Thailand Update - Covid is still a thing

in #covidlast year

Well, I haven´t postet much in the past weeks. The main reason was to get off the Laptop and off work in general to recharge and enjoy the amazing weather and warm ocean that we needed so much.

The second reason is that due to a autoimmun disease I got diagnosed with in 2021 I wasn´t feeling really well the past weeks, that lead to being pretty lazy so I did not get much around on the island.

Two days ago shit escalated very quickly. I was feeling dizzy with a very sore throat, like that sore that I could not swallow anything. Despite that fact the night past quite alright with a little high temperature in the morning. That changed quickly, in a matter of a few hours my fever went up to 39.4 and my alarm bell started ringing. I thought it might be a flare of my underlying disease and started taking cortison...wasn´t the best idea as I was vomiting shortly after.

After trying to get my fever down the whole morning without success we decided to go to a small clinic here on Koh Samui. First thing they did was a influenza and covid test. "What? Is that still a thing?" was my first reaction. I´m not vaccinated and haven´t catched covid before so I was even more shocked when the results came in. Negative to influenza but positive to covid. From then on the news got worse as the doctor told me that I could run into trouble due to my underlying disease. She also added that she never saw that case of covid before? Can she see that from a test?

Anyway they took blood test to check for bacteria that came out negativ with blood results overall fine. In the meantime I got several injections like 500ml saline, 40mg Dynastat and another 40mg Dexamethasone. After one hour my fever was still at 39.1 and I was starting to get a little worried. When I was finished with everything my fever finally got down to 38.3 and after spending around 3 hours there I could finally go home.

From then on I was feeling better and better every hour. The Only medication they gave for the next days is Molnupiravir that I have to take every 12 hours 4x200mg. The only reason I´m telling this is the fact that I´m feeling so much better today, something I could not think of yesterday. I don´t know if it is due to the meds they gave me yesterday or due to these tablets. However this info might help someone will catch the virus in the future.

I will take it very slow the next couple of days as we already flying to Bangkok on saturday and I don´t want to risk it. I will need to be fit for our next flight from Bangkok to Brisbane so there won´t be much content from Bangkok unfortunately.

After 3 years without getting infected I still can´t believe I got covid. It´s not that bad anymore now but I don´t wish to anyone to experience these few hours of pure pain and fever I had yesterday. Horrible.

As soon as I´m fully recovered you can expect more content, great stories and beautiful photos from Australia.

Sort:  

I hope you will get better to enjoy Thailand...
Rest well

Thank you 🙏

Sorry to hear that mate, sounds like a very uncomfortable experience. Fortunately for you, it didn´t last long. I went through something similar back in January earlier this year but with "just" 39.0 fevers that only lasted a few hours. But I was feeling very weird and still kind of sick for another week after that, which is something extremely unusual for me as my immune system is very strong and I hardly ever get really sick (knock knock). I didn´t take any test but I´m pretty sure it was covid.

Get well soon and safe travels ;)

@tipu curate

Thanks man. Unfortunately it came back yesterday in full force and my girlfriend has it as well now. Looks like we´re unable to fly and need to extend our visa. Feeling super weird and depressive

That sucks, sorry about that :( Get well soon guys, hopefully it won´t complicate your plans further than that...

Oh.
Da wünsche ich dir gute Besserung und eine schnelle Genesung.