with hands and legs well stretched, it was a great difficulty, now it is like drinking water. Something important, my family motivates me to do yoga, as they have seen in my physical and mental healing. I can't stop saying, working at hive has been one of the best moments that ever happened to me. My level of flexibility, I feel it in optimal condition. Thanks . Hugs. Successes

now it is like drinking water.

And it's so important to life, right?

!ENGAGE 25


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

That's right. It is so practical to do yoga. I recommend it. Successes for you in your publications and curations.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wonderful! I think it's great that you have that special connection with Yoga and that you also have the support of your family. Yoga is one way of many, to keep us centered, and to find balance in our lives, a hug 🤗

Thanks to you for such nice words, it is an important motivational detail for my work at hive. Hugs and I wish you every success. God bless you

Amen, amen, amen 🙏🏻 thank you so much for your blessings. A big hug 🤗

My pleasure! I hope to continue seeing posts like yours, with information to share and that everyone can put into practice in their lives.

As for flexibility, it is all merit of perseverance and patience.

A big hug to you!

Thank you very much!!! I will keep posting, I have a lot of ideas in mind, wish I had more time to execute them 😊.

To me it is really admirable that you can achieve that mastery of the body, perseverance and constancy in mastering the body, mind and heart reflects a hard work of integration to which we should all aspire.

A big hug 🤗

Thanks for having me ;)

Namaste 🙏

You're welcome! Namaste!

Thanks for the invitation ☺️

A la orden Made! Un abrazo! Espero pronto pueda ver algunas publicaciones tuya de yoga.

Y te deseo mucho exito en el camino que estás emprendiendo de aprendizaje y profundización de la práctica de Yoga.

I love this post, is a perfect present moment reminder. There is no other place to be but in the here and now


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Now we need a yoga studio somewhere in the world that will accept LOTUS as payment for classes. Up up up we go!!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io