Book 12 done! - Berserker

in #books7 months ago

Well, I've hit my 12 books in 2023 target. As I wrote last week, it hasn't quite been a book a month. In fact, that has been far from the case. I decided on Berserker last week with a view that it would take me a while to get through. However, I've had quite a lot of time on my hands this week due to coming down with Covid. Spending much of your time in bad has its benefits!

Berserker.png

As you can see Berserker is Adrian Edmondson's autobiography. Adrian has been a bit of a hero of mine growing up. I was a fan of The Young Ones and Bottom in the '80s and '90s (probably to the disappointment of my dad). One of my earliest musical memories is watching Cliff Richards and the Young Ones - Living Doll.

I'll not give anything away but the insight into Adrian's early years and the impact they had on him is eye opening. Also, I didn't know he was such an accomplished musician!

A proper mixture of laughs and tears in this one. Most definitely laughs though.

Sort:  

I grew up watching him too. I heard him on Desert Island Discs recently and he broke down a bit talking about Rik. I knew he had a band, but didn't realise he had performed with the Bonzo Dog Doodah Band. I know one of those old guys so had to ask him about Ade. I may check out the book some time.

!BEER

One of his projects is called The Bad Shepherds. I'm just listening to some their tracks now and am really surprised. Folky versions of some classics so far (London Calling, I fought the law, Teenage kicks etc). I thought it was likely to all be a bit gimmicky but it’s in fact marvellous stuff.

I may have heard them. I shall look them up.

!BEER

Idiot Bastard Band is another. Quite amusing (Adrian and Phil Jupitus). Just found them on YouTube.


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.