LIL: Pictures From the Park and Town for the LMAC Image Library

in Let's Make a Collage2 years ago (edited)

Temperatures soared into the 40s on two different days in the past week, so my husband and I ventured out on picture-taking expeditions. One expedition was to a public park that offers a Memorial Plaza. I took pictures of the memorial structures but decided against using them. It seemed disrespectful. However there were some other nice opportunities, which I present in this blog.

Here is an icy patch we came across in the park. You can see my shadow, poised to take a picture, and my husband's long shadow in the distance.
ice2.png

On a second day we ventured into a small port town that has a long history. While I didn't capture any pictures with great historical merit, I did take some with a small-town flavor. The barrel and barbershop were among these.

If you are not familiar with LIL, LMAC's image library, then you might want to head on over there now and see the great variety of pictures available to Hive bloggers. Bloggers may borrow from and contribute to the library. Rules for participating are described here. Meanwhile, LMAC's (Let's Make a Collage) weekly collage contest is in progress. Join us. Rules and procedures are described here. I haven't started my collage yet. Although I don't compete in the contest, I created something for the contest every week. It is great fun.

As always, I thank @shaka for creating the LMAC community, and for infusing it with the positive, creative energy that has fostered amazing growth. And, of course, the whole community owes a debt of gratitude to @quantumg, whose hard work and coding genius have helped to make the LMAC image library a dynamic, growing resource.

I hope the pictures posted below will be of use to someone, sometime.

Soldier Drummer Drummer, Soldier
Memorial Tower Building, Tower
Stone Bench Bench, Carved Bench, Stone Bench
Firefighter Figure Firefighter, Human, Figure in Uniform
Artillery Artillery, Weapon, War, Relic, Gun
Torpedo Weapon, Torpedo, War
Bas-Relief Sculpture Decoration, Bas-Relief Sculpture
Barrel Barrel, Wooden Barrel
Wooden Bench Bench, Wooden Bench
Eagle Sculpture Eagle Sculpture, Eagle Side View, Animal, Bird
Eagle Sculpture Eagle Sculpture Front View, Animal, Bird
Barbershop Pole Barbershop Pole
Red Van, Front View Transportation, Emergency Vehicle Front View, Red Van Front View
Emergency Vehicle Red Van, Transportation, Emergency Vehicle, Truck
Red Garage Door Garage Door, Red Garage Door
Purple Van Transportation, Van, Purple Van, Vehicle
Fence White Fence
Firehouse Firehouse, Building
Railroad Tracks and Station Railroad Tracks, Railroad Station
Clock Tower Clock, Tower, Building
Stairway Stairs, Stairway, Staircase
Dog in the Snow Dog, Snow
Man in the Street Man, Street Scene
Shoe Repair Sign Sign, Shoe Repair Sign
Face Mask Sign Face Mask Sign
Hairdresser Sign Sign, Hairdresser Sign
Barbershop Sign Barbershop Sign
Woman's Shadow Woman's Shadow
Planter and Evergreen Planter, Evergreen, Plant, Tree
Stick Stick
Sort:  

I smiled at the face-mask sign... This one will be a very relevant one for at least the next few months or years (I would dare to say 2 years)...

(I just upvoted my own post instead of your comment !)
Hi @lemouth,
I hesitated to put that mask picture up. Masks are triggers for some people and Hive for me is a tension-free zone. I'm glad you found it funny. One day it will be an artifact, a symbol of our time. In the 50s we had the bomb. In the 60s we had the converted V van. Our time I think will be represented by the mask... unless something worse comes along :))

Thanks for visiting and for your observation.

This is a good way to phrase it: the mask will be one of the symbols depicting the end of the first 20 years of the 21st century. I will probably reuse this in the future!

Have a nice day!

Maybe something more dramatic will come along, like a breakthrough in the hunt for dark matter :))

Not to my knowledge... On the other hand, I am still quite undecided about the topic for Monday ... ;)

Great variety for the library, that branch in the shape of running legs is very funny. 😂

Thank you, @mballesteros. My husband didn't understand why I was taking a picture of a broken branch. You see it!

I appreciate your visit and your kind words.

Husband and wife are a lot of fun to take pictures together. Enjoy yours

Thank you, @momins. My husband and I have been married for a very long time. We enjoy doing simple things like this together. He also reads all my blogs before I publish them. Isn't he nice? :)

I appreciate that you visited my blog and that you left such a nice comment.

It's the most nice. This is when you have a good understanding with each other. Thank you and may your life be happy

Wow, you are definitely the greatest gap fixer for our project. I don't think anyone else has ever contributed so many unique, interesting, and also very rare images to the LIL, filling even wide gaps. A thousand thanks to you!
I mean, you once even brought the 3.5" floppy disk into the LIL. :-D

I only knew these (blue, red and white striped) barbershop signs from movies and always wondered if they were really still in use or just for the movies. Now I see, they are obviously still in use. xD
Is it a kind of nostalgia for Americans?

What a beautiful soldier drummer. I once owned a nut crusher in this style and today regret that I had lost it when I was young. Got it from my grandfather.
Is it actually a nut crusher?

Thank you @quantumg for that high praise. My husband helps me hunt out photos. He is quite the cheerleader.

The drummer was at the Memorial Plaza in the public park where many, many tributes to the fallen are located. This was near a war memorial. I think the drummer represents the drummers who accompanied infantry in days of old. Looks that way to me. As I said in the blog, the memorials themselves are sacrosanct, in my opinion. I have many great shots. One day perhaps for a blog, but not to be used in collages.

Some communities in my area date back to the 1600s (I know by Germany standards, that is not old😇). These communities cling to tradition and the old-fashioned barbershop fits their sense of self. Also, the shoe repair shop. You many not find these symbols in many places, but in this town, yes.

As for the floppy disk: I tend to hold onto stuff, so there are a few relics hanging around :)

I'm glad these will be useful. Sometimes I look for an image in LIL and realize it's not there. As you say, a 'gap' that needs to be filled.

Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. I am just beginning to brainstorm my collage. The most relaxing thing I do all day.

Regards,
AG

Excellent images for the gallery, I love the little soldier and the fireman. thanks for the contribution.

Thank you, @doriangel. It was fun collecting these images. I hope they are useful.

I appreciate your visit and your kind words.

Hello friend, how are you? It's great that we can go for a walk and you were able to take some pictures. Thank you for your contribution to the library of our lmac community.

Hello my friend, @cetb2008. I am well, thank you. I hope you and your family are in good health and enjoying the outdoors, as usual.

It was fun to take a walk and find these pictures. It's more fun because I have good company :)

I appreciate your visit and your positive feedback.

Congratulations @agmoore! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 11
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!