Learning Blender - Mesh modeling exercises

in #blender9 months ago (edited)

learning-blender-thumbnail.jpg

Follow my progress as I'm learning Blender.

I spent quite a bit of time stumbling around in this amazing piece of (free!) software, to achieve the results I wanted as I was creating my first NFT project over the past seven months or so. I gained valuable experience with the software, but it was still very bits-and-pieces and I was missing a broader overview.

So about a week ago I bought a pretty comprehensive course that had good reviews, and have been working through it throughout the week. The course is structured in sequences of video lessons, quizzes and hand-ins, which are reviewed and graded by the tutors.

The very first lesson is an introduction to Mesh modeling. Now if you don't know what a 3d mesh is, it's basically the geometry that defines the surface area of a 3d object. Here's a random video I found that explains it pretty well.

Mesh modeling is (super simply put) when you start out with basic shapes and manipulate the vertices/edges/faces to create more complex ones. Mesh modeling is also a different method than 3d sculpting, which is more reminiscent of sculpting with clay - I haven't gotten to that course yet.

Mesh Modeling: Modeling a Low Poly Room

So anyways, after a weeks worth of lessons I was ready for my first hand-in. The assignment: Model a low poly room using basic shapes and the concepts covered in the Introduction to Mesh Modeling course.

I wanted to attempt to create a replica of my home office, and I'll admit I'm pretty damn satisfied with the results. Here's a render of the whole scene.

You'll probably notice I've put some basic materials on my objects as well. This was not really part of the assignment. But given my past 7 months of experience, I picked up a thing or two, making it pretty easy to apply some basic materials, which just makes it so much more satisfying to look at.

Here's a close-up of the desktop area. I'm particularly happy with how the various cables turned out.

meshmodel2.jpg

I had the idea to put up a couple of my favorite WAX NFTs as posters in the corner. And of course I had to put up a HIVE and WAX poster as well. Turned out pretty cool!

A closer look at the desktop lamp.
lamp.jpg

Aaand some cool, behind-the-scenes shots:

image.png

image.png

image.png


Next course up: Introduction to materials. Stay tuned for the next post. Thank you for reading/viewing/upvoting/commenting!


What is Hive?

To learn more about Hive, this article is a good place to start: What is Hive?. If you don't already own a Hive account, click here to get one.

Sort:  

You got the skills O.O. it looks so real and seems great if this software is free.

Thanks! I'm just getting started though, the materials I made here are super basic. I look forward to learn more about materials in the next lesson

o.o wow this is called basic lol. looks hard though from my view

I won't tell you it's easy xD. Just that it's pretty basic level stuff so far

o.o but u made it seem like its easy

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - August 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the September edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2023

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 150 LEO on Leo Power Up Day!
Thank you for participating in the Leo challenge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2023

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2023
HiveFest Meetings Contest