You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADVENTURES INTO INSTAGRAM PART 1

in #blogging9 months ago

Today I decided to give up on the idea of spreading my work on social media and go back to using it as a way to connect with friends who aren’t into blockchain or where that’s the easiest place to find them. So mostly messages. Deleted X from my phone cause it was all strangers and hive people.

My circle is already huge, I just wanted to gain a following so I could earn a supplementary income on content and work less but fuck it, I’m tired of that grind and it distracts me from genuine interactions. If I wanted to meet strangers online outside here I’d do it on discord

Sort:  

That sounds like a very good plan! It's safe to say my online circle is not huge - if I has 100 followers I'm confident I could freak half of them out and reduce it to 50 :)

Every once in a while I've had things fall into place online - Blogger around 2012, Steemit in 2016, Wordpress in 2018 (when I had 4 million hits in one year), and I keep hoping the next good one is lurking around the corner.

I've always hated Twitter but set up an account called X to suss it out in 2019 - that name and logo was a lucky guess...

https://twitter.com/X46003739

image.png

Well now we know where Musk got the logo 😆

I guess I’m lucky to have moved around during the most social time of my life so I have many contacts, but even now I think social media works best as a phone book to stay in touch with people I meet IRL. I guess hive, Wordpress and YouTube are a little different. But relying on algorithms always feel like a waste of time to me, even more after trying to work with them. It works if you have one single focus and understand the thought process of the most simple people (who the algorithms cater to) which i don’t.