J2 - Second Page In My Art Practice Journal

in #art20 days ago (edited)
Hello again !
Yesterday it was time to do another page in my practice journal. I knew I was going to Moms around noon, but that still left me an hour or a little more once I had everything ready to go to get a page started. I had a piece of an idea of a flower. I had worked on a few more papers on my gelli press. Some were dark and on brown paper bag and I challenged myself to use some of them.

today too.jpg

I went through my other painted papers and tried to pull some things that might go with some dark papers I had made. I didn't mean to make them dark, that's just what happent. 😊

20240421_104057.jpg

I took a cardboard paper petal shape and drew them on the back of some of my older collage papers I had made and then cut them out.

20240421_105326_HDR.jpg

Then I tore pieces from some of the papers I wanted to use and laid them around the page, just for a general idea of how to start.

20240421_114042_HDR.jpg

...and before gluing those down, I laid around a few more torn book page pieces.

20240421_114455_HDR.jpg

I decided to glue the flower parts to the piece of brown paper lunch bag before gluing on to my project in case it didn't work like I pictured, I could have a do-over without making too big of a mess with my page.

20240421_201933.jpg

I thought it would be easy and it pretty much was, but you simply never know before you try it.

20240421_202619.jpg

Let the gluing began. Ugly... just like it's suppose to be at this point (so THEY say...😝 ).....

20240421_204112_HDR.jpg

On with the flower piece....

20240421_204524_HDR.jpg

...and the bits of book paper that I stenciled on in the last week or so. It totally has nothing to do with the piece or the meaning of it, but the page was about Johnny Applseed. I told myself I should save it for a piece with an apple on it, but I ignored what I told myself. 🤣

20240421_205305_HDR.jpg

Now it was time to try to refine, so I added a few smaller bits on the right top and bottom of the printed book page to help balance. I also "yellowed" the pieces with words. I almost made the sun too yellow, but that could be corrected.

20240421_210811_HDR.jpg

Then the blue circles? grapes? blueberries? climbed up the page! I wasn't expecting that, but there they went.

20240421_214536_HDR.jpg

A few more blue things mid page and bottom left and .. and then one jumped into the flower center. Yeah... yeah... I liked it.

20240421_221555_HDR.jpg

Then I went back with some diluted blue paint, the same color the blueberries were made of and "blued" the printed pieces to tone them back down a little and smidged a hint of it on the brown paper around the flower.... AND outlined that part in the same blue.
And Vwa-LA ! it was done ! This photo was last night with the lamp light. The first photo I put on this post was this afternoon in natural daylight.

20240421_222830_HDR.jpg

....and this is today also at a little distance so you can see the general, overall view.

today.jpg

Once again, it was fun ! I planned part and some other parts just showed up in the moment.
I'm happy to say I got through the work part of Monday unscathed. ha ha ....whew
Thank you for stopping by to see what kind of mess I made this time... LOL !
I hope your day has been good and that your hearts are happy.
Love you !
Jacey
Sort:  

image.png

Thanks again ! 💛

I love the colours

Thank you !

It was fun to make.

☺️☺️

This is beautiful, Jacey, and so much fun to see your creative process!

Thank you ! I have SO much to learn, but I sure am having fun.