Finally... A Small Practice Piece Completed

in #art • 3 months ago (edited)
It's Saturday again. Funny how it comes around at the same time every week. 😄
Today I am showing you what I consider my first finished practice piece of mixed media art. Some time back, after I showed you the 1st piece I started, but wasn't sure what direction I wanted to take it next (and it's still just like it was when I posted it), I decided to go backwards a little and use some small old paint practice pieces I had kept in a basket for... well... I'm not sure what for, but maybe it was this and I just didn't know it. Anyway, they all had some sort of paint on them already, but I covered that totally with papers and more paint.
After I covered up the paint on the practice pieces, they too sat to the side while I played in more papers, stenciling and the such. Earlier this week, I went back to one of them to continue. I added some bits here and there over a few days, letting glue dry in between.
Even though it has been my norm to paint boldly colored abstracts before when I was just using paint, that was not really my plan when I began to play with the papers. Ok, I admit, I didn't have a plan at all, I was just going to dive into the papers and stencils and punches and etc. and see what came out. I guess it may stand to reason that this first little practice came out bright and abstract, since that is obviously in me all the time and I'm ok with that for now. I used bits of multiple painty papers I made and have mostly shown the last few weeks, circles I punched, stenciling too. It's bright and cheerful and mostly balanced. I wasn't sure how I felt about it when I called it done, but as it has followed me around here the last couple of days, I have grown to really like it overall.
It still is not my intent to only do colorful abstracts at all. I want to try lots of styles as I go and one day if I play in it long enough, maybe I will find a kind that I love most or maybe I will always try to do a variety to keep it feeling fresh and interesting.
Time will tell.

20240322_124006.jpg

Now that I've jabbered a lot already, I will show a few turns this piece took before ending up like it is now. A lot of it I thought looked AWFUL ! ...but in the end, it turned out ok for me. Still, I just kept adding and changing and...
The orange and yellow in the background was part of the original paint. There had been a figure in the middle, but she is hidden by this time.

20240313_225624.jpg

Ummmm... no....

20240314_235242.jpg

Yuck ! 😂

20240314_235954.jpg

It was so awful, that I pulled out my favorite stencil and gave it a mask and a turning point.
I wonder if that was a crystal ball in the upper left corner. We'll never know for sure.

20240316_033755.jpg

Later, after the stencil part dried, I found I had this piece of tissue paper with gold circles on it that had been in some previous gift someone gave me. I had not played with it before, so I tore some bits off and glued them on. I kind of loved how the tissue part nearly disappeared once applied and only showed the shiny dots.

20240316_143350_HDR.jpg

Pretty neat. I know I will be using more later and this will cause me to check out tissue papers anywhere I go from now on, hoping to find some more neat ones to use later.

20240316_164700.jpg

Later while all that was drying I played with some new stencils on some tissue paper from another gift I had received. It was a creamy color instead of while, but what the heck?... I used it anyway not knowing how that would change when glued into a piece.

20240321_232347.jpg

After, I decided to tear some pieces of the reddish-pink design off and add it to my project. I really, REALLY liked what it did. Since I had some yellow paint already on the piece, the creamy background made it fit right in. I love that the tissue allows some of the design from what's behind it to still come through. I'm sure it would have shown more if the tissue had originally been white... .but....I thought it worked.

20240321_234541.jpg

Just a fun shot of the project near the end with some bits of painty papers.

20240322_000102_HDR.jpg

I added a few more punched out circles, scraps of blue paper and a dot of yellow dried paint I had peeled off the floor and finally called it DONE !
This is the orientation of the way I created the piece.

20240322_124103.jpg

Of course being abstract, It is anyone's choice about which orientation fits their eye the best.

20240322_124122.jpg

It is supposed to rain off and on here all day. BOO !....but like usual, there is no lack of things I "should" be doing inside. We'll see if any of it gets done all the same.
I hope you are all having a good weekend, however you are choosing to spend it.
Luv ya !
Jacey
Sort:  

image.png

Thank you !

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you SO much ! 💙

That certainly does look fun. Plus it sounds like you are going to have many more fun times playing with the mixed media concept.