#BeerSaturday 344 - Winter Mix Pack

in #beersaturday4 months ago


zHops1.jpg

344 weeks celebrating that blessed beverage we know as #beer on the #blockchain makes me think we are contributing to it being the worlds most popular beverage!

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, part 2 of the Winter Mix Pack!

 "image.png"

Pint of the Week


IMG_0536.JPG

The pint of the week is usually one I have on the town or in a social situation for fun. This one was a lunch beer on Thursday at a pub I had not yet been to in a small town next to our small town. We actually went to the Broken Rail Brewery https://www.brokenrailbrewing.ca/ for a fresh pint but they don't open til 3:00 in the winter. Good thing the pub had some of the local stuff for us.

 "image.png"

Winter Mix Pack


IMG_0344.JPG

Last week, I tore into the Nickelbrook Brewing Co. Winter Mix Pack and enjoyed a Tropical IPA.

IMG_0466.JPG

Not only that, I found out that they swapped one of the pints in the 6-pack for a winter hat, Americans call a beanie and we Canadians call it a tuque. I did want a beer but it was nice to finally have a hat with the brand that has been one of my favourite breweries for many years. There were more beers in that pack though and here they are!

 "image.png"

Very Nice!


IMG_0473.JPG

I love Nickelbrook for their IPAs. When I saw a couple new ones in this pack, it didn't matter I was baited and switched for a hat! Very Nice IPA was the one that caught my eye after the tropical one because of the neat happy flower. It was enjoyed during a gaming session and looks like a beautiful warm sunset.

IMG_0474.JPG

I was looking at the flavour hints on the side of the can and enjoying the typical tropical and stonefruit and extra groove. Then I noticed the 4.2% only in the picture. I had no idea this was a lighter IPA! It did taste nice and easy but was flavourful enough I didn't even notice that it was only 4.2% ABV Damn fine for that low level and now have to go hunt this out individually on the shelf to sample again!

 "image.png"

Maple Porter


IMG_0475.JPG

While I love Nickelbrook for their IPAs, they are equally celebrated for their darker beers and special barrel aged beers. If the last one looked like a nice sunset, this one looks like night has settled in. Maple Porter stumped me at the cupboard because I didn't know which vessel to enjoy it in. I skipped the typical Guinness glass and went for the handled mug for some old school dark grog enjoyment.

IMG_0476.JPG

I don't usually associate porter with an ABV as high as 6% but know of these guys and their love for stronger malty beer. Kentucky Bastard is the one I have heard of before but that may actually be a barrel aged special. Still, 6% is a serious beer and I was into it. The malt was nice and strong but the sweetness of the maple syrup and the smoothness of the oats really tames it well. A healthy chug makes for an assault on the back of the mouth but I came to enjoy the small sips for all the flavour each would deliver.

beerologistapproved.png
Here is my patented seal of approval not only for one of my favourite breweries with a winter pack, but for a nice strong porter to warm me in the cold season.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!




424578538_731185802324253_6030169223001836890_n.jpg

It is some sort of sorcery the conversion rate of beer when recycled by me! Join me, @detlev , and the other beerologists and instantly become a beer blogger at Beer Saturday 343...
https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-344

This week for #BeerSaturday, I am would like to invite new friend @joalvarez who lives on the opposite side of the country from me where I know there are great mountain breweries. Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you Light IPA or Heavy Porter?

Sort:  

Oh, that Maple Porter definitely goes to my must-taste list :) We do brew honey beer every now and then, but that's quite a unique one to me :)

Oh yah a honey beer is wonderful and I remember enjoying mead many years ago. I don't purchase many darker beers but certainly enjoy them when they are packaged with the IPAs I buy.

Brings me back!

Mead's one of the most traditional alcoholic beverages around here. And we drink it hot in winter. I took a bottle along to Spain this Christmas and heated it up (you cannot boil it) for my girfriend's friends who drank it for the first time. They all loved it. Or at least were polite enough to pretend so :))

The hat is cool. Looks pretty decent. They are probably trying to get rid of their shop stock since the winter season is moving towards the tail end. At first I thought that you meant they were advertising 6 beers but then only gave 5 and a hat, but I see that the box says 5 so I think that that's fair. As long as you know what you're getting lol

Yah the hat surprise was just me not paying attention to the details and saying HELL YAH because there are 2 new IPAs in it. Pleasant surprise and I love that brewery so the hat is getting some use!

!PIMP !DHEDGE

Cheers! 🍻


You must be killin' it out here!
@geneeverett just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @zekepickleman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Nature isl looking so cool

The weekend is similarly meant to be enjoyed. All these drinks looks so tasty. Cheer's.

Time to enjoy some cool beers.
Weekend is a time to go out and catch some fun

Good looking bottles of varied labels, they should have different tastes as well.

I’ve only taken a topical juice but not a tropical beer
That particular one must taste very nice
Enjoy!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @geneeverett! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob

@geneeverett has 4 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.