Buy ! Buy !

in #artlast month
Happy Weekeeeeeeennnndddd !
I only worked half a day today. Like I told yesterday, I had to go for labs for a routine doctor's appointment next week. This morning while working I decided after that, I would go to a Hobby store that wasn't so far from where I had to go for the labs and then circle my way back through the Chik-Fil-A place for a good chicken sandwich with a giftcard I still had from Christmas and then through Starbucks with another giftcard left from Christmas. That thought made it sound like a very fun little trip out. I was excited.
What could go wrong with a plan like that ?!
I have to tell something on myself. It is definitely TMI, so if you skip over the rest of this paragraph, that's ok. In the labs that my doctor order, there was a test that needed to be done on.... pee.... instead of blood. So, like many times in my life, I went in their little bathroom with the lidded cup they provide. Being a woman, you can only imagine (but just for a second) how that all went and once the cup caught what it must, it slipped out of my fingers and into the turlet before I could pull it up ! I got up and turned around and there it was floating right side up... almost, in the turlet bowl. I was able to pull it up by the side of the rim that was not in the water. OH !! Nothing like that had ever happened before in all my years. I wasn't sure if turlet water had gotten in it or not, so I had to dump it out. NO telling what kind of disease it would have said I had if I had let it go to be tested. When I told the Tech I was not going to be able to provide a specimen for that, they refused to draw the blood without it saying it was against the rules to split the order. I wasn't happy, but it was totally my fault, although I couldn't believe they wouldn't do the bloodwork. I didn't mind explaining to my doctor why the other test wasn't done. Anyway, they called my doc's office to try to get a new order, minus that test, but his office never got back with them as far as I know.
So I left to go to the hobby store like I wanted too, stopped and got my chicky sandwich to take home, skipped Starbucks and went back a while later to do it again. It's funny now in a way, I've even giggled a time or two while typing this, but it wasn't then !

FUMBLE FINGERS !!!

Was that in terrible taste to tell here in mixed company? If so, it's ok to tell me and I'll try not to tell such things again. 😄
So on with the BUY post !
This new to me mixed media stuff I've been playing in has been so fun. A lot of folks that are into it talk about using stuff you already have and I have done that a lot, like the paints and some of the papers and my brushes and things I already had, but I have also bought BOOKOOS of fun things since I started. At first it was a simple packet of stencils mostly, then some inks and some pens and......lidded plastic containers to keep it all in.
I even did a post previously when I got some of those things a couple weeks ago.
Take this for example, what are these? Why, they are dot makers of course ! I didn't really know they made such things and I definitely didn't need them because you can make dots with ANYTHING ! I was mesmerized though when I saw the fun, colorful lucite cylinders and grabbed them on a whim. It's not that I won't use them, I will now that I have them, but for real, that's a little crazy, right?

20240405_173421_HDR.jpg

A friend and I were talking a week or so ago and I found myself saying I hadn't spent that much, just a few little pieces here and there. It is true that nothing was expensive really, but after our discussion it got me to thinking about what all I had bought and I thought, wait a minute, I HAVE bought right many things.
I ponder that a little bit.
Then I decided..... SO WHAT !?!?! SO I HAVE !!!
I confess.... I have and since then I have bought some more !
Now that is out in the open....
Today while right after I got off of work, but before I left on my afternoon adventure, my Amazon boy toy brought me more stuff ! Ok... he's not my boy toy, I mean, I didn't even see who left it, it could have been a woman, but I liked the way it sounded when I wrote it. 😂
More Stuff, mostly more stencils

1 maybe.jpg

....but also these neat daubers that you put in the end of your finger to finger paint or dab paint on stencils or anything you can think of. I saw a woman on a video using one. I had never seen them before. They look pretty neat and I will be testing them out. We'll see if they turn out to be all that and a bag of chips. 😉 or if they are useless. I'll let you know what happens.

2 maybe.jpg

..... and wouldn't you know, the daubers came with a bonus set of stencils, florals and leaves and a vegetable or two.

3.jpg

Also, yesterday when I had Walmart deliver some groceries to me at lunch time, I had ordered 2 sets of stencils they supposedly had in the store, but turns out the other one was sold out. The set I received had this mandala and some feathers and one had the alphabet on it.
I only got to spend the last 45 minutes of the evening last night playing at my art table, so since they were there, I made a couple of painty papers and tried them out. For each one I dabbed the design on the paper than then I cleaned my stencil off on the same paper, a ghost of sorts, lighter but still clear. I kind of liked the ghosts.

20240404_234403.jpg

So I tried the mandala again with purple instead of scarlet and a different feather and... ummm .....oh no... something is just a little wrong with this. I don't think I will need to point out to you what exactly that is.

20240404_235417.jpg

...but I"m thinking this feather stencil will not be usable going forward.. I made the ghost of the previous one on this page and finished it out with a stencil I already had, but had not used before.

20240405_000157.jpg

That was all I had time to do last night.

20240405_095928.jpg

Now, this afternoon when I went to the hobby store, I had no limit on what I could spend. LOL !!!! Unfortunately, I didn't find a while lot I wanted, but I did get a few things. They had a very nice selection of tissue papers, so I bought a few that had metalic dots on them and a few more that were florals.
I had previously wondered how tracing paper would work for collage papers. After watching many videos, I had only heard one woman mention it. I decided to get a pack and try it out.

20240405_171947_HDR.jpg

I was highly disappointed with their stencil collection. They are a giant hobby store and I actually thought they would have so many choices it would blow my mind, but they didn't. Unless they had some more somewhere else in the store, the section I found had a medium-small amount of choices and half of those were extremely flimsy and I thought they would not hold up. I only purchased the two below.

20240405_172110.jpg

A close up of one of the bottles. They are for fine writing with paint or maybe ink, I'm not sure, but I had seen them on the videos and decided to get some of those too.

20240405_172140_HDR.jpg

So, yes! I'm spending money left and right and I like it. It's my hobby and is has been so much fun to me and in the end, it really is worth it to me.
I'm sure this is not the end of it either.
I sound right full of myself, don't I ??? If in a couple of months I grow tired of it and quit, it WILL be a waste, but if I keep going, to me, it's not.
I was full of a yummy chicken sandwich when I got home, I ate it on the way in the car. After getting in and getting things settled, I was feeling like I needed a nap, so I came in here and made this post instead.
Now I don't feel so nappy and there is no reason not to go play with my new toys.
I hope you are having a good weekend.
Love you ! Mean it !
Jacey
Sort:  

I've never been to a Chik-Fil-A. I see them and their cow billboards, they're everywhere in the south like ear pieces in DC.

Yeah, they are all over. I know when someone says something is really good, you expect a lot and are sometimes disappoint, but to me, their original fried chicken sandwich it really good.

I think I have never been there when they weren't pretty busy.

Rare to drive past one that doesn't have a line of cars in the street.

Well except for Sunday's...

Yeah, if you want a decent chicken sandwich on Sundays, you have to go to Popeyes.

Ouch that's unfortunate with the cup!! It's a bit easier if you are a man but I still hate the peeing on demand bit!

....and reaching into a toilet where how many others had been in that day??? It's not quite a public toilet and looked very clean.... but still.... no telling.

When I came back, they gave me something called a "hat" that fit on the front part of the bowl, but under the seat lid (they put it on)....no holding a cup ! Next time, I'll ask for THAT ! I'm sure it is more expensive, but every woman should be offered that.

Haha, yeah. They should feel offer that by default! It would save the potential toilet fishing 🤣🤣

I think so too, but now that they have shown it as a possibility, I will ask for it every time.

Toilet fishing...ahahhahahaha.... hey, I don't even want to go finger fishing in my OWN toilet and I'm the only one that uses it, so I definitely DON'T want to do it anywhere else.

Yeah, I have never been a fan of getting anything from the toilet bowl. Once ages agoi dropped my mobile down the toilet when I was drunkenly peeing in it and had to fish it out. Yuk!!

Ewwww... and later, back up to your face it went ! LOL !!

Having children also makes it more likely things will need to be fished from the bowl, but maybe that's the Good Lady's job. ha ha

It would have to be her job because there's no way I'm fishing anything out for them!! 🤣🤣

Well you know the saying is: there are a million slips between the cup and the lips… or from the fingers to the lab tech! 🤣

Jeepers creepers ! At least I didn't spill it all over the floor after clearing the bowl and cause one of them to have to mop up ! 😂

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 500 posts.
Your next target is to reach 550 posts.
You made more than 10000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.
You got more than 9500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!