Experimenting With Selling Recycled Inventory On The Steem Blockchain - A Grassroots Win-Win-Win At Hand With Your Help

in #business4 years ago (edited)

Mission:

The only way to find out if it's a good idea to try to sell things via Steem's blockchain, for Steem or other crypto, is to try...

As step one, this post is a small sample of just 4 fairly popular/practical items to test the waters. I have hundreds of listings elsewhere, but will cherry-pick simple items that are in demand and easy to ship.

As I pride myself in salvaging perfectly fine household items from my city's curb-recycling, I'm going to lead by example with items I've personally saved first. I also have plenty of items from thrift stores, but that'll be phase two.

If you don't know my story, this June will mark 5 years of being financially independent after quitting my corporate job to resell for a living and pursue new ventures.

Benefits:

  • Help me, help yourself, and help the environment. Win-win-win.

  • Less money flowing through financial institutions and more flowing on the blockchain. Trying to do my part here.

  • Free Steem transactions, what what???

  • I'll almost always ship with personally recycled packaging to further reduce my carbon footprint.

  • Reduce unnecessary waste and Increase small business transactions on Steem.

Reputation:

  • Hopefully you know my character by now, so please don't have any doubts that you won't get exactly what's pictured if you see something you like.

  • I'm a Top-Rated seller on eBay with over 4,000 sales there and 100% Positive Feedback. I have plenty of sales elsewhere, but you get the idea. You'll get the same service, or even better as a fellow Steemian.

  • I test and clean everything thoroughly, although most things look like they just came off the shelf when I save them.

General:

  • Since crypto values fluctuate, I'll put the USD price and we can convert at the time of sale. These may also be sold through other channels, so if there's something you like, lock it in with me and we can connect via Discord for token address and shipment info.

  • Prices are all-in to include shipping costs in the US. These prices will often be cheaper than I'm selling them elsewhere because of Steem's wonderful no-fee transactions, and to encourage liquidity.

  • Carrier tracking will be provided, and I'll see everything through to delivery. Privacy is huge for me, so I'll respect yours 200%.

  • International shipping is available, but will be extra. Since these items are light, the shipping won't be too bad at all if you'd really like them.


Star Wars Lego Mini-Figures From Set 6212: $20

Legos always win. I have about 75 minifigures with accessories waiting to be listed if you're interested. ALL recycled.


Apple Airport Express A1392 - Tested & Factory Reset w/ Genuine Apple Cord: $40

There are some light nicks along some edges, but nothing significant.


Apple TV 3rd Generation 8GB HD Media Streamer A1469 w/ Genuine Apple Cord - Factory Reset: $35

There are some decent scuffs on the back side, but they're cosmetic and won't be visible when in use.


Dooney & Bourke Dark Brown Small Crossbody Purse Bag: $30

Barely used. Immaculately clean. Only some very slight rub wear on the edge trim piping.


Please reply if you're interested and we can take it from there. The shipments above will be via USPS First Class Package if within the US. The process will be easy.

Be a leader and break the ice!! Hopefully more people can feel comfortable over time and we can start generating some grassroots business here.

Thanks,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

You can probably already guess what it is that I'm interested in - and even suspect may have been included with myself in mind.

If international shipping cost isn't prohibitive of course. What price for the minifigures to Australia?

Hah, it worked! Are you open to seeing a picture of more minifigs w/ accessories to maybe further justify an international shipment? I have quite a bit. If so, you can circle some you like.

I certainly wouldn't be opposed to seeing what else is in the mix. I would even consider a bulk deal for all the figures (unseen as a surprise) if the price was right

I just started sorting them and I'm at 8 ounces ($17.75 to ship under that level) before even getting halfway. The next leg up in shipping cost would be $27.75 to cover up to 2 pounds. Would you be open to that shipping cost, or would you prefer more of a cherry-picked 8 ounces? The mix currently is bodies, weapons and accessories. I can filter or include whatever. Your next reply can help me provide some pics, UNLESS you want to enjoy the element of surprise.

Hmmm. That's getting up there a bit without really knowing what's there. I do like the element of surprise, but if the surprise is a whole bunch basic city figures then it would kinda suck.

Sorry to be such a PITA, but what would be looking at as an all-up price including shipping for the lot and roughly how many figures are there? That I can work out a rough per unit price and see if it's worth my while (and maybe a photo - doesn't need to be too detailed - to give me an idea of the themes included)?

Here's a shot of everything without the 6 Star Wars pieces that would naturally be included. I prominently displayed a couple I accessorized and left the rest as random spread.

It's a little over 1.5 pounds of figures, partials, accessories and weapons. It's a decent variety. You know the value of these things far more than I do, so any attempts to try to highlight themes would be wasted time. This projects to be $27.75 to ship overseas. Let me know if you have a win-win-win offer in mind.

That doesn't look too bad at all. The hard part is figuring out a price point that I can work with, that isn't low-balling you too badly either. I'll have a closer look at the photo and see what I can come up with.

FYI - Under 8 ounces is $17.75 to ship to your location. That's the cheapest option. While that doesn't scale well with the one $20 batch pictured above, it could very well if you're open to more minifigs & accessories to make it more practical. I'm not looking to break the bank, just some nice transactions that are win-win to build upon.

Hope this goes well Matt.

I've popped it in today's Steem News just in case it can help.

@tipu curate

Thanks a lot!

Hey you're welcome, but I think you really need a Steem shop!

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 6000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!