Working on a Reusable Intro Animation for My YT Channel and Learning How to Make An Animated Walk Cycle

in #animationlast year

So my Youtube Channel is about 3 weeks in with 8 videos (4 shorts) and 41 subscribers (who are of course, mostly family and friends).
I have realized that getting people to subscribe is really tough. You will really need to work hard to get some traction, especially that my channel does not offer anything substantial like how to get rich and tutorial stuff. I'm really no good at making those. All I have are simple funny stories which I am hoping can entertain you folks. Nevertheless, I'm in here for the long run. No surrender! As I'm hoping to make this a livelihood (guri, you fool!).

Anyway, I have been thinking of sprucing up the channel and one way I thought of is adding an intro animation to the videos. I'm still fairly new to animating so I took a jab at learning how to make a walk cycle in adobe animate which I want to be used for the intro.

If you are interested in animating and would like to learn how to setup a walk cycle, I suggest watching this tutorial by Alan Becker. It's the only video that I watched and it taught me a lot about the setup. He's got some really great animation tutorials so go ahead and watch his videos and give him a like and sub (he really deserves it!).

See below the line art I did in adobe Animate to setup the walk. There are about 8 key poses you need to do to make it look smooth.
adobe-animate-setup.png

Here's the line art walking animation
All 8 key poses being cycled to give the illusion of walking.
animated_line_art.gif

I thought of making a brickwall as a background and have it animate to make the character look like he's passing by, even though he's just walking in place initially.

guri_intro just passing.gif


A few more ideas in and the result is the video below:

So I guess we can also use this as a reminder to watch the road?
Ironically the music that I found in YT's free audio library is aptly titled "When You're Not Looking"

It took me almost a day to finish it. A day for around 7 seconds of animation. And I know it's still crappy! LOL! But It felt really good getting the walking cycle done. Well now I have a somewhat reusable intro for the next feature vid I'll be making.

Let me know what you think in the comments (here or in YT or both 😄)!

If you are interested in watching my videos, please come visit my YT channel

Thank you for checking out this post!

Sort:  

This is amazing! Glad that you are pursuing your creative passions even if it's really hard to grow an audience

You said it! We just gotta keep going.
Thank you!

That's nice keep the good work going

Thank you friend!

Are you a guy please

That's so exciting @guri-gure it's great to see that you're taking the initiative to improve your YouTube channel by creating a reusable intro animation. And learning how to make an animated walk cycle is definitely a valuable skill to have in your animation toolbox. Best of luck with your projects❤️

Thank you! Learning the walk cycle is definitely a must for animation. Best of luck to you as well friend! If you're interested, maybe you can try animating as well. With your level of skill in drawing I bet you'll be amazing at this. Thanks again!

Ang cute nung nadapa eh. Haha.

Sa simula talaga, it will take time bago ka maka-kuha ng subs sa yt. Just keep on posting, comment-comment ka rin, just like here sa hive. Hehe. Sa yt all you need is that one video na mapost mo na bigla na lang maraming views. You'll get there for sure, just keep on keeping on. :)

Nice to see you here again. I missed seeing art posts like this.

Yay! Maraming salamat po sa tip! Sana na nga makaswerte rin. Basta walang sukuan. Hahaha. Nice to see you again din po!

Thank you thank you and Godbless!

Wow 254 hearts! Thank you everyone! Really appreciate this! Happy Sunday! 😄

Congratulations @guri-gure! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you hivebuzz team!

Awesome work @guri-gure! You're well on your way to reaching your Hive goals. Keep buzzing!

BTW, our funding proposal needs your support to continue bringing fun and badges to the Hive blockchain. Every little bit helps, so please consider supporting us.
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Gotcha! You have my support hivebuzz team! Thanks again!

Thank you for your support @guri-gure, much appreciated! 🤗