I'm starting a new life, so I'm starting a new blog

in #blog2 years ago

untitled.gif

This isn't the first time I've started fresh on Hive, or Steem before it. It's been 5 years now, and my life has changed a lot in that amount of time. I'm alone with my thoughts all the time, and I've decided it would be helpful to me to write them down. I'm going to post them, but here on a new blog, and I'll kind of decide when and if I want to share the address with anyone I know IRL or not. In many ways, it's just like shooting it out into space for no one to see or witness.

Here goes...

Familiar haunts

untitled.gif
It's strange to settle back into a house you previously lived in. Since my separation from my wife in October of 2021, I've done this twice. First when I moved into my childhood home and stayed with my dad. Then when I moved back into the duplex I bought with my brother in 2007 when we were both in our twenties.

Stranger still, my apartment has the feeling of a time capsule in some ways. In 2014, after I got married and moved into a single family home, I rented out my apartment. My curtains and other things were removed by the tenant, placed in a spacious armoire that we left behind, and stored there for eight years. I put them back up, and it's almost like traveling back in time. It's just like it was eight years ago when I moved out.

Only this time, I'm alone. When my brother and I bought the duplex nearly fifteen years ago, I was with my then-girlfriend who is now my ex-wife. The entire time that I lived in this house, my ex-wife also lived here.

Needless to say, I've lived through a lot of changes, but I've also returned to familiar places. On the one hand, it's easy to call it strange. On the other hand, I am grateful for and take comfort in the familiarity.

Given the current housing market, I'm also grateful to still have this apartment. Even though I regretted having to tell her she had to leave, she had been living here for eight years. Considering the housing market is so hot, that's longer than many renters in the region are getting. The trend of landlords selling their duplexes has been ongoing for quite some time.

As I discovered how much rent costs in the area now, I also felt guilty about having to evict my tenant. However, I was also feeling good because I was renting to her for probably $500 less than the average monthly rent for the area. If I were to have found a place to rent instead of moving back into my apartment in this duplex, I would've been paying those increased and ridiculous rental costs.

The house needs a lot of work, and that concerns me. I'm just taking things one step at a time, though. There's nothing that needs fixing immediately, just a lot of things on the to-do list.

Instead of focusing on what needs to be fixed, I'll be grateful I've got this house and focus on building my new life as a single shark.

Sort:  

Hello, @allthemsharks! This is @anggreklestari from the @OCD team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive Blockchain! Congratulations and welcome!

Well, you can explore the communities that are suitable for your content. You can read some of the communities in this post: [https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@ocd/ocd-communities-incubation-program-update-74]

For tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: newbie guide.

The important thing is Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog. You can't include content that you don't own without sources. For more information, check this post: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into OCD's Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Have a great day!

Welcome to your new blog and old home. If the place needs work anyhow, might I suggest you start scrapping? It is relaxing, makes you some money and best of all, you find cool stuff to use for fixing your place up.

Goodness. How are you feeling now?

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment !STOP below


Hey @enforcer48, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @allthemsharks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome allthemsharks! If you love travel check out @travelfeed / TravelFeed.io :)

Loading...