Reading goals - actual factual progress!

in #books7 months ago

I'm pretty crap at actually doing something when I set it as a goal. This has been the case for many years in both my professional and personal life for a good few years now. I seem to have lost the oomph of my 20s and 30s and it has been replaced by an amazing level of skill in procrastination. Unfortunately, that was not something on the goals list!

One thing I've wanted to do is make more time for reading. I used to read quite a lot of books in my late teens and into my 20s with magazines, blogs and websites of interest taking over in my 30s. Finally I ended up not really reading anything at all.

I generally don't do new years resolutions as, as I've become older the thought of setting goals once a year seems a bit odd. Things change after all. However, I did think about wanting to read a book a month in 2023 - as per usual, I started strong(ish) and things soon reverted back to 'normal'. Thankfully I've started to redeem myself in the latter half of the year so I thought I'd list some of the books I've managed to work my way through.

1. Ancestors: A Prehistory of Britain in Seven Burials by Professor Alice Roberts**

January 2023

I thought if I was going to start, I might as well start big! It took me quite a while to get through the book which I brought for Kindle on the 2nd January 2023. It was thoroughly enjoyable though and it was a fascinating insight into what has been learned from jolly old burials. I enjoy a little science and learning about how theories have changed over time as new evidence is literally unearthed.

2. Automate Your Busywork: Do Less, Achieve More, and Save Your Brain for the Big Stuff by Aytekin Tank**

May 2023

Didn't really enjoy this one that much. I thought I'd give it a go as I've been looking at the automation of processes at work using technologies available from Microsoft. It's good from a standpoint of lots of ideas and does cover lots of other tools. My challenge is I'm constrained as to the tools I can use. However, probably good for the self employed of those starting a small business. Something to keep in mind is this sort of approach in larger businesses and organisations is as much cultural as it is technological.

3. The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor**

July 2023

The first in a six part series following the lives of James Marwood and Cat Lovett. The story starts during the Great Fire of London in 1666. I good hooked on this series as you can tell by the following entries 😀.

4. The Fire Court by Andrew Taylor**

July 2023

The second of the series following James Marwood and Cat Lovett.

5. The King's Evil by Andrew Taylor**

August 2023

The third instalment following James Marwood and Cat Lovett.

6. The Last Protector by Andrew Taylor**

August 2023

You guessed it, the fourth book in the series following James Marwood and Cat Lovett.

7. The Royal Secret by Andrew Taylor**

September 2023

You've no doubt cottoned on to the theme here! More adventures with James Marwood and Cat Lovett.

8. The Shadows of London by Andrew Taylor**

October 2023

The latest and currently final instalment following James Marwood and Cat Lovett. Would be nice to see some more in the future!

This really is a great series especially if you have an interest in history. Although fiction, the books are very well researched and cover some accurate historical events, although they have have been tweaked a bit.

9. Happy-Go-Lucky by David Sedaris**

October 2023

I first heard of David Sedaris when he used to read extracts from his books on BBC Radio 4. I used to have a long evening commute and it used to make for very enjoyable listening. I've read a good number of David's books in the past and always find them enjoyable, they s are a combination of many short essays about his adventures through life with his partner Hugh.

This once was a bit darker as David writes about the experience of losing his father, but still very witty.

10. The Spitfire Kids: The generation who built, supported and flew Britains's most beloved fighter by Alasdair Cross**

November 2023

tempImageqbAmPi.gif

Other than Automate Your Busywork mentioned above, this is the only actual factual physical book I've read this year. Everything else has been on Kindle. I do like a physical book and this was a random purchase following a visit to The Works on Saturday 11th November. I started it Sunday morning and finished Monday evening.

As the title suggests the book covers the history of the Spitfire with chapters dedicated to its designers, those who supported building it and, those who flew it. I'm keen to dig out the podcast and give that a listen at some point in the future.

11. BOMB DOORS OPEN: From Was End boy to Lancaster Pilot with G17 'Dambuster' Squadron by Ken Trent et al

November 2023

Written by Fl/Lt Ken Trent DFC, this book covers his early life in London, through to being of age to sign up for the RAF. Ken documents his early training in the UK before being sent to Canada where he first takes his solo flight, before qualifying and heading back to the UK for action. The accounts of many missions over occupied Europe are quite often brief but detailed enough to give the reader just a hint of what life was like. One things for sure, these chaps put their lives on the line but also make the most of the time they were not in the air.

So, although my reading has mostly been compressed into the last few months it seems I might make my twelve books in 12 months ... just not in the one a month format.

I've not included lots of photos as I'm assuming most are covered by copyright.

Sort:  

That's a good variety of books. I mostly read physical books, but we get a few papers and magazines that I look through too and so each book takes a while. The last few have been science-related. I have a backlog to work through.

I think it's okay to have photos of book covers even if they are on the Kindle to illustrate your post.

I was using Goodreads to log my reading, but have switched to Bookwyrm via Rambling Reader as it's decentralised.

!BEER

I plan to make more use of the library as I do love a proper book.


Hey @stav, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.