Beer Saturday 248: Taste the Rainbow

in #beer2 years ago

So I grabbed a 4 pack of these at the Liquor store a couple weeks ago. They were on sale for 4.99 for 4. A decent price for a craft beer so I snagged a few four packs.

Rogue Brewing Company: Coast Haste - Imperial Hazy IPA

PXL_20220225_160823977.jpg
I love the pink can with the truck full of hops just rambling down the road. The cans definitely catch the eye.

As an IPA goes I would call it pretty mild. It is a very dry IPA and has a pretty interesting unexpected flavor. You'll never guess what flavor I attribute to this beer...

12-lb-Skittles_500x.jpg
Some of you can tell from the picture, If you can't that's actually a candy called

Skittles

and the Tagline for the candy is "Taste The Rainbow"; hence the title.

The fact that this beer tastes like candy is a little deceiving. The beer is thick and chewy. Each sip is a complex blend of sweet and sour citrus. It took me a couple of these to nail down what I felt this IPA tasted like. Then it hit me

It tastes like Skittles but without the sweetness

PXL_20220225_161118279.jpg

You can see how thick this beer is. The pour is very hazy so the term Hazy IPA is appropriate. A very thin head of foam on top and each sip is a flavorful and thick.

it's a real interesting and complex flavor profile. There is an initial sweetness, some definite citrus flavors, and a nice crisp dry finish. Unsweetened Skittles, that's another name I'd use for this beer.

No Bad, Just Interesting.

It is Dedicated to Harvest Time

PXL_20220225_160838988.jpg

So I added the squash in the background. I know, they meant "Hop" harvesting season, but aren't most harvests generally around the same time?

A good dry citrusy IPA.

Cheers and Please take part in one of the longest running contests on #Hive! Share your #beer posts every week and submit them to the #beersaturday contest hosted by @detlev

Sort:  

4 beers for 4.99 is a great deal, but I'm not sure I would want my beer to taste of skittles.... I like skittles and I like beer, but both together, hmmmm, not so sure, but I'd definitely try them and for 4.99 you can't go wrong.

I'm with you for sure. Well actually, I can take or leave skittles but I like !BEER

The cool part was that the flavor was there but it wasn't overpowering. It was actually a pretty tasty beer for the price. Thanks for the comment!


Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @johnspalding for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

!LOLZ

Did you hear about the actor who fell through the floorboards?
He was just going through a stage.

Credit: reddit
@johnspalding, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @lxsxl
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)