Your Top 3 Monthly Contest October 2020 - Top 3 Favourite Halloween Movies

in #yourtop33 years ago

image.png

This months topic is Top 3 Favourite Halloween Movies

I am not a huge fan of Horror nor Halloween movies, to me they all just seem too similar. I still watch them, but for most of them it is always the same plot, some evil person/thing trying to kill someone else... I still have some favorites that come to mind and are somewhat unique in the horror/halloween genre :)

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number One

Scream (1996 film)

My Reasons for the Nomination

I like this movie because at the time it was released it was a first of its kind. It was a teen flick, slasher, thriller and mystery all combined into one movie. It had some comedic relief, lots of murder and suspense and directed by a master of horror Wes Craven :)

Nomination Number Two

Ghostbusters (1984 film)

My Reasons for the Nomination

This is more of a comedy than a horror/halloween movie, but it is about hunting ghosts. Probably one of my favorites when I was a kid and I am sure many other people are familiar with the Ghostbusters. It is just a fun movie that turned into a big franchise with games, cartoons and multiple movies :)

Nomination Number Three

Let Me In (2010 film)

My Reasons for the Nomination

I like this movie because it has a very unique plot I have never seen before in a vampire movie. It is about a little girl who is a vampire who never ages and she becomes friends with a bullied boy about the same age as her. I will not ruin the plot if you have not seen it, I highly recommend watching it.

Hope you like my selections! :)

I can create gif

youtube logoSpreadshirt logoShutterstock logoTeespring logoTwitter logoFB logo

holy bread banner

Sort:  

While it is true that mainstream horror is generally all the same- there is an incredible amount of diversity and unique-ness within the whole genre! You'd be surprised about some of the amazing movies that are made that never reach the spotlight. To be perfectly honest- in my opinion, it is one of the genres that inspires the most creativity!

Scream is one of my favorites of the more well known movies. It's a very unique type of "parody"- I guess is the word.

It's certainly not horror but it is very Halloween-focused; Donnie Darko! I watched that movie again for the first time in a few years recently and forgot how amazing it is.

Some great choices Babe! Love the Ghostbusters choice. At least all of these I have seen and could watch again, though Let Me In was a bit creepy when we first watched it.

Gosh! I confess that the closest I got to Ghostbusters was the theme song! Lol. Excellent left field choice

Was there not an earlier edition of Scream? If not, then, I have actually seen this movie. Wouldn't again, or any of the sequels 😱

Like you, I am not a fan of scary movies - of the horror genre. I do, however, like a good thriller.

Am sitting this one out - a bit much on my plate (ha!).

Good luck!

Ha, I ain't afraid of no ghosts! There was a parody advert in the UK a few years ago from a telephone directories company called 118-118. They had this theme tune playing and modified the words for the advert and as some goats exit the boot of a car, the lead singer (actual singer from the Ghostbusters song) sings "I ain't afraid of no goats":

The only horrible thing about that is the prices they charged for the service! Legend of UK Companies!

I haven't seen the other two movies you mentioned but horrors aren't my thing so that's not surprising! Enjoy the advert 😃

LOL I know Courtney Cox back in the day would sure have me screaming lol thank you, couldn't resist, but scream yeah its a classic and the good old ghostbusters, can hear the tune in my head already, pitty that they tried to shit all over it with those poor remakes

I haven't seen the last one will have to do some research and see if its bucket list worthy